Feed-in Tariff (FIT) Land Evaluation Study

Protocol for Land Evaluation Studies to Assess Feed-in Tariff (FIT) Program Eligibility for Non-Rooftop Solar Facilities on Properties with a Mix of Prime Agricultural Land (Classes 1 to 3) and/or Organic Soil, and Non-Prime Agricultural Land (Classes 4 to 7)

This protocol was developed by the Ministries of Energy, Agriculture and Food and Rural Affairs.

Introduction:

The Canada Land Inventory (CLI) “Soil Capability for Agriculture” classifies land in terms of its capability to produce common field crops (e.g., corn, soybeans, small grains, forages). CLI maps for Ontario were derived from a long history of soil survey work and associated reports and maps (circa 1929-2000). Most of southern Ontario was mapped at a scale of 1:50,000. However, in some regions, the best available soil classification maps were produced at a scale of 1:63,360 or even 1:126,720.  CLI maps for Ontario are intended for broad land-use planning purposes.  Depending on the complexity of the agricultural landscape, more detailed mapping may be required.

“Prime agricultural land” includes CLI Classes 1, 2 and 3 land which may have minor limitations for field crops:

  • Class 1 – Land in this class has no significant limitations in use for crops.
  • Class 2 – Land in this class has moderate limitations that reduce the choice of crops, or require moderate conservation practices.
  • Class 3 – Land in this class has moderately severe limitations that reduce the choice of crops or requires special conservation practices.

“Non-prime agricultural land” includes CLI Classes 4 through 7.  This land has more severe limitations:

  • Class 4  –Land in this class has severe limitations that restrict the choice of crops, or requires special conservation practices and very careful management, or both
  • Class 5 – Land in this class has very severe limitations that restrict its capability to produce perennial forage crops, but improvement practices are feasible
  • Class 6 – Land in this class is unsuited for cultivation, but may be suitable for use as unimproved permanent pasture
  • Class 7 – Land in this class is unsuitable for any arable culture or permanent pasture

More information on CLI classification can be obtained from the Ontario Ministry of Agriculture and Food (OMAF) and Ministry of Rural Affairs (MRA) website.

FIT Eligibility:

For the purposes of the FIT program, the potential eligibility of a non-rooftop solar project is partly determined  by the CLI mapping maintained by OMAF and MRA for the purposes of the FIT program. The maps are customized to the FIT  eligibility criteria and are posted on OMAF and MRA’s website.

A proponent submitting a FIT application involving a property with a mix of prime agricultural land (CLI Classes 1, 2 or 3) and/or organic soil, and non-prime agricultural land (CLI Classes 4 through 7), must provide a land evaluation study based on the standardized methodology outlined below. This study is needed to confirm that the proposed non-rooftop solar project site is located only on the non-prime agricultural portion of the property.

While the entire property must be shown in the land evaluation study, areas identified by CLI as Classes 1 to 3 land or organic soil cannot be reclassified and must be avoided.  Therefore, on a property with a mix of prime and non-prime agricultural lands only the non-prime agricultural land (CLI Classes 4 to7) portions must be studied. Land mapped by CLI as Classes 4 to 7 but found to actually be Classes 1 to 3 and/or organic through the land evaluation study must also be avoided.

Land evaluation studies completed by proponents are used solely for the purpose of demonstrating to the Ontario Power Authority (OPA) that prime agricultural lands have been avoided.  There is no mechanism in place to permit municipalities or proponents to change the province’s CLI mapping as a result of the studies.

For more information on the FIT program rules and application requirements, refer to the OPA’s website.

Disclaimer: The information contained in this protocol is not necessarily authoritative or comprehensive and may be subject to change. Its sole use is to guide proponents in their completion of land evaluation studies for the FIT program. The Government of Ontario assumes no liability for any conflict, inconsistency, error or omission, or for any actions or decisions taken in reliance upon this information by project proponents or other third parties.

FIT Land Evaluation Study Protocol:

Subject Property Background Information:

It is recommended that all land evaluators identify the original county soil survey report and map from which the CLI map product was developed. This will identify the scale at which the original soil map product was compiled. Soil units delineated on the subject property should be correlated with the soil units as they have been classified and presented in the digital soil database (Soil Complex data layer from Land Information Ontario). These may differ from the legacy published soil survey map and report for a particular county or municipality due to periodic revisions by the province and/or Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada. Those legacy reports and maps can be found on the Canadian Soil Information Service (CANSIS) website.

There are two options for obtaining the existing soil complex/CLI maps for the subject property for the purposes of land evaluation studies:

Option 1 – GIS Software: Obtain the most recent soil complex /CLI data layer and assessment parcel layer from the Land Information Ontario (LIO) website. Overlay the CLI mapping with the assessment parcel fabric and identify the non-prime agricultural portion of the property, if any. The county, township, lot and concession information should also be identified in the title of the map. The date the CLI maps were obtained from the LIO website should be clearly noted.

