Background

The Green Energy and Green Economy Act, 2009 (GEA) helped spark significant growth in the production of clean and renewable energy in Ontario. It has created more than 20,000 clean energy jobs to date and is on track to creating more than 50,000.

The GEA authorized the creation of Ontario’s ground-breaking Feed-in Tariff Program—the most comprehensive program of its kind in North America. The program encourages investment through price certainty for different types of renewable energy sources, regulatory consistency and standard rates of return. The renewable energy sources include: Biogas; Biomass; Landfill gas; Solar photovoltaic (PV); Waterpower; and Wind.

The FIT Program was designed to:

  • Create new clean energy industries and jobs;
  • Boost economic activity and the development of renewable energy technologies; and
  • Improve air quality by phasing out coal-fired electricity generation by 2014—the largest climate change initiative in North America.

Accomplishments

The FIT Program has:

  • Created thousands of direct and indirect clean energy jobs;
  • Contracted 4,600 megawatts (MW) in addition to 2,500 MW through the Green Energy Investment Agreement (GEIA)—expected to produce enough electricity each year to power 1.8 million homes;
  • Attracted over $20 billion, along with $7 billion from the GEIA, in private-sector investment to Ontario during challenging economic times;
  • Increased the amount of clean energy in Ontario’s supply mix; and
  • Supported Ontario’s plan to replace coal-fired generation, contributing to lower greenhouse gas emissions and better health for Ontarians.

Last year in Ontario, wind and solar alone produced more electricity than coal.

New Clean Energy: Powering daily life in Ontario

Ontarians have demonstrated their support for renewable energy through enthusiastic participation in the FIT and microFIT Programs. Today families, farmers, community groups, Aboriginal communities and small businesses are active contributors to Ontario’s supply mix—a role previously dominated by larger corporate players.

Ontario has come a long way in a short time. In 2003, the province had only 15 MW of wind power generated by 10 turbines. Through the FIT Program and its predecessors, Ontario now has more than 1,950 MW of wind power online, generated by more than 1,000 wind turbines, which are expected to produce enough electricity each year to power a city the size of London, Ontario.

Today , Ontario is home to the 10 largest solar farms in the country and is the leading solar energy producer in Canada.

Since the launch of the FIT Program, the Ontario Power Authority (OPA) has signed about 2,000 small and large FIT contracts with clean energy producers. These contracts total approximately 4,600 MW and are expected to produce enough electricity each year to power 1.2 million homes. In addition, almost12,000 families, farmers, community groups and small businesses are participating in the microFIT Program.

In less than a decade , Onta io has br oug ht more than 9,000 MW of new and refurbished clea n energy online which is expected to produce enough electricity each year to power both Ottawa and Toronto.

Job Creation: Encouraging new clean energy jobs

In 2010, the renewable energy industry employed 3.5 million people around the world. In Ontario, the FIT Program has spurred significant job creation in the renewable energy industry across a variety of sectors, including manufacturing, supply chain providers and construction.

Ontario’s clean energy policies have already created more than 20,000 jobs and are well on the way to creating 50,000 jobs through investments in renewable energy and conservation, as well as smart grid technology, transmission and distribution upgrades.

Direct and Indirect Jobs

The FIT Program has contributed to Ontario’s manufacturing base. Since 2009, it is estimated that the program has created almost 2,000 direct manufacturing jobs. The manufacturing process encourages the creation of jobs in sectors that supply materials, such as steel.

More than 30 companies are currently operating, or plan to build, solar and wind manufacturing facilities in Ontario. This has led to an increase in employment for supply chain providers with jobs in areas such as hardware and metal fabrication.

North Key Construction, based in Napanee,was the contractor of choice for the development of the “First Light 1″ project, one of North America’s largest solar photovoltaic energy parks. This 9 MW solar park, located in the Township of Stone Mills, Lennox and Addington County, will power more than 2,000 homes annually. Though a relatively small company, North Key has built upon its First Light success, developed extensive clean energy sector expertise and become a go-to contractor for numerous Ontario solar energy projects.

