Ministry of Energy and Infrastructure Accessibility Plan, 2008-2009

Introduction

Ontario is making progress toward building an accessible province by 2025. The Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act, 2005 (AODA) has laid the foundation to meet this goal. Under the act, Ontario is developing standards that will remove the barriers faced by people with disabilities.

On January 1, 2008, the first accessibility standard under the act came into force. Through the Accessibility Standards for Customer Service, people of all abilities will be able to get the service they need. Public sector organizations, including the Ontario government, will need to comply with this standard by 2010. Private sector and non-profit organizations will need to comply by 2012.

Next year, more standards will be released in other important areas, including:

  • Information and communications
  • Transportation
  • Employment
  • The built environment

The Ministry of Energy and Infrastructure’s inaugural accessibility plan highlights 2007-2008’s achievements to break down barriers for people with disabilities. It also outlines this ministry’s commitments in the coming year to make programs, policies and services more accessible for all Ontarians.

This accessibility plan is unique because it reflects our transition between the AODA and the Ontarians with Disabilities Act, 2001 (ODA). The ODA applies to the Ontario government and all broader public sector organizations. Under this act, the ministry develops annual accessibility plans to make its policies, programs, services and buildings more accessible to people with disabilities.

Through the ODA, accessibility planning has laid a strong foundation for the Ministry of Energy and Infrastructure to build on. This ministry will continue to help make Ontario more accessible for people with disabilities and a more inclusive society for all Ontarians.

An executive summary of all Government of Ontario Ministry Accessibility Plans is available at http://www.mcss.gov.on.ca/mcss/english/pillars/accessibilityOntario/planning/ministries_accplans09.htm

Report on Status of Customer Service Requirements

Focus Area: Customer Service

Commitment: New

Planned Action(s):
The Ministry of Energy and Infrastructure does not provide direct service to the public. Public access points i.e. entrances to offices are AODA compliant. The Ministry’s primary application of the AODA is focused on ensuring that employees have healthy, safe and accessible work places. This is achieved through working with professional partnerships to appropriately accommodate staff and train managers to understand their roles and responsibilities.

Ministry of Energy and Infrastructure customers/clients are internal. We accommodate clients by providing guidance and consultation services on aspects of work such as manager responsibilities to employees to ensure an accessible work environment. We will provide information on mandatory manager training sessions to all managers and roll out various forms of training to both managers and staff with the ministry.

We will provide information to managers on the accommodation fund to ensure that managers have knowledge of accessing the fund for various accessibility and accommodation issues affecting staff. In addition, we will provide links to relevant websites and training.

Corporate services will monitor, track and report on attendance at mandatory sessions that managers and staff will be enrolled in.

Implementation Timeframe: Sept 07 – Mar 10

Results Achieved:
Ongoing support and guidance to managers within the ministry was provided in 2007/08. This included advice on accessing the accommodation fund and providing the necessary supports to managers to accommodate staff within their divisions. Individual accommodations requests were met by divisions as required.


Focus Area: Customer Service

Commitment: New

Planned Action(s):
All managers are to complete online ODA training, and offer accommodation to staff.

The ministry will roll-out “the Ontarians with Disabilities Act: Maximizing the Contribution of Employees with Disabilities” course to all managers. We will also roll-out the “May I help you” course (part A) to managers in the fall/winter and to staff in the winter/spring. The ministry will consider the timing of rolling-out part B of the course when it becomes available. These training initiatives will be linked to personal staff learning plans by advising managers that the courses can be used as part of the learning plans.

Implementation Timeframe: Sept 07 –Mar 10

Results Achieved:
The ministry will roll out comprehensive training as outlined above.

The ministry held 2 sessions related to diversity training. Ministry managers attended a half day session on February 25, 2008 and April 23, 2008 related to diversity training. The course allowed for a dialogue among managers about their role in promoting diversity including access for individuals with diverse accommodation needs. Management in attendance was representative of all divisions in the Ministry.

