Learn: Your Bill. Your Grid.

The total amount on your energy bill comes from four costs: Electricity Use, Delivery, Regulatory, and Debt Retirement Charge. Click on each section to learn more.

Electricity Use


This charge covers the cost to produce the electricity you used during the billing period. Since the price of energy changes throughout the day, consumers with smart meters may be able to save by using electricity at off-peak times.

How Your Electricity Is Measured

Electricity is measured in units called kilowatt-hours, or kWh. The number of kWh you are charged for is determined by your personal usage as read by your electricity meter.

Most customers in Ontario get their power from their Local Distribution Company or LDC (e.g. Toronto Hydro, Hydro One, Algoma Power). The price of a kilowatt-hour is the same for residential and small business customers across Ontario. Prices are set twice a year, on May 1st and November 1st, by the Ontario Energy Board (OEB). Utilities do not make a profit on the sale of electricity to consumers.

Market Price vs. Contract Price

Your LDC buys your electricity from Ontario’s electricity generators through the Independent Electricity System Operator (IESO), which operates Ontario’s wholesale electricity market. To ensure we always have a steady and reliable supply, a number of electricity generators get contracts to supply power at a fixed price. However, because power is bought and sold on a market where price varies by the hour, sometimes the market price is lower than the contract price. A charge called the Global Adjustment makes up for that gap between prices and covers other related costs of purchasing power. Unless you have a retail contract, the Global Adjustment cost is already built into the price of a kilowatt-hour that you see on your bill.

Time-of-Use Pricing

You’ll notice on your bill that the price of electricity changes throughout the day. This is called time-of-use pricing. We pay more for power when demand is highest and supply is more limited. There are three billing periods:


On-peak is the full price time period when the demand is highest. In the summer, on-peak prices apply weekdays from 11 a.m. to 5 p.m., reflecting the increase in air conditioning use. In the winter, on-peak prices apply in the morning (7 to 11 a.m.) and the evening (5 to 7 p.m.), when demand ramps up as residential electricity use increases.


Mid-peak is when the demand and cost of electricity are moderate. Mid-peak hours change between summer and winter to reflect the changes in demand.


Off-peak is the least expensive time period because the demand is lowest. Off-peak hours are always weekdays 7 p.m. to 7 a.m. and all day on weekends and holidays.

Retail Contracts

A limited number of customers are not yet on time-of-use, and a different pricing model applies for these customers.

If you buy your electricity through a retail contract, the price you pay is set by your contract with the retailer. Contact your retailer for pricing information.

Additional Charges

The total amount of your bill includes the cost of purchasing the electricity you use, the cost of delivering it to you, and the cost of operating and sustaining Ontario’s electricity system.

Electricity is subject to the Harmonized Sales Tax (HST).

The Ontario Clean Energy Benefit

The five-year Ontario Clean Energy Benefit, which provided a 10 per cent rebate on electricity bills to eligible customers, ended on December 31, 2015 as planned.

Learn more about the price of electricity on the OEB website.



This charge covers the cost of delivering electricity from generating stations across the province to your home or business.

How Your Delivery Charge is Calculated

A portion of the Delivery Charge is calculated at a fixed amount. Another portion increases or decreases depending on the amount of electricity you use, giving you another measure of control over your electricity costs.

Also, when electricity travels along a power line, it is normal for a small amount of power to be lost along the way. Your utility multiplies your usage by an approved percentage, known as a loss factor, to account for these losses.

The Delivery Charge on your bill is made up of:

Transmission Charge

A variable cost that is linked to how much electricity you use, which pays for the operation and maintenance of the high-voltage transmission system that carries electricity from generating stations to your local distributor.

Distribution Charge

A variable cost that is linked to how much electricity you use, which covers the cost of building and maintaining the distribution lines, poles, and transformer stations in your local area that deliver electricity to your home or business.

Customer Service Charge

A fixed charge that pays for the costs associated with billing, customer service, account maintenance, and general distribution utility operations.

Learn more about delivery charges on the OEB web site.


This charge covers the cost of operating and sustaining the electricity system and providing certain government programs.

Ensuring Supply Meets Demand

Electricity comes from multiple sources and is sold to many different customers, including your Local Distribution Company or LDC. Electricity demand goes up and down over the course of a day and changes from season to season. Ontario has a system in place that manages the complex transactions between generators and purchasers of electricity to ensure we have enough supply available.

Two components add up to total the Regulatory Charge amount shown on your bill:

The Wholesale Market Service Charge

The cost to operate the wholesale electricity market and maintain the reliability of the power grid, including administration costs of the Independent Electricity System Operator (IESO).

Administration costs of the Ontario Power Authority and certain costs for utilities to connect renewable generation.

Rural and Remote Electricity Rate Protection offsets the higher cost of providing service to consumers in rural and remote areas of Ontario.

The Standard Supply Service Charge

Covers a portion of a utility’s administrative costs. This charge is the same for all utilities across the province.