Other jobs related to the FIT Program are construction-based, providing an economic benefit for many Ontario communities. For every 10,000 construction jobs created by the clean energy sector, almost $500 million in economic activity flows back into Ontario communities.

Training and Education

In support of new job creation, Ontario’s public colleges and universities have introduced a number new programs related to the clean energy economy, including:

  • Wind turbine technician training
  • Green business management
  • Renewable energies technician training
  • Sustainable energy and building technology
  • Clean and renewable energy engineering technology

Sault College has established a program in renewable energy and green construction techniques. The program helps students develop knowledge and practical skills related to renewable energy sources such as wind, solar, geothermal and bio-energy, as well as energy conservation, green construction and renovation.

Ryerson University’s Centre for Urban Energy (CUE) is an academic-industry partnership that is exploring and developing solutions to urban energy issues, such as the advancement of clean energy technologies, energy conservation and demand management, energy storage, and smart infrastructure.

Economic Development: Launching a new industry

The renewable energy industry has significant economic, environmental and health benefits for many countries around the world. Installed renewable energy capacity worldwide is expected to double in the coming decades.

Global Clean-Energy Projected Growth – 2010-2030 ($CDN Billions)

Global Clean-Energy Projected Growth – 2010-2030 ($CDN Billions) - Renewable Energy Capacity

Source: Bloomberg New Energy Finance

Renewable Energy Capacity

  • 2010: $196
  • 2020: $395
  • 2030: $460

In 2010, Scarborough-based auto parts maker Samco Machinery Ltd. updated its machinery and invested in new equipment. Today, the company manufactures metal components and assemblies for a number of international racking players and is serving the demand for solar installations at the utility, commercial and residential levels.

Introduced during a period of global economic uncertainty, the Province’s FIT Program created jobs in the Ontario-based manufacturing and construction industries. It attracted significant foreign investment into the province at a time when international investors were scaling back their investments in almost every industry. Ontario’s FIT Program set the province apart from other jurisdictions by providing market certainty and a secure environment to make capital investments.

The FIT contracts, announced to date, and the GEIA, represent more than $27 billion in private sector investment in Ontario.

Emissions and Health: Phasing out coal for future generations

By the end of 2014, Ontario will be the first jurisdiction in North America to replace coal-fired generation with cleaner sources of power. This is the equivalent of taking seven million cars off the road, and is already having a significant impact on the quality of Ontario’s air.

Ontario has shut down 10 of 19 coal units and reduced the use of coal by nearly 90 per cent since 2003, with corresponding reductions in nitrogen oxides (NOx), sulphur oxides (SOx) and carbon dioxide (CO2). NOx and SOx are major contributors to poor air quality, and CO2 is a greenhouse gas that contributes to climate change.

In addition to cleaner air and fewer harmful emissions, the elimination of coal will also have significant health benefits for Ontarians. A 2005 independent study, “Cost Benefit Analysis: Replacing Ontario’s Coal-Fired Electricity Generation”, found that coal-fired generation costs $4.4 billion annually when health and environmental costs are taken into consideration.

Future

The Ontario government is committed to building a clean, modern and reliable electricity system. With investments in infrastructure renewal and clean energy generation, the government is helping transform the province today and laying the groundwork for the Ontario of tomorrow.

In 2007, the Canadian Council of Chief Executives acknowledged that Canada’s natural resources in renewable energy (our wind, tidal, biomass, geothermal and solar resources) help ensure that Ontario is well-positioned to be a clean energy leader.

In the last decade, Ontario has:

  • Facilitated the replacement of billions of dollars’ worth of outdated infrastructure;
  • Dramatically upgraded the grid with more advanced equipment and technology; and
  • Invested in cleaner sources of energy.

Ontario’s energy infrastructure upgrades have made the electricity system more efficient and reliable. Investments in smart meters and distributed generation, through programs like FIT, have positioned Ontario at the forefront of an emerging clean energy economy focused on:

  • Smart grid technology (grid automation, data management, smart meters);
  • Energy storage;
  • Electric vehicles; and
  • Other emerging technologies, such as concentrated solar photovoltaic (CPV).