Report on Other Accessibility Commitments

Focus Area: Other

Impact: Service

Commitment: Completed (Sept 07 – Nov 08)
Consider and address the needs of people with disabilities when reviewing, testing and updating the ministry’s Continuity of Operations Plan, including the emergency evacuation procedures, by incorporating recommendations and advice from the Emergency Preparedness Guide for People with Disabilities/Special Needs.

Implementation Timeframe: completed Sept 07 – Nov 08

Results Achieved:
Revised plan was submitted to Ministry of Government Services for evaluation on November 15, 2007 and accepted. No further expectations were recommended.


Focus Area: Other

Impact: Service

Commitment: Completed (Sept 07 – Nov 08)
Consider accessibility features as part of the replacement strategy for ministry photocopiers.

Planned Action(s):
Replace photocopiers in the ministry in the next year. Ease of use consideration will be addressed.

Implementation Timeframe: Completed Sept 07 –Mar 10

Results Achieved:
The new photocopiers in the ministry were replaced in February 2008 and ease of use was considered as a primary factor in determining products for procurement. Machines have controls at a level that are easily reachable for a wheelchair height. They are easy to use for someone with limited dexterity and are easily readable for those with a visual disability.


Focus Area: Information & Communication

Impact: Service

Commitment: Sept 07 – Nov 08
Reinforce awareness of and compliance with accessibility requirements through roll-out of procurement framework to ministry staff, and promotion of Accessible Procurement E-Module Training Tool and Checklist.

Implementation Timeframe: Completed Sept 07 – Nov 08

Results Achieved:
Procurement framework roll-out and promotion of e-module training was completed in October 2007. 40% of administrative staff and EA’s from the Ministry (former Energy) attended this training module. Accessibility considerations were included. The procurement of more accessible new photocopier equipment demonstrated the Ministry’s commitment to tangibly improving the accessibility of the workplace.


Focus Area: Information & Communication

Impact: Service

Commitment: Ongoing
Promote staff awareness of the ODA and accessibility issues, and encourage participation in special events such as the Accessibility Expo by posting the 2007-08 Accessibility Plan and updated ODA-related information and links on the ministry’s intranet site, as part of the revamped Corporate Services Division’s sub-site.

Planned Action(s):
The ministry will undertake an awareness campaign surrounding accessibility issues such as Braille, accessible formats and allowing guide dogs. This will also include the promotion of the Employment Accommodation and Return to Work operating policy to managers and staff and promote awareness of the need for making meetings and events accessible through the provision of training and information.

Implementation Timeframe: Sept 07 –Mar 10

Results Achieved:
The 2007-08 accessibility plans were posted on the intranet sites of the former Ministry of Energy and Ministry of Public Infrastructure Renewal. The accessibility page of the Corporate Services Division sub-site contains several links to pages containing information related to accessibility.


Focus Area: Information & Communication

Impact: Service

Commitment: Ongoing
Ensure that all new material posted to the ministry’s intranet websites continue to comply with standards for usability by people with disabilities, reflecting the broad definition of ‘disability’ under the ODA.

Planned Action(s):
Will be addressed on as needed basis

Implementation Timeframe: Sept 07 –Mar 10

Results Achieved:
The new version of the Corporate Services Division intranet sub-site was launched in the fall of 2007 (September 2007). The newly launched Intranet sites continue to be accessible and adhere with accessibility and access standards for users with disabilities. The construction of a new website combining the best elements of previous websites is underway ensuring that accessibility is a consideration. Central Agencies Cluster (CAC) will be consulted along with their partners in testing to ensure adoption of accessibility technologies that can be utilized (i.e. voice activated compatibility for access).


Focus Area: Information & Communication

Impact: Service

Commitment: Ongoing
Work with Publications Ontario to ensure that materials are produced and provided in accessible formats to the public and members of staff, upon request.

Planned Action(s):
The ministry will continue to provide publications in accessible formats upon request.

Implementation Timeframe: Sept 07 –Mar 10

Results Achieved:
The 2007/08 ODA plan met the required accessible format.