Learn more about regulatory charges on the OEB website.

Debt Retirement Charge

The government removed the Debt Retirement Charge (DRC) from residential users’ electricity bills for electricity consumed as of January 1, 2016, saving a typical residential user about $70 per year. The DRC will remain on all other electricity users’ bills until the end of March 2018.

With the removal of the DRC, the average household will save approximately $70 per year.

The DRC line will still appear on residential bills but the amount shown will be $0 for most residential customers.

Multi-unit residential customers may qualify for the DRC exemption for up to 1,500 kWh per month. For more information on the DRC exemption, visit the www.ontario.ca/drc. To apply for the exemption contact your electricity distributor.

The Debt Retirement Charge will remain on commercial and industrial bills after January 1, 2016. The DRC will end on April 1, 2018.

Learn more about the Debt Retirement Charge on the Ontario Electricity Financial Corporation website.

Appendre: Votre Facture. Votre Réseau.

Le montant total de votre facture reflète quatre coûts : consommation d’électricité, livraison, frais réglementés et redevances de liquidation de la dette. Cliquez sur chacune des sections pour en savoir plus.

Consommation d’électricité

Ces frais reflètent ce qu’il en coûte pour produire l’électricité que vous avez utilisée pendant la période de facturation. Puisque le prix de l’énergie fluctue au cours d’une journée, les consommateurs dotés de compteurs intelligents peuvent économiser en privilégiant les périodes hors pointe.

Comment votre électricité est-elle mesurée

L’électricité est mesurée en unités appelées kilowattheures, ou kWh. Le nombre de kilowattheures qui vous est facturé dépend de votre consommation d’électricité, telle que relevée par votre compteur d’électricité.

La plupart des clients en Ontario se procurent leur électricité auprès de leur société de distribution locale (p. ex., Toronto Hydro, Hydro One, Algoma Power). Le prix du kilowattheure est le même pour les clients résidentiels et les petites entreprises en Ontario. Les prix sont fixés deux fois par année, le 1er mai et le 1er novembre, par la Commission de l’énergie de l’Ontario (CEO). Les services publics ne font pas de bénéfices sur la vente d’électricité aux consommateurs.

Prix du marché vs. prix de contrat

Votre société de distribution locale achète l’électricité auprès des producteurs d’électricité de l’Ontario, par le biais de la Société indépendante d’exploitation du réseau d’électricité (SIERE) qui gère le marché de gros de l’électricité dans la province. Dans le but de nous assurer un approvisionnement stable et fiable, un certain nombre de producteurs d’électricité obtiennent des contrats visant à fournir de l’électricité à un prix fixe. Toutefois, étant donné que l’électricité est achetée et vendue sur le marché à un prix qui varie d’heure en heure, il arrive parfois que le prix du marché soit inférieur au prix du contrat.
Une redevance appelée « ajustement global » compense l’écart entre les prix et couvre d’autres coûts liés au pouvoir d’achat. À moins que vous n’ayez un contrat avec un détaillant, l’ajustement global est déjà intégré au prix du kilowattheure que vous voyez sur votre facture.

Facturation selon l’heure de consommation

Vous remarquerez que le prix de l’électricité sur votre facture change au fil de la journée. Il s’agit de la facturation selon l’heure de consommation. Nous payons davantage pour l’électricité lorsque la demande est plus forte et que l’approvisionnement est plus limité. L’on compte trois périodes de facturation :

La période de pointe

La période de pointe est la période où le prix est le plus élevé et la demande la plus forte. Pendant l’été, les prix de la période de pointe s’appliquent pendant les jours de la semaine, de 11 h à 17 h, afin de refléter l’utilisation accrue de la climatisation. Pendant l’hiver, les prix de la période de pointe s’appliquent le matin (de 7 h à 11 h) et le soir (de 17 h à 19 h), alors que la demande résidentielle est plus élevée.

La période médiane

La période médiane affiche une demande et un coût de l’électricité modérés. Les heures de la période médiane ne sont pas les mêmes en hiver et en été, reflétant ainsi les changements survenant dans la demande.

La période creuse

La période creuse est la moins coûteuse, car la demande est à son plus bas. Les périodes creuses se situent toujours pendant la semaine, de 19 h à 7 h, ainsi que toute la journée pendant la fin de semaine et les jours fériés.

Contrats avec un détaillant

Un nombre limité de clients n’est pas encore facturé selon l’heure de consommation. Un autre modèle de tarification s’applique alors.

Si vous achetez votre électricité par le biais d’un contrat avec un détaillant, le prix que vous payez est fixé par le contrat avec le détaillant. Communiquez avec votre détaillant pour plus de renseignements sur les tarifs.

Frais supplémentaires

Le montant total de votre facture inclut le coût de l’achat de l’électricité que vous utilisez, le coût de son transport jusqu’à vous, ainsi que le coût du fonctionnement et du maintien du réseau d’électricité de l’Ontario.

