FIT and microFIT Program

Ontario’s Feed-in Tariff (FIT) was launched in 2009 to encourage the development of renewable energy technology, attract investment and create new clean energy jobs in Ontario. The program is helping Ontario meet its goals for improving air quality and reducing its reliance on fossil fuels, including the phasing out of coal-fired generation in 2014.

In 2012, the government released the FIT Two-Year Review Report and announced a number of changes to the FIT program. The review allowed us to take stock and strengthen the program to ensure its continued success.

The Independent Electricity System Operator (IESO) has implemented these changes for both the FIT and microFIT programs. These changes will ensure the long-term sustainability of renewable energy while creating even more jobs, lowering prices and giving communities a greater say.

Ontario remains committed to building a clean, modern and reliable electricity system and continues to encourage innovative opportunities for efficient generation projects. The enhancements to the FIT program support the ongoing development of energy initiatives that will move the province toward a clean energy future.

For detailed information on Ontario’s FIT and microFIT programs, please visit the Independent Electricity System Operator’s FIT and microFIT websites or call 1-888-387-3403.

About the Ontario Feed-in Tariff (FIT) program

The Ontario Feed-in Tariff (FIT) program allows homeowners, communities, business owners and private developers to generate renewable energy and sell it to the province at a guaranteed price for a fixed contract term. You can apply to the FIT program if you use one or more forms of renewable energy, including wind, waterpower, biomass and biogas, solar photovoltaic (PV) power and landfill gas.

The FIT program, administered by the Independent Electricity System Operator, is the first comprehensive feed-in tariff program in North America. It is divided into two streams depending on the number of kilowatts of electricity that can be generated by a project.

FIT program

Photo of windmills, solar panels, hydroelectric dam and bioenergy facilities

The FIT program is available for renewable energy projects greater than 10 kilowatts and generally up to 500 kilowatts. It is open to all types of generators, including developers, co-operatives, municipalities and Aboriginal communities.

 

microFIT program

photo of home with solar panels on roof

The microFIT program is for renewable energy projects of 10 kilowatts or less. This program is of interest to homeowners and farmers as well as institutions, such as schools and places of worship.

FIT 2.0 Soil Study Protocol

Programmes de TRG et de TRG pour micro-projets de l’Ontario

Le Programme de tarifs de rachat garantis (TRG) a été lancé en 2009 afin d’encourager le développement de la technologie de l’énergie renouvelable, d’attirer des investissements et de créer des emplois dans l’énergie propre en Ontario. Ce programme aide l’Ontario à purifier l’air et à réduire l’utilisation de combustibles fossiles, y compris en éliminant graduellement les centrales à charbon en 2014.

Le gouvernement a publié en 2012 le rapport de l’examen biennal du programme de TRG et annoncé plusieurs changements. L’examen nous a permis de faire le point sur le programme et de le renforcer pour assurer son succès continu.

La Société indépendante d’exploitation du réseau d’électricité (SIERE) a effectué les changements dans les programmes de TRG et de TRG pour les micro-projets. Ces changements assureront la pérennité de l’énergie renouvelable tout en créant des emplois, en réduisant les prix et en permettant davantage aux communautés de s’exprimer.

L’Ontario demeure déterminé à construire un réseau d’électricité propre, moderne et fiable et continue d’encourager les possibilités novatrices de génération rentable d’électricité. Les améliorations du programme de TRG appuient la conception constante d’initiatives énergétiques qui feront avancer la province vers un avenir énergétique propre.

Pour obtenir des renseignements détaillés sur les programmes de TRG et de TRG pour les micro-projets, consultez les sites Web de la Société indépendante d’exploitation du réseau d’électricité sur les TRG et les TRG pour les micro-projets (en anglais seulement) ou appelez le 1 888 387-3403.

À propos du programme de tarifs de rachat garantis de l’Ontario (TRG)

Le programme de tarifs de rachat garantis de l’Ontario (TRG) permet aux propriétaires fonciers, aux communautés, aux propriétaires d’entreprise et aux promoteurs privés de produire de l’énergie renouvelable et de la vendre à la province à un prix garanti aux termes d’un contrat à durée prédéterminée. Vous pouvez présenter une demande dans le cadre du programme de TRG si vous utilisez une ou plusieurs formes d’énergie produite à partir de sources renouvelables, dont le vent, l’eau, la biomasse, le biogaz, le soleil et le gaz d’enfouissement.

Le programme de TRG, administré par la Société indépendante d’exploitation du réseau d’électricité, est le premier programme de tarifs de rachat garantis en Amérique du Nord. Il comprend deux volets dont la participation est déterminée par le nombre de kilowatts d’électricité qu’une installation peut produire.

Programme de TRG

Programme TRG

Le programme de TRG vise les projets d’énergie renouvelable dont la production est supérieure à 10 kilowatts et va généralement jusqu’à 500 kilowatts. Tous les types de producteurs y sont admissibles, y compris les promoteurs, les coopératives, les municipalités et les communautés autochtones.

 

Programme de TRG pour micro-projets

Programme TRG pour micro-projets

Le programme de TRG pour micro-projets vise les projets d’énergie renouvelable dont la production est de 10 kilowatts ou moins. Ce programme intéressera les propriétaires et les agriculteurs ainsi que certains établissements comme les écoles et les lieux du culte.


Protocole d’étude des sols du programme de TRG 2.0