Focus Area: Employment

Impact: Service

Commitment: Ongoing
Review job descriptions and job advertisements to ensure that the content and language are consistent with the requirements of the ODA and respect to people with disabilities, and that barrier-free interview facilities are made available. Provide job descriptions and job ads in an accessible format, upon request.

Planned Action(s):
Work with Human Resources as necessary to ensure all new job descriptions and job advertisements are consistent with the requirements of the ODA. Barrier-free interview facilities will be made available and documents in accessible format will be provided, as requested.

Implementation Timeframe: Sept 07 –Mar 10

Results Achieved:
In 2007/08, 62 job competitions were held in the ministry. The job competition process in all cases was conducted in accordance with the requirements of the ODA and considered the needs of people with disabilities.


Focus Area: Built Environment

Impact: Service

Commitment: Ongoing
All new service level agreements that are negotiated with service providers will consider and address accessibility requirements.

Planned Action(s):
The ministry is negotiating a new service level agreement with facility services and is expected to complete the negotiation by the fall of 2008. The new agreement will address accessibility requirements.

Implementation Timeframe: Sept 07 –Mar 10

Results Achieved:
No new service level agreements were negotiated in 07-08. As such, agreements from previous years that addressed accessibility requirements were in place.


Focus Area: Built Environment

Impact: Service

Commitment: Ongoing
Work with building management and accommodation service providers to ensure that barrier-free standards are applied to all building projects and ongoing maintenance, common areas are kept free of obstacles, ergonomic furniture is procured, and special tools/equipment are obtained to meet the needs of people with disabilities.

Planned Action(s):
These matters will be addressed as requests for this activity are made. For example, provisions were made for the arrival of a new employee who uses a wheelchair in September 2008.

We plan to work with building management to ensure entranceway and emergency phones are accessible to people with disabilities. For example, installing amplifying equipment on phones, if possible, so that people with hearing difficulties can use the phones.

Implementation Timeframe: Sept 07 –Mar 10

Results Achieved:
Three employees needed assistance last year. An ergonomic assessment was undertaken to assist one of these employees who then received a new work chair to address a recent injury and the other two received specialized equipment to meet their specific needs around their workstations.

All new construction (through Infrastructure Ontario) is being planned to include accessibility requirements.

Implementation Timeframe: Sept 07 –Mar 10


Focus Area: Other

Impact: Service

Commitment: Ongoing
Perform checks of offices and common areas, as part of Occupational Health and Safety Act requirements, to identify and address any impediments to the health and safety of employees, with consideration to the needs of people with disabilities.

Planned Action(s):
Set up a joint health and safety committee in the coming year to perform these checks.

Implementation Timeframe: Sept 07 –Mar 10

Results Achieved:
Ongoing work with collective bargaining agents to assess volunteer interest in forming the committee.


Focus Area: Other

Impact: Act Regulation

Commitment: Ongoing
Review new and existing acts and regulations to ensure the appropriate use of language and to identify any programs established in law that may have an impact on people with disabilities.

Planned Action(s):
Review new acts and regulations as they arise.

Implementation Timeframe: Completed Sept 07 – Nov

Results Achieved:
Legal counsel completed a review of the numerous regulations and one legislative amendment (addition of S. 3 provisions to the Electricity Act, 1998 dealing with reliability standards) promulgated in 2008. Legal counsel determined that none of these regulations or amendments contained barriers nor did counsel characterize wording as inappropriate (such as pejorative) language.


Focus Area: Built Environment

Impact: Regulation

Commitment: New

Planned Action (s):
In relation to Capital Improvements, MEI’s new accessibility design standard for government space is currently under development though the ministry’s work with the ORC. These standards will revise the existing barrier free design standards currently used by the ORC and ministries in the design of new space. In 2008/09 the ORC plans to complete accessibility requirements at Osgoode Hall, as well as accessible washrooms and elevators to be installed in the Macdonald Block complex. Ongoing work is being planned for 2009/10 including completing building audits to identify accessibility needs.