A modern electricity system should be able to accommodate new energy supply from a variety of sources and deliver it reliably to consumers. It must take advantage of smart grid technologies to enable the efficient and cost-effective delivery of electricity, integrate more renewable technology and help customers better manage their electricity use.

ONTARIO’S SMART GRID OPPORTUNITY

A smart grid is a modern electricity system. It uses sensors, monitoring, communications, automation and computers to improve the flexibility, security, reliability, efficiency and safety of the electricity system. It increases consumer choice by allowing consumers to better control their electricity use in response to prices or other parameters. A smart grid includes diverse and distributed energy resources and accommodates electric vehicle charging. In short, it brings all elements of the electricity system—production, delivery and consumption—closer together to improve overall system operation for the benefit of consumers and the environment.

Ontario has seized the opportunity in smart grid as part of its efforts to become a clean energy leader. A smart grid will help Ontario achieve its clean energy goals, including the integration of renewable generation on the distribution grid and ambitious conservation targets.

Other jurisdictions, including the United States, China and Japan, are moving toward a smarter grid, but Ontario is leading the way in a number of areas. Ontario’s implementation of smart meters represents an essential first step in realizing the benefits of a smarter distribution system for consumers. Ontario’s efforts to integrate renewable energy and maximize conservation opportunities have created an ideal situation in which companies and utilities can test, develop and market smart grid technologies that have applications in global markets.

Powerstream, a local distribution utility operating north of Toronto, is developing smart grid utility capabilities, including digital fault detection, isolation and restoration, as well as an outage management system to improve service for its customers and avoid blackouts

The annual global market potential for smart grid equipment manufacturers and solution providers is expected to range from $15 billion to $31 billion annually by 2014, according to a 2010 report by McKinsey & Company. This is the ideal time to capitalize on Ontario’s leadership in smart grid technology by continuing to press for its development to benefit consumers, and expanding efforts to take Ontario technologies abroad, creating jobs and investment opportunities in the province.

Last year, GE Canada, in partnership with the Ontario government, chose to establish the GE Grid IQ Innovation Centre in Markham, with a commitment to creating 146 jobs in the area. This new global centre of excellence develops and manufactures smart grid products and services for Ontario and the world. Over the next four years, GE expects to spend $18.5 million to develop and manufacture grid modernization technologies. The centre will include a global testing and simulation laboratory.

There is also considerable promise in the development of electricity storage. Energy storage systems, including batteries, can provide short- or long-term storage. Short-term storage could improve grid reliability. Longer-term storage means that homes and businesses could store power for later use. Once the technology to store electricity is cost-competitive and market-tested, Ontario’s electricity system will benefit, as the province will be able to leverage its unique supply mix.

Ontario continues to encourage innovative opportunities and models for small- and micro-sized generation, especially those that can increase both economic and technical efficiency. One potential avenue for investigation is the self-consumption model in which power is generated where it can be used. This model can improve the flow of power on the grid and reduce or eliminate many of the losses associated with the delivery of power.

Historique

La Loi de 2009 sur l’énergie verte et visant à développer une économie verte (LEVDEV) a fortement stimulé la croissance dans le secteur de la production d’énergie renouvelable propre en Ontario. En outre, elle a permis de créer, jusqu’à présent, plus de 20 000 emplois dans le secteur de l’énergie propre et plus de 50 000 emplois devraient éventuellement être créés.

La LEVDEV a autorisé la création de programmes de tarifs de rachat garantis en Ontario; ce programme est le plus complet en son genre en Amérique du Nord. Le programme permet d’attirer les investissements en améliorant la sécurité des prix pour les différents types de sources d’énergie renouvelable, en uniformisant la réglementation et en normalisant les taux de rendement. Les sources d’énergie renouvelable sont notamment : le biogaz, la biomasse, les gaz d’enfouissement, l’énergie solaire, l’énergie hydroélectrique et l’énergie éolienne.

Le Programme de TRG a été conçu pour :

  • Créer de nouvelles industries de l’énergie propre ainsi que des emplois;
  • Stimuler l’activité économique et le développement de technologies d’énergies renouvelables;
  • Améliorer la qualité de l’air en éliminant progressivement d’ici 2014 la production d’électricité dans des centrales thermiques au charbon, ce qui constitue l’initiative la plus importante en Amérique du Nord pour lutter contre les changements climatiques.