Option 2 – OMAF and MRA AgMaps: Use the interactive mapping website. Find the location of the mixed soil property using mouse controlled zoom functions or the “Find Information” tab. Then, turn on the parcel layer, and the soil complex/CLI data layer. Create a map layout and an appropriate map title using the map icon button. The date the CLI maps were obtained from AgMaps should be clearly noted. Then,when prompted download the map. The map should open for printing and you can also save a copy of the PDF to your computer as well.

Using option 1 or 2: Identify the non-prime agricultural land, if any, within the property boundary. Identify the soil components within the map units. Identify the associated CLI ratings and any limitations if they exist for the subject property.

Note:  The CLI maps available from LIO, AgMaps and the customized CLI maps created for the FIT program all use the identical CLI data layer.  Every effort has been made to avoid any discrepancies.

Property Inspection Methodology:

The FIT property-specific CLI land evaluation will be based on an adequate density and distribution of soil profile and landscape site inspections. The minimum requirement is one ground inspection per two square centimetres on the final map (Expert Committee on Soil Survey 1981). For example, at a scale of 1:10,000, this translates, at a minimum, to one site inspection per two hectares of the study area. In some cases, such as sites with a high degree of soil/landscape variability, a land evaluation at a scale of 1:5,000 would be more appropriate. Ultimately, the proponent undertaking the land evaluation study and the third party reviewer must determine the scale required to accurately assess the site’s land capability.

Inspection site locations (by GPS coordinate) will be presented in map form, and the soil profile data for each inspection site will be included in a database that accompanies the project report. The “Field Manual for Describing Soils in Ontario” (Ontario Centre for Soil Resource Evaluation, 1993) provides field assessment guidelines for classifying soils and the landscapes in which they occur. The taxonomic conventions found in the “Canadian System of Soil Classification” (Expert Committee on Soil Survey, 1981) are to be used to report on all site-specific findings under the FIT program.

The agricultural capability for common field crops (e.g. corn, soybeans, small grains and forages) will be interpreted using the document “Classifying Prime and Marginal Agricultural Soils and Landscapes: Guidelines for the Application of the Canada Land Inventory in Ontario” which has been informed by the Expert Committee in Soil Survey (1983) field manual.

Land Evaluation Analysis and Reporting:

All FIT land evaluation studies will be determined upon the assumption that the existing CLI map units are correct. Detailed evidence must be systematically collected and provided to test this assumption.  On a property with a mix of prime and non-prime agricultural lands only the non-prime agricultural land (CLI Classes 4 to7) portions must be studied. Any areas found to have a different CLI rating than mapped by OMAF and MRA will be clearly identified by the proponent undertaking the land evaluation study and assigned a new classification according to the CLI assessment guidelines. Land mapped by CLI as Classes 4 to 7 but found to actually be Classes 1 to 3 and/or organic through the land evaluation study must be avoided.

The information developed from this detailed investigation will be compiled systematically into a report that accompanies a digital version of study area map and its associated CLI polygons. For clarity, this process can only be utilized to reclassify CLI Classes 4 to 7 land to CLI Class 1 to 3 or CLI organic land. CLI Classes 1 to 3 and organic land as shown on the CLI maps cannot be reclassified as CLI Class 4 to 7.

Minimum Qualifications for Land Evaluators (Soil Scientists/Pedologists) Undertaking Land Evaluation Studies:

Land evaluation studies under the FIT  program are undertaken entirely at the risk of the non-rooftop solar project proponent. Land evaluators are expected to have a very firm understanding of soil science and related discipline principles founded in a sound academic base, relevant experience, ongoing professional development and experience in providing objective, professional judgement.

More specifically, the land evaluators undertaking land evaluation studies must demonstrate a combination of education and experience normally acquired through:

  • a university degree in soil science, geoscience, forestry, biology, resource management-related disciplines or engineering (terrain related); and
  • a minimum of five years of demonstrable consulting/professional practice in land evaluation/soil related projects.

The land evaluators shall submit, with the land evaluation study, their résumé or curriculum vitae (CV) and a detailed list of recent (last five years) land evaluation/soil projects in which they have been the lead or played a significant role.