All new construction (through Infrastructure Ontario) is being planned to include accessibility requirements.

Implementation Timeframe: Sept 07 –Mar 10

Results Achieved:
MEI continues to consult with ORC on accessibility design standards for government owned buildings.


For More Information

Questions or comments about the ministry’s accessibility plan are always welcome.

Please phone: Suzana Ristich
General inquiry number: (416) 325-8942
E-mail: Suzana.ristich@ontario.ca

Visit the Ministry of Community and Social Services Accessibility Ontario web portal. The site promotes accessibility and provides information and resources on how to make Ontario a barrier-free province.

Alternate formats of this document are available free upon request from:

ServiceOntario Publications
777 Bay Street, Suite M212, Market Level
Toronto ON M5G 2C8
Tel: (416) 326-5300 or toll-free: 1-800-668-9938
TTY Service: 1-800-268-7095
Website: http://www.serviceontario.ca/publications

Queen’s Printer for Ontario

ISSN 1918-2287

Ce document est disponible en français.

Ministère de l’Énergie et de l’Infrastructure Plan d’accessibilité 2008-2009

Introduction

L’Ontario fait des progrès à l’égard de son objectif de rendre la province accessible d’ici 2025. La Loi de 2005 sur l’accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées de l’Ontario (LAPHO) a jeté les fondations nécessaires pour atteindre cet objectif. En vertu de la Loi, l’Ontario élabore des normes qui permettent d’abolir les obstacles auxquels les personnes handicapées font face.

Le 1er janvier 2008, la première norme d’accessibilité élaborée en vertu de la Loi est entrée en vigueur. Ainsi, grâce aux normes d’accessibilité pour les services à la clientèle, toutes les personnes sont en mesure d’obtenir les services dont elles ont besoin, peu importe leurs capacités. Les organismes du secteur public, notamment le gouvernement de l’Ontario, devront se conformer à cette norme d’ici 2010. Les organisations du secteur privé et les organismes sans but lucratif, quant à eux, auront jusqu’à 2012 pour ce faire.

L’année prochaine, des normes seront élaborées pour d’autres domaines importants, dont les suivants :

  • Information et communications
  • Transports
  • Emploi
  • Milieu bâti

Le tout premier plan d’accessibilité du ministère de l’Énergie et de l’Infrastructure fait ressortir les réalisations de 2007-2008 en vue d’éliminer les obstacles avec lesquels les personnes handicapées sont aux prises. Il porte aussi sur les engagements pris par le ministère pour l’année qui vient dans le but de rendre les programmes, les politiques et les services plus accessibles pour toute la population de l’Ontario.

Ce plan d’accessibilité est unique, car il découle de la transition entre la LAPHO et la Loi de 2001 sur les personnes handicapées de l’Ontario (LPHO). Celle-ci s’applique au gouvernement de l’Ontario et aux organismes du secteur public en général. En vertu de cette loi, le ministère élabore des plans d’accessibilité annuels qui visent à ce que ses politiques, programmes, services et édifices soient plus accessibles aux personnes handicapées.

Les activités de planification de l’accessibilité qui ont découlé de la LPHO ont permis de jeter des assises solides pour le ministère de l’Énergie et de l’Infrastructure. Le ministère se fondera sur ses assises pour contribuer à faire de l’Ontario une province plus accessible pour les personnes handicapées et une société englobant tous les Ontariens et toutes les Ontariennes.

On peut obtenir un résumé de tous les plans d’accessibilité des ministères de l’Ontario en se rendant à : Plans d’accessibilité 2008-2009 des ministères de l’Ontario (link here:http://www.mcss.gov.on.ca/mcss/french/pillars/accessibilityOntario/planning/ministries_accplans09.htm)

Exigences

Mise à jour sur l’état d’avancement des exigences relatives aux services à la clientèle

Domaine d’intérêt : Les services à la clientèle
Engagement : Nouveau
Mesures(s) à prendre :
Le ministère de l’Énergie et de l’Infrastructure ne dessert pas directement le public. Les points d’accès au public, soit les entrées des bureaux, sont conformes à la LPHO. La principale application de la LPHO du ministère est de veiller à ce que les employés disposent de lieux de travail sains, sécuritaires et accessibles. Des partenariats avec des professionnels lui permettent de s’adapter adéquatement aux besoins du personnel et de former des cadres qui comprennent leur rôle et leurs responsabilités.