Réalisations

Le Programme de TRG a permis :

  • De créer des milliers d’emplois liés directement et indirectement au secteur de l’énergie propre;
  • De conclure des marchés pour la production de 4 600 mégawatts (MW) en plus des 2 500 MW produits grâce à l’entente d’investissement dans l’énergie verte, ce qui devrait permettre d’alimenter en électricité plus de 1,8 million de foyers chaque année.
  • D’obtenir du secteur privé, en Ontario, plus 20 milliards de dollars en investissement, et 7 milliards de dollars en vertu de l’entente sur les investissements dans l’énergie verte, durant une période économique difficile;
  • D’augmenter la proportion d’énergie propre dans l’ensemble des sources d’énergie de l’Ontario;
  • D’appuyer le plan de l’Ontario visant à remplacer les centrales au charbon, ce qui contribue à réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre et améliore la santé des Ontariens.

L’an dernier, en Ontario, les sources d’énergie éolienne et solaire ont produit à elles seules plus d’électricité que les central es au charbon.

Nouvelle énergie propre : alimentation électrique quotidienne en Ontario

Les Ontariens ont démontré qu’ils appuyaient les sources d’énergie renouvelable en prenant part avec enthousiasme aux programmes de TRG et aux microprojets de TRG. Aujourd’hui, les familles, les agriculteurs, les groupes communautaires et les petites entreprises contribuent activement à l’approvisionnement de l’Ontario dans son ensemble, alors que seules les grandes entreprises jouaient un rôle dominant à ce titre auparavant.

L’Ontario a fait beaucoup de progrès en peu de temps. En 2003, la province ne comptait que 10 éoliennes produisant seulement 15 MW. Grâce au Programme de TRG et aux autres programmes qui l’ont précédé, l’Ontario compte maintenant plus de 1 000 éoliennes produisant plus de 1 950 MW et qui devrait éventuellement produire suffisamment d’électricité chaque année pour alimenter une ville de la taille de London, en Ontario.

Aujourd’hui, l’Ontario héberge les 10 plus grandes centrales solaires du pays et est le premier producteur d’énergie solaire au Canada.

Depuis le lancement du Programme de TRG, l’Office de l’électricité de l’Ontario (OEO) a conclu environ 2 000 marchés de TRG de petite et grande portée avec les producteurs d’énergie propre. Ces contrats représentent au total environ 4 600 MW, soit une quantité d’électricité suffisante pour alimenter chaque année plus de 1,2 million de foyers. En outre, près de 12 000 familles, agriculteurs, groupes communautaires et petites entreprises participent au Programme de microprojets de TRG.

En moins de dix ans, l’Ontario a réussi à fournir au réseau plus de 9 000 MW d’énergie propre nouvelle et recyclée, soit une quantité suffisante pour alimenter à la fois Ottawa et Toronto.

Création d’emplois : favoriser la création de nouveaux emplois dans le secteur des énergies propres

En 2010, 3,5 millions de personnes travaillaient dans l’industrie des énergies renouvelables partout dans le monde. En Ontario, le Programme de TRG a stimulé la création d’emplois dans une variété de domaines de l’industrie des énergies renouvelables, dont la fabrication, l’approvisionnement et la construction.

Les politiques de l’Ontario en matière d’énergie propre ont déjà permis de créer plus de 20 000 emplois et devraient permettre de créer au total 50 000 emplois grâce aux investissements dans les énergies renouvelables et la conservation d’énergie ainsi que dans les mises à niveau dans les technologies de réseau intelligent, de transport et de distribution.

Emplois directs et indirects
Le Programme de TRG a contribué à l’assise manufacturière de l’Ontario. Depuis 2009, on estime que le programme a permis de créer près de 2 000 emplois directement liés à la fabrication. Le processus de fabrication favorise la création d’emplois dans les secteurs qui fournissent des matériaux comme l’acier.