Third Party Review:

Each land evaluation study will be subject to a third party review for the purposes of the FIT program. The third party reviewer will be required to complete a prescribed form that indicates that he/she has reviewed the study and the qualifications of the report author, and based on his/her professional experience, is in agreement with the methods and findings of the land evaluation study. Further, the third party reviewer must confirm that they have no conflict of interest by attesting to their own objectivity and confirm that they have no direct or indirect professional, financial or personal affiliation with the land evaluator(s) who authored the study. The peer review prescribed form can be found at:

http://fit.powerauthority.on.ca/program-resources/rules-exhibits-and-forms

Third party reviewers must have a very firm understanding of soil science and related discipline principles founded in a sound academic base, relevant experience, ongoing professional development and the application of professional judgement.

Third party reviewers must demonstrate a combination of education and experience normally acquired through:

  • a university degree in soil science/pedology, geosciences or terrain-related engineering, and
  • a minimum of eight years of demonstrable consulting/professional practice in land evaluation/soil related projects

Without limitation by the generality of the following, in reviewing land evaluation studies, third party reviewers will follow a two stage process:

Stage 1:

  • review the land evaluator’s credentials as provided in their résumé or CV  to determine suitability of qualifications to undertake work
  • review any relevant land evaluation/soil project experience or project references provided by the land evaluator

Stage 2:

  • review the submitted land evaluation report and any digital files submitted and provide comments as required
  • provide an attestation in the form of a Prescribed Form generated by the OPS indicating:
    • that the land evaluation and its results are consistent with accepted survey methodologies, industry standards and best practices

For more information on the protocol, proponents should contact the Renewable Energy Facilitation Office (REFO) at the Ministry of Energy. REFO can be reached by email at REFO@ontario.ca or by phone at 1-877-440-REFO (7336).

Resources:

References:

Expert Committee on Soil Survey. 1981. A Soil Mapping System for Canada: Revised. Research Branch, Agriculture Canada.

Expert Committee on Soil Survey. 1983. The Canada Soil Information System (CANSIS) Manual for Describing Soils in the Field, J. H. Day Ed. Land Resource Research Institute, Agriculture Canada, Ottawa.

Ontario Centre for Soil Resource Evaluation. 1993. Field Manual for Describing Soils in Ontario. 4th edition.Compiled by K. A. Denholm and L. W. Schut.

Provincial Policy Statement, 2005.Agricultural Policies and Definitions. Date Retrieved: July 18, 2012

Provincial Policy Statement, 2014.

Sources of Information:

CANSIS – Soil Survey Reports for Ontario

Classifying Prime and Marginal Agricultural Soils and Landscapes: Guidelines for the Application of the Canada Land Inventory in Ontario

OMAF and MRA information pertaining to Ground-Mounted Solar Projects on Agricultural Lands including CLI mapping to be used for the FIT program

Land Information Ontario

OMAF and MRA Agricultural Atlas

Feed-in Tariff Program

Étude sur l’évaluation des terres dans le cadre du Programme de tarifs de rachat garantis (TRG)

Protocole d’études sur l’évaluation des sols visant à évaluer l’admissibilité au Programme de tarifs de rachat garantis (TRG) d’installations photovoltaïques ailleurs que sur le toit des propriétés et dont les terres agricoles sont « de première qualité » (classes 1 à 3) ou biologiques, ou les deux, ET « de moindre qualité » (classes 4 à 7)

Le présent protocole a été élaboré par le ministère de l’Énergie, le ministère de l’Agriculture et de l’Alimentation et le ministère des Affaires rurales.

Introduction :

La « Classification des possibilités agricoles des sols » de l’Inventaire des terres du Canada (ITC) classe les sols selon leur potentiel agricole de production de cultures communes (par ex., maïs, soya, petites céréales et cultures fourragères). Les cartes de l’ITC de l’Ontario sont le produit d’efforts soutenus en études pédologiques et en rapports et en cartes associés (vers 1929-2000). La plupart des terres du sud de l’Ontario sont représentées à l’échelle 1:50 000. Toutefois, dans certaines régions, les meilleures cartes de classifications des sols disponibles ont été produites à l’échelle 1:63 360, ou même 1:126 720. Les cartes de l’ITC de l’Ontario visent de vastes objectifs de planification d’utilisation des terres. Selon la complexité des paysages agricoles, de plus amples détails cartographiques pourraient s’avérer nécessaires.

Les « sols agricoles de première qualité » comprennent les classes 1, 2 et 3 de l’ITC pouvant présenter de légères limitations aux cultures :

  • Classe 1 – Sols ne présentant aucune limitation importante à la production agricole.
  • Classe 2 – Sols présentant des limitations modérées qui restreignent la gamme des cultures ou qui exigent l’application de pratiques de conservation ordinaires.
  • Classe 3 – Sols présentant des limitations assez sérieuses qui restreignent la gamme des cultures ou qui exigent des pratiques de conservation spéciales.