La clientèle du ministère de l’Énergie et de l’Infrastructure est interne. Nous aidons la clientèle en offrant des services de consultation et des conseils sur des aspects du milieu du travail comme la responsabilité du personnel cadre de fournir un lieu de travail accessible à leurs employés. Nous informerons tous les cadres des séances obligatoires de formation du personnel cadre et déploierons diverses formations destinées aux cadres et aux employés du ministère.

Nous renseignerons les cadres sur le fonds d’adaptation, afin de nous assurer que tous les cadres sauront comment y accéder en vue de régler divers problèmes d’accessibilité et d’adaptation du personnel. En outre, nous ferons connaître des liens à des sites Web et des ateliers de formation pertinents.

Les Services ministériels superviseront et suivront la participation aux séances obligatoires auxquelles se sont inscrits les cadres et les employés, et présenteront des rapports.

Calendrier : Du 7 septembre au 10 mars
Résultats atteints :
En 2007-2008, le ministère a offert du soutien et des conseils de façon suivie au personnel cadre : des conseils sur l’accès au fonds d’adaptation et l’aide nécessaires aux cadres qui doivent accommoder des employés au sein de leur division. Les divisions ont accédé aux demandes individuelles d’adaptation.

Domaine d’intérêt : Les services à la clientèle
Engagement : Nouveau
Mesures(s) à prendre :
Tous les cadres doivent suivre une formation en ligne sur la LPHO et adapter les lieux de travail aux besoins du personnel, le cas échéant.

Le ministère offrira le cours suivant à tout son personnel cadre : ODA: Maximizing the Contribution of Employees with Disabilities (LPHO : maximiser la contribution des employés handicapés). Nous offrirons également à tous les chefs de service le cours intitulé « Puis-je vous aider? Comment accueillir les clients handicapés » (partie A), à l’automne et à l’hiver, ainsi qu’au personnel, à l’hiver et au printemps. Le ministère décidera du meilleur moment d’offrir la partie B de ce cours, lorsque celle-ci sera prête. Nous relierons ces projets de formation aux plans d’apprentissage personnel des employés en informant les cadres que ces cours peuvent faire partie des plans d’apprentissage.

Calendrier : Du 7 septembre au 10 mars
Résultats atteints :
Le ministère offrira une formation complète telle que décrite ci-dessus.

Le ministère a tenu deux séances liées à la formation sur la diversité. Les cadres du ministère ont participé à des séances d’une demi-journée, le 25 février 2008 et le 23 avril 2008, en lien avec la formation sur la diversité. Le cours a donné lieu à un dialogue entre les cadres sur leur rôle dans la promotion de la diversité, y compris l’accès aux personnes ayant divers besoins de mesures d’adaptation. La participation des cadres était représentative de toutes les divisions du ministère.

Rapport sur les réalisations

Mise à jour sur les autres engagements relatifs à l’accessibilité

Domaine d’intérêt : Autre
Incidence : Service
Engagement : Réalisé (de septembre 2007 à novembre 2008)
Tenir compte des besoins des personnes handicapées, et y répondre, dans la révision, la mise à l’essai et la mise à jour du plan de continuité des opérations, y compris les procédures d’évacuation en cas d’urgence, en incorporant les recommandations et les avis du Guide de préparation aux situations d’urgence à l’intention des personnes ayant un handicap ou des besoins particuliers.
Calendrier : Réalisé (de septembre 2007 à novembre 2008)
Résultats atteints :
Le plan révisé a été présenté au ministère des Services gouvernementaux aux fins d’évaluation le 15 novembre 2007 et a été accepté. Aucune autre attente recommandée.