À l’heure actuelle, plus de 30 entreprises exploitent ou prévoient construire des installations de production d’équipement d’énergie solaire et éolienne en Ontario. Cela a entraîné une augmentation du nombre d’emplois liés à l’approvisionnement, dont des emplois dans la production de matériel et de pièces métalliques.

L’entreprise North Key Construction, établie à Napanee, était l’entrepreneur de choix pour réaliser le projet « First Light 1 » qui consistait à construire une des plus grandes centrales solaires à photopiles en Amérique du Nord. Cette centrale solaire de 9 MW, située dans le canton de Stone Mills, dans le comté de Lennox et Addington, devrait alimenter plus de 2 000 foyers par an. Bien que l’entreprise North Key soit relativement petite, elle a su tirer parti du succès de son projet First Light, en développant une grande expertise dans le secteur de l’énergie propre et en devenant un entrepreneur de choix pour de nombreux projets d’énergie solaire en Ontario.

D’autres emplois liés au Programme de TRG sont dans le domaine de la construction, ce qui offre un avantage économique pour de nombreuses collectivités en Ontario. Pour chaque groupe de 10 000 emplois créés dans le secteur de la construction à l’appui du secteur de l’énergie propre, les collectivités ontariennes reçoivent près de 500 millions de dollars en retombées économiques.

Formation et éducation
Afin d’appuyer la création d’emplois, les collèges et les universités publics de l’Ontario ont instauré un certain nombre de nouveaux programmes liés à l’économie du secteur de l’énergie propre comme :

  • la formation de technicien en éoliennes;
  • la gestion d’entreprise écologique;
  • la formation de technicien en énergies renouvelables;
  • les technologies en matière d’énergie et de construction durables;
  • les techniques du génie en énergie propre et renouvelable.

Le collège Sault a instauré un programme de formation en techniques des énergies renouvelables et de la construction écologique. Le programme aide les étudiants à acquérir des connaissances et des compétences pratiques dans le secteur des sources d’énergie renouvelable comme les énergies éolienne, solaire et géothermique et la bioénergie, ainsi que dans le secteur de la conservation de l’énergie et de la construction et de la rénovation écologiques.

Le Centre for UrbanEnergy (CUE) de l’Université Ryerson est le résultat d’un partenariat entre l’université et le secteur privé. On y cherche et élabore des solutions aux problèmes énergétiques en milieu urbain, comme l’évolution des technologies d’énergie propre, de conservation d’énergie et de gestion de la demande, de stockage de l’énergie et des infrastructures intelligentes.

Développement économique : lancement d’une nouvelle industrie

Le secteur des énergies renouvelables offre à de nombreux pays du monde d’importants avantages sur les plans de l’économie, de l’environnement et de la santé. La capacité des installations d’énergie renouvelable du monde entier devrait doubler au cours des décennies à venir.

Croissance mondiale prévue en matière d’énergie propre – 2010 à 2030

(en milliards de dollars canadiens)

Croissance mondiale prévue en matière d'énergie propre – 2010 à 2030

Source: Bloomberg New Energy Finance

Capacité en énergie renouvelable

  • 2010: 196 $
  • 2020: 395 $
  • 2030: 460 $

En 2010, le fabricant de pièces automobiles SamcoMachinery Ltd, établi à Scarborough, a modernisé son outillage et a investi dans l’achat de nouveaux équipements. Aujourd’hui, l’entreprise fabrique des pièces et des assemblages métalliques pour un certain nombre de fabricants de supports à l’échelle internationale et répond à la demande des services publics et des secteurs commerciaux et résidentiels en matière d’installations d’énergie solaire.

Le Programme de TRG de la province, qui a été lancé en période d’incertitude économique mondiale, a permis de créer des emplois dans les secteurs de la fabrication et de la construction en Ontario. Il a attiré d’importants investissements étrangers dans la province, alors que les investisseurs internationaux freinaient leurs investissements dans presque tous les secteurs. Le Programme de TRG de l’Ontario a permis à la province de se distinguer des autres territoires de compétence en offrant un marché stable et des conditions sûres favorisant les investissements.