La taxe de vente harmonisée (TVH) s’applique à l’électricité.

La Prestation ontarienne pour l’énergie propre

La Prestation ontarienne pour l’énergie propre, qui a permis d’offrir aux consommateurs admissibles un rabais de 10 % sur leur facture d’électricité, clos le 31 décembre 2015 comme prévu, après avoir été mis en œuvre durant 5 ans.

Pour en savoir plus long sur le prix de l’électricité, visitez le site Web de la CEO.

Livraison

Ces frais couvrent le coût de l’acheminement de l’électricité des centrales situées à différents endroits dans la province vers votre résidence ou entreprise.

Comment vos frais de livraison sont-ils calculés

Une partie des frais de livraison est calculée selon un montant fixe. Une autre portion de ces frais augmente ou diminue selon la quantité d’électricité consommée, ce qui vous donne une autre façon de contrôler vos dépenses en électricité.

Aussi, lorsque l’électricité voyage le long des lignes électriques, il s’en perd normalement un peu. Votre fournisseur multiplie votre consommation par un certain pourcentage autorisé, appelé coefficient de perte, afin de prendre en compte l’électricité perdue.

Les frais de livraison de votre facture comprennent notamment :

les frais de transport

Les frais de transport : ces frais variables sont liés à la quantité d’électricité utilisée et paient le coût du fonctionnement et de l’entretien du système de transport à haute tension qui transporte l’électricité des centrales jusqu’à votre distributeur local;

les frais de distribution

Les frais de distribution : frais variables liés à la quantité d’électricité consommée et permettant de recouvrer le coût lié à la construction et à l’entretien des lignes de distribution, des poteaux et des postes de transformation de votre région qui permettent à l’électricité de se rendre jusqu’à votre résidence ou entreprise;

les frais de service à la clientèle

Les frais de service à la clientèle : frais fixes mensuels permettant de recouvrer les coûts associés à la facturation, au service à la clientèle, à la tenue des comptes et aux activités générales du service public.


Pour en savoir plus long sur les frais de livraison, visitez le site Web de la CEO.

Frais réglementés

Ces frais couvrent le coût du fonctionnement et du maintien du réseau d’électricité, ainsi que certains programmes offerts par le gouvernement.

S’assurer que l’offre réponde à la demande

L’électricité provient d’une multitude de sources et est vendue à un grand nombre de clients différents, dont votre société de distribution locale. La demande d’électricité augmente ou diminue au fil des heures et varie d’une saison à l’autre. L’Ontario dispose d’un système permettant de gérer les transactions complexes entre producteurs et acheteurs d’électricité, afin de s’assurer que nous disposons d’un approvisionnement suffisant.

Les frais réglementés figurant sur votre facture se divisent ainsi :

Les frais de service du marché de gros couvrent une diversité de coûts

Les frais de service du marché de gros couvrent une diversité de coûts :

le coût de la gestion du marché de l’électricité de gros et du maintien de la fiabilité du réseau électrique, y compris les coûts d’administration de l’Office de l’électricité de l’Ontario (SIERE);

les frais administratifs de l’Office de l’électricité de l’Ontario et certains coûts engagés par les services publics pour brancher la production renouvelable;

la protection des tarifs d’électricité dans les régions rurales et éloignées de l’Ontario compense le coût plus élevé pour offrir le service aux consommateurs dans ces régions.

Les frais de service d’approvisionnement ordinaires

Les frais de service d’approvisionnement ordinaires couvrent une partie des coûts d’administration d’un service public. Ces frais sont les mêmes pour tous les services de la province.

Pour en savoir plus sur les frais réglementés, visitez le site Web de la CEO.

Redevance de liquidation de la dette

Le gouvernement est retiré la redevance de liquidation de la dette (RLD) de la facture d’électricité des consommateurs résidentiels pour l’électricité consommée le 1er janvier 2016, permettant ainsi à un consommateur résidentiel type d’économiser environ 70 $ par an. La RLD demeurera sur les factures de tous les autres consommateurs d’électricité jusqu’à la fin du mois de mars 2018.

Le retrait de la RLD permettra à un ménage moyen d’économiser près de 70 $ par an.

La ligne correspondant à la RLD apparaîtra toujours sur les factures résidentielles, mais le montant indiqué sera de 0 $ pour la plupart des clients résidentiels.

Les propriétaires d’immeubles à logements peuvent également être admissibles à l’exemption de la RLD pour un montant pouvant aller jusqu’à 1 500 kWh par mois. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements au sujet de l’exemption de la RLD, consultez le site www.ontario.ca/rld. Pour présenter une demande d’exemption, veuillez communiquer avec votre distributeur d’électricité.

La redevance de liquidation de la dette demeurera sur la facture des clients commerciaux et industriels après le 1er janvier 2016. La RLD prendra fin le 1er avril 2018.

Pour en savoir plus long sur la redevance de liquidation de la dette, visitez le site Web de la Société financière de l’industrie de l’électricité de l’Ontario.