About the Ministry

The Ministry of Energy works with many partners inside and outside of government to develop the electricity generation, transmission and other energy-related facilities that help power our economy—and to ensure that Ontario remains one of the best places in the world in which to live, work, invest and raise a family.

A top priority is ensuring that Ontario’s electricity needs are met in a sustainable manner. Developing renewable energy sources and fostering a conservation-oriented culture are cornerstones of Ontario’s balanced plan to provide clean, and reliable energy—while encouraging the development of a clean energy economy for our future.

Agencies and Corporations

The Ministry also has legislative responsibility for several agencies, including:

The Independent Electricity System Operator logo

The Independent Electricity System Operator (IESO) manages the reliability of Ontario’s power system and forecasts the demand and supply of electricity. The IESO also operates the wholesale electricity market, while ensuring fair competition through market surveillance.


Hydro One logo

Hydro One is a provincially-owned company that operates the majority of Ontario’s transmission lines. Hydro One also serves as an electricity local distribution company in some areas of the province.


Ontario Energy Board logo

The Ontario Energy Board (OEB) is an independent adjudicative tribunal responsible for regulating Ontario’s natural gas and electricity sectors. Part of the OEB’s mandate is to protect the interests of consumers with respect to prices and the reliability and quality of electricity service.


Ontario Power Generation logo

Ontario Power Generation (OPG) is a provincially-owned electricity generation company — its hydroelectric, nuclear and fossil fuel stations generate approximately 60% of Ontario’s electricity.

À propos du ministère

Le ministère de l’Énergie collabore avec de nombreux partenaires au sein du gouvernement et à l’extérieur de ce dernier au développement d’installations de génération et de transmission d’énergies et d’autres installations connexes pour stimuler notre économie et faire en sorte que l’Ontario demeure un lieu de premier choix pour vivre, travailler, investir et élever une famille.

L’une de ses principales priorités est de combler les besoins en électricité de la province par des moyens durables. Le développement de sources d’énergie renouvelable et la promotion d’une culture axée sur la conservation sont les pierres angulaires du plan équilibré de l’Ontario pour offrir des énergies propres et fiables tout en favorisant le développement d’une économie basée sur des énergies propres.

Agences et sociétés

Le ministère assume également la responsabilité législative de plusieurs organismes, dont les suivants :

Société indépendante d'exploitation du réseau d'électricité

La SIERE veille à la fiabilité du réseau électrique de l’Ontario et fait des prévisions quant à l’offre et à la demande en électricité. De plus, la SIERE gère le marché de gros de l’électricité et surveille le marché pour assurer une compétitivité équitable.


Hydro One

Hydro One (Disponible en anglais seulement) est une société appartenant à la province gère la plus grande partie des lignes de transmission de l’Ontario. Elle est aussi une société de distribution locale d’électricité dans certaines régions de la province.


Commission de l'énergie de l'Ontario

La CEO est un tribunal juridictionnel indépendant chargé de réglementer le secteur du gaz naturel et de l’électricité de l’Ontario. Son mandat consiste en partie à protéger les intérêts des consommateurs, notamment au niveau des prix et de la fiabilité et de la qualité des services de distribution d’électricité.


Ontario Power Generation

Ontario Power Generation (OPG) (Disponible en anglais seulement) est une société appartenant à la province produit de l’électricité. Ses centrales hydroélectriques, nucléaires et à combustible fossile génèrent environ 60 pour cent de l’électricité produite en Ontario.