Les marchés de TRG annoncés jusqu’à présent, ainsi que l’accord sur les investissements dans l’énergie propre totalisent plus de 27 milliards de dollars en investissements versés par le secteur privé en Ontario.

Les émissions et la santé : élimination progressive du charbon pour les générations futures

D’ici la fin de l’année 2014, l’Ontario sera le premier territoire de compétence en Amérique du Nord à avoir remplacé les centrales thermiques au charbon par des sources d’énergie propre. Cela équivaut à retirer de la circulation sept millions de voitures; les effets sur la qualité de l’air en Ontario sont donc importants.

L’Ontario a fermé 10 des 19 centrales thermiques au charbon et a diminué sa consommation de charbon de près de 90 pour cent depuis 2003, ce qui a permis de réduire les émissions d’oxydes d’azote (NOx), d’oxydes de soufre (SOx) et de dioxyde de carbone (CO2). Le NOx et le SOx sont les principales sources de pollution atmosphérique et le CO2 est un gaz à effet de serre qui contribue aux changements climatiques.

En plus de rendre l’air plus propre et de supprimer une partie des émissions polluantes, l’élimination du charbon offrira également des avantages importants pour la santé des Ontariens. Selon une étude indépendante menée en 2005 et intitulée « CostBenefitAnalysis: Replacing Ontario’s Coal- FiredElectricityGeneration » (analyse de la rentabilité : remplacement des centrales thermiques au charbon en Ontario), les centrales thermiques au charbon coûtent 4,4 milliards de dollars chaque année si l’on tient compte des coûts liés à la santé et à l’environnement.

Avenir

Le gouvernement de l’Ontario est déterminé à bâtir un réseau d’électricité propre, moderne et fiable. Grâce aux investissements qu’il consacre au renouvellement des infrastructures et à la production d’énergie propre, le gouvernement contribue à transformer la province d’aujourd’hui et à jeter les bases de l’Ontario de demain.

En 2007, le Conseil canadien des chefs d’entreprise a reconnu que les ressources naturelles du Canada en énergies renouvelables (énergie éolienne, marémotrice, géothermique et solaire et biomasse) permettront à l’Ontario de se classer parmi les superpuissances mondiales en matière d’énergie propre.

Au cours des dix dernières années, l’Ontario a :

  • facilité le remplacement d’infrastructures désuètes valant plusieurs milliards de dollars;
  • considérablement amélioré le réseau en utilisant de l’équipement et des technologies plus modernes;
  • investi dans des sources d’énergie plus propre.

Les mises à niveau des infrastructures énergétiques de l’Ontario ont permis de rendre le réseau d’électricité plus efficace et fiable. Les investissements dans les compteurs intelligents et la production distribuée qui ont été consentis par l’entremise de programmes comme le Programme de TRG ont permis à l’Ontario de se placer au premier plan dans une économie d’énergie propre émergente axée sur :

  • les technologies de réseau intelligent (automatisation du réseau, gestion des données, compteurs intelligents);
  • le stockage de l’énergie;
  • les véhicules électriques;
  • d’autres technologies émergentes comme l’énergie solaire à photopiles concentrée.

Un réseau d’électricité moderne devrait pouvoir être approvisionné par les nouvelles sources d’énergie et devrait pouvoir fournir cette énergie aux consommateurs de manière fiable. Il doit pouvoir tirer parti des technologies de réseaux intelligents afin d’assurer une alimentation en électricité efficace et rentable, et doit être en mesure d’intégrer de nouvelles technologies d’énergie renouvelable et d’aider les consommateurs à mieux gérer leur consommation d’électricité.

L’OCCASION QU’OFFRENT LES RÉSEAUX INTELLIGENTS À L’ONTARIO

Un réseau intelligent est un réseau d’électricité moderne. Grâce à des capteurs, à la surveillance, aux communications, à l’automatisation et aux ordinateurs, il permet d’améliorer la souplesse, la sécurité, la fiabilité, l’efficacité et la sécurité du réseau électrique. Il permet aux consommateurs de faire des choix puisqu’ils sont en mesure de mieux gérer leur consommation d’électricité en fonction des prix et d’autres paramètres. Un réseau intelligent comprend des ressources énergétiques diverses et distribuées et permet de procéder à la recharge des véhicules électriques. En bref, il permet de rapprocher tous les éléments du réseau d’électricité, soit la production, la distribution et la consommation, pour améliorer le fonctionnement global du réseau, ce qui présente des avantages pour les consommateurs et l’environnement.