Domaine d’intérêt : Autre
Incidence : Service
Engagement : Réalisé (de septembre 2007 à novembre 2008)
Tenir compte de l’accessibilité dans la stratégie de remplacement des photocopieurs du ministère.
Mesure(s) à prendre :
Remplacer les photocopieurs du ministère au cours de l’année prochaine. Nous tiendrons compte de la simplicité d’utilisation.Calendrier : Réalisé du 7 septembre au 10 mars.
Résultats atteints :
Les photocopieurs du ministère ont été remplacés en février 2008 en tenant compte de la simplicité d’utilisation comme facteur principal dans le choix du produit. Les touches et boutons de commande sont à une hauteur qui les rend facilement accessibles en fauteuil roulant. Les photocopieurs sont faciles à utiliser malgré une dextérité manuelle limitée, et les commandes visuelles sont faciles à lire par une personne ayant une déficience visuelle.

Domaine d’intérêt : Information et communication
Incidence : Service
Engagement : De septembre 2007 à novembre 2008
Stimuler la sensibilisation et la conformité du personnel du ministère aux exigences en matière d’accessibilité, par le biais d’un cadre d’approvisionnement et de la promotion de l’Outil de formation en ligne et liste de contrôle pour l’approvisionnement en biens et services accessibles.
Calendrier : Réalisé (de septembre 2007 à novembre 2008)
Résultats atteints :
Le lancement et la promotion des modules de formation en ligne du cadre d’approvisionnement ont été réalisés en octobre 2007, et 40 % du personnel administratif et des adjoints de direction du ministère (auparavant ministère de l’Énergie) ont suivi ce module de formation. On a tenu compte de l’accessibilité. L’acquisition de photocopieurs plus accessibles illustre l’engagement du ministère à améliorer concrètement l’accessibilité du milieu de travail.

Domaine d’intérêt : Information et communication
Incidence : Service
Engagement : Permanent
Stimuler la sensibilisation du personnel à la LPHO et aux questions d’accessibilité et encourager la participation du personnel aux événements particuliers comme l’Expo sur l’accessibilité, en affichant sur le site intranet le Plan d’accessibilité 2007-2008 ainsi que des renseignements d’actualité liés à la LPHO et des liens connexes.
Mesures(s) à prendre :
Le ministère entreprendra une campagne de sensibilisation sur les problèmes d’accessibilité comme le braille, les formats accessibles, l’autorisation de faire entrer des chiens guides, y compris la promotion de la politique d’exploitation de retour au travail et d’adaptation des conditions de travail auprès des cadres et du personnel, et la sensibilisation au besoin de rendre les réunions et autres activités accessibles en offrant de la formation et de l’information.
Calendrier : Du 7 septembre au 10 mars
Résultats atteints :
Les plans d’accessibilité de 2007-2008 sont affichés sur les sites de l’intranet des anciens ministères de l’Énergie et du Renouvellement de l’infrastructure publique. La page sur l’accessibilité du sous-site de la Division des services ministériels contient plusieurs liens aux pages contenant des renseignements sur l’accessibilité.

Domaine d’intérêt : Information et communication
Incidence : Service
Engagement : Permanent
S’assurer que tout ce qui sera ajouté aux sites Web de l’intranet du ministère continuera d’être accessible aux personnes handicapées conformément aux normes à ce chapitre, de manière à refléter la définition générale de « personne handicapée » de la LPHO.
Mesures(s) à prendre :
Au besoin.
Calendrier : Du 7 septembre au 10 mars
Résultats atteints :
La nouvelle version du sous-site de l’intranet de la Division des services ministériels a été lancée à l’automne 2007 (septembre 2007). Les nouveaux sites de l’intranet sont également accessibles et respectent les normes d’accessibilité et d’accès pour les personnes handicapées. La création d’un nouveau site Web qui combinerait les meilleurs éléments des sites Web antérieurs est en cours et tiendra compte de l’accessibilité. On s’assurera d’adopter les technologies en matière d’accessibilité qu’il est possible d’utiliser (c.-à-d. accès par reconnaissance vocale) en consultant le Groupement (de l’information et de la technologie de l’information) pour les organismes centraux ainsi que ses partenaires pour les essais.