L’Ontario profite de l’occasion qu’offrent les réseaux intelligents pour se tailler une place de chef de file en matière d’énergie propre. L’implantation d’un réseau intelligent aidera l’Ontario à atteindre ses objectifs en matière d’énergie propre comme l’intégration de la production d’énergie renouvelable sur le réseau de distribution et ses ambitieuses cibles sur le plan de la conservation.

D’autres territoires de compétence dont les États-Unis, la Chine et le Japon tentent de mettre en place un réseau plus intelligent, mais la province de l’Ontario est pionnière à plusieurs égards. L’implantation de compteurs intelligents en Ontario est une première étape essentielle pour tirer avantage d’un réseau de distribution intelligent qui alimente les consommateurs en électricité. Les efforts de l’Ontario pour intégrer les énergies renouvelables et tirer parti des occasions de conserver l’énergie fournissent aux entreprises et aux services publics l’occasion de mettre à l’essai, de développer et commercialiser des technologies de réseaux intelligents qui peuvent être utilisées dans les marchés mondiaux.

Powerstream, une entreprise de distribution régionale exerçant ses activités au nord de Toronto, développe des technologies utilitaires pour le réseau, y compris la détection numérique des défaillances, l’isolement et la remise en charge du réseau, ainsi que d’un système de gestion des pannes en vue d’améliorer le service pour ses clients et d’éviter les pannes d’électricité.

Le marché mondial annuel pour les fabricants d’équipements de réseau intelligent et les fournisseurs de solutions devrait se situer entre 15 milliards de dollars et 31 milliards de dollars par année d’ici 2014, selon un rapport de 2010 publié par McKinsey & Company. C’est le moment idéal pour tirer parti de la réputation de l’Ontario en tant que chef de file dans la technologie de réseau intelligent en continuant à encourager son développement afin d’en faire profiter les consommateurs et à accroître les efforts pour exporter les technologies de l’Ontario tout en créant des emplois et en attirant les investissements dans la province.

L’an dernier, GE Canada, en partenariat avec le gouvernement de l’Ontario, a choisi d’établir le « GE Grid IQ Innovation Centre » à Markham, en s’engageant à créer 146 emplois dans la région. Ce nouveau centre d’excellence mondial offre des services et conçoit et fabrique des produits destinés aux réseaux intelligents en Ontario et dans le monde. Au cours des quatre prochaines années, GE s’attend à dépenser 18,5 millions de dollars pour développer et exploiter des technologies de modernisation du réseau. Le Centre abritera un laboratoire d’essai et de simulation mondial.

Les technologies de stockage de l’électricité sont également très prometteuses. Les systèmes de stockage d’énergie, comme les accumulateurs, peuvent assurer un stockage à court ou à long terme. Le stockage à court terme pourrait améliorer la fiabilité du réseau. Le stockage à long terme permettrait aux maisons et aux entreprises de stocker de l’électricité pour une utilisation ultérieure. Une fois que ces technologies seront concurrentielles et qu’elles auront été éprouvées sur le marché, le réseau d’électricité de l’Ontario en profitera, puisque la province sera en mesure de tirer parti de son système d’approvisionnement diversifié et unique.

L’Ontario continue à encourager les solutions et les modèles novateurs de production d’électricité à petite et à très petite échelle, et plus particulièrement ceux qui peuvent augmenter l’efficacité sur les plans à la fois économique et technique. Une des solutions qui mérite d’être étudiée plus à fond est le modèle d’autoconsommation, selon lequel l’électricité est produite là où elle peut être consommée. Ce modèle peut favoriser la circulation de l’électricité sur le réseau et réduire ou éliminer bon nombre de pertes associées à la distribution d’électricité.