Domaine d’intérêt : Information et communication
Incidence : Service
Engagement : Permanent
Collaborer avec Publications Ontario, afin de veiller à ce que tous les documents soient produits et fournis dans un format accessible au public et aux membres du personnel sur demande.
Mesures(s) à prendre :
Le ministère continuera de fournir les publications en format accessible sur demande.
Calendrier : Du 7 septembre au 10 mars
Résultats atteints :
Le plan de 2007-2008 de la LPHO respecte les exigences en matière de format accessible.

Domaine d’intérêt : Emploi
Incidence : Service
Engagement : Permanent
Examiner toutes les descriptions de travail et annonces d’emploi pour s’assurer que le contenu et les termes utilisés sont conformes aux exigences de la LPHO et respectueux des personnes handicapées, et que des installations sans obstacle sont prévues pour les entrevues. Fournir, sur demande, les descriptions de travail et les annonces d’emploi sur support accessible.
Mesures(s) à prendre :
Collaborer avec les Ressources humaines au besoin, afin de veiller à ce que toute nouvelle description ou annonce d’emploi soit conforme aux exigences de la LPHO. Nous disposerons de lieux d’entrevues sans obstacle pour les personnes handicapées et nous fournirons des documents en format accessible sur demande.
Calendrier : Du 7 septembre au 10 mars
Résultats atteints :
En 2007-2008, le ministère a publié 62 offres d’emploi. Dans tous les cas, la procédure s’est déroulée conformément aux exigences de la LPHO et a tenu compte des besoins des personnes handicapées.

Domaine d’intérêt : Milieu bâti
Incidence : Service
Engagement : Permanent
Toutes les nouvelles ententes sur les niveaux de service négociées avec les fournisseurs de services tiendront compte des exigences en matière d’accessibilité et s’y conformeront.
Mesures(s) à prendre :
À l’heure actuelle, le ministère négocie une nouvelle entente sur les niveaux de services avec les établissements de services et devrait avoir mené ces négociations à terme d’ici l’automne 2008. La nouvelle entente traitera des exigences en matière d’accessibilité.
Calendrier : Du 7 septembre au 10 mars
Résultats atteints :
On n’a négocié aucune nouvelle entente sur les niveaux de services en 2007-2008. Par conséquent, des ententes des années précédentes qui traitaient des exigences en matière d’accessibilité sont demeurées en vigueur.

Domaine d’intérêt : Milieu bâti
Incidence : Service
Engagement : Permanent
Collaborer avec les services de gestion des bâtiments et les fournisseurs de services d’adaptation pour faire en sorte d’appliquer des normes d’aménagement sans obstacle dans tous les projets de construction et activités d’entretien régulières, de maintenir les aires communes sans obstacle, d’acheter du mobilier ergonomique et d’obtenir du matériel ou des outils spéciaux, afin de répondre aux besoins des personnes handicapées.
Mesures(s) à prendre :
Sur demande. Par exemple, on a réaménagé les lieux de travail pour un nouvel employé en fauteuil roulant en septembre 2008.
Nous planifions de collaborer avec les services de gestion des bâtiments pour que les téléphones de l’entrée et les téléphones d’urgence soient accessibles aux personnes handicapées. Par exemple, installer un dispositif d’amplification aux téléphones, si possible, afin que les personnes ayant une déficience auditive puissent les utiliser.
Calendrier : Du 7 septembre au 10 mars
Résultats atteints :
Trois employés ont eu besoin d’aide l’an dernier. Une évaluation ergonomique a permis de procurer un nouveau fauteuil à l’un de ces employés qui venait de subir un accident. Les deux autres ont reçu des appareils spécialisés visant à répondre à certains besoins à leur poste de travail.

La planification de toute nouvelle construction (d’Infrastructure Ontario) doit tenir compte des exigences en matière d’accessibilité.

Domaine d’intérêt : Autre
Incidence : Service
Engagement : Permanent
Inspecter les bureaux et les aires communes, dans le cadre des exigences de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, afin de repérer et de supprimer les dangers pour la santé et la sécurité des employés, tout en tenant compte des besoins des personnes handicapées.
Mesures(s) à prendre :
Mettre sur pied un comité mixte sur la santé et la sécurité au cours de l’année qui vient, lequel s’occupera de ces vérifications.
Calendrier : Du 7 septembre au 10 mars
Résultats atteints :
Travail en cours avec les agents de négociation, afin de déterminer s’il y aurait des bénévoles qui souhaiteraient former le comité.

Domaine d’intérêt : Autre
Incidence : Loi Règlement
Engagement : Permanent
Examiner les lois existantes et en cours d’élaboration pour s’assurer qu’on utilise des termes appropriés et pour repérer les programmes établis en vertu de ces lois susceptibles d’avoir une incidence sur les personnes handicapées.
Mesures(s) à prendre :
Examiner les lois en cours d’élaboration chaque fois que la situation se présente.
Calendrier : Réalisé (de septembre 2007 à novembre 2008)
Résultats atteints :
Un avocat-conseil a réalisé un examen des nombreux règlements et d’une modification législative (ajout des dispositions de l’art. 3 à la Loi de 1998 sur l’Électricité, au sujet des normes de fiabilité). L’avocat-conseil a déterminé qu’aucun de ces règlements ni cette modification ne contenaient d’obstacles. Il a également déterminé qu’aucune formulation n’était inappropriée (p. ex., péjorative).

Domaine d’intérêt : Milieu bâti
Incidence : Règlement
Engagement : Nouveau
Mesures(s) à prendre :
Concernant les améliorations aux immobilisations, la nouvelle norme de construction du MÉI relative à l’accessibilité, pour l’espace gouvernemental, est en cours d’élaboration dans le cadre des travaux du ministère avec la SIO. Ces normes modifieront les normes actuellement appliquées par la SIO et les ministères en matière d’élimination des obstacles lorsqu’ils aménagent de nouveaux espaces. En 2008-2009, la SIO planifie de terminer les travaux visant à respecter les exigences en matière d’accessibilité à Osgoode Hall, de même que l’installation de salles de bain et d’ascenseurs accessibles au complexe Macdonald Block. On planifie de poursuivre le travail en 2009-2010, y compris mener à bonne fin les vérifications de l’édifice en vue de déterminer les besoins en matière d’accessibilité.
La planification de toute nouvelle construction (d’Infrastructure Ontario) doit tenir compte des exigences en matière d’accessibilité.
Calendrier : Du 7 septembre au 10 mars
Résultats atteints :
Le MÉI continue de consulter la SIO sur les normes de construction en matière d’accessibilité pour les bâtiments et installations du gouvernement.

Renseignements

Nous sommes toujours heureux de recevoir les questions et les commentaires sur le plan d’accessibilité du ministère.

Veuillez téléphoner à :       Suzana Ristich

Renseignements généraux :     416 325-8942

Numéro ATS :      1 800 268-7095

Courriel :        suzana.ristich@ontario.ca

Rendez-vous sur le site d’Accessibilité Ontario, ministère des Services sociaux et communautaires, à l’adresse http://www.mcss.gov.on.ca/mcss/french/pillars/accessibilityOntario/index. Ce site sur l’accessibilité offre des ressources et des renseignements destinés à faire de l’Ontario une province accessible.

Pour commander gratuitement un exemplaire du plan d’accessibilité sur support de substitution, adressez-vous à :

ServiceOntario Publications
777, rue Bay, bureau M212, Niveau du marché
Toronto (Ontario) M5G 2C8
Tél. : 416 326-5300 ou sans frais : 1 800 668-9938
Service ATS : 1 800 268-7095

Site Web : http://www.serviceontario.ca/publications
Imprimeur de la Reine pour l’Ontario

ISSN 1918-2309