Les « sols agricoles de moindre qualité » comprennent les classes 4 à 7 de l’ITC. Ces types de sol possèdent des limitations plus importantes :

  • Classe 4  – Sols présentant de graves limitations qui restreignent la gamme des cultures ou qui exigent des pratiques de conservation spéciales ou une gestion très minutieuse, ou les deux.
  • Classe 5 – Sols présentant de très sérieuses limitations qui les restreignent à la culture de plantes fourragères vivaces, mais pouvant faire l’objet de pratiques améliorantes.
  • Classe 6 – Sols impropres à la culture, mais pouvant être exploités comme pâture permanente non améliorée.
  • Classe 7 – Sols impropres à la culture et au pâturage permanent.

Il est possible d’obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur la classification des sols de l’ITC sur le site Web du ministère de l’Agriculture et de l’Alimentation de l’Ontario (MAAO) et le ministère des Affaires rurales (MAR).

Admissibilité au Programme de TRG :

Aux fins du Programme de TRG, l’admissibilité possible d’un projet d’installations photovoltaïques ailleurs que sur le toit est en partie déterminée par la cartographie de l’ITC, et gérée par le MAAO et le MAR. Les cartes sont adaptées aux critères d’admissibilité du Programme de TRG et sont publiées sur le site Web du MAAO et du MAR au www.omafra.gov.on.ca/french/landuse/feed-in-tariffprogram.htm.

Un promoteur qui présente une demande au Programme de TRG dont la propriété porte des terres agricoles de première qualité (classes 1, 2 et 3 de l’ITC) ou biologiques, ou les deux, et des terres agricoles de moindre qualité (classes 4 à 7 de l’ITC), doit fournir une étude sur l’évaluation des sols fondée sur la méthodologie normalisée indiquée ci‑après. Cette étude est obligatoire pour confirmer que l’emplacement du projet d’installations photovoltaïques ailleurs que sur le toit est situé uniquement sur la partie des terres agricoles de moindre qualité de la propriété.

Alors que l’entière propriété doit faire partie de l’étude sur l’évaluation des terres, les zones classées 1 à 3 de l’ITC ou une terre biologique ne peuvent être classifiées à nouveau et doivent ainsi être évitées. Par conséquent, seule la partie agricole d’une propriété dont la terre est de moindre qualité (classes 4 à 7 de l’ITC) doit être portée à l’étude, et non la partie dont la terre est de première qualité. Les sols classifiés de 4 à 7 de l’ITC mais présentant une qualité de classes 1 à 3, ou de type biologique, ou les deux, selon l’étude sur l’évaluation des sols, doivent également être éludés.

Les études sur l’évaluation des sols terminées par les promoteurs servent uniquement l’objectif de démontrer à l’Office de l’électricité de l’Ontario (OEO) que les terres agricoles de première qualité ont été éludées. Il n’existe pas de mécanisme mis en place pour permettre aux municipalités ou aux promoteurs de modifier la cartographie de l’ITC de la province en raison des études.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les règles et les critères en matière de demande du Programme de TRG, veuillez vous référer au site Web de l’OEO (en anglais seulement).

Avertissement : Les renseignements contenus dans le présent protocole ne sont pas nécessairement fiables et complets, et sont sous réserve de modification. Leur unique objectif est de guider les promoteurs dans l’achèvement de leurs études sur l’évaluation des terres dans le cadre du Programme de TRG. Le gouvernement de l’Ontario n’assure en aucun cas la responsabilité d’un conflit, d’une incohérence, d’une erreur ou d’une omission, ou de toute mesure ou décision prise par les promoteurs de projet ou une tierce partie en s’appuyant sur ces renseignements.

Protocole d’études sur l’évaluation des sols du Programme de TRG :

Renseignements généraux sur le bien immeuble :

Il est recommandé que tous les évaluateurs des sols identifient le rapport d’études pédologiques et la carte du comté original à partir desquelles l’ITC a été élaboré. Cette façon de faire déterminera l’échelle à laquelle la carte des sols originale a été dressée. Les unités pédologiques délimitées sur le bien immeuble doivent corréler avec les unités pédologiques telles qu’elles ont été classifiées et présentées dans la base de données numérique sur les sols  (couches de données sur le complexe de sol tirées de l’Information sur les terres de l’Ontario). Il est possible qu’elles diffèrent de celles sur la carte et du rapport d’études pédologiques sur le patrimoine publiés d’un comté ou d’une municipalité donnée, en raison de révisions périodiques faites par la province ou Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada, ou les deux. On peut trouver ces rapports et ces cartes sur le patrimoine sur le site Web du Service d’information sur les sols du Canada (SISCAN).

Deux options existent pour obtenir le complexe de sol actuels et les cartes de l’ITC pour le bien immeuble aux fins d’études sur l’évaluation des sols :

Option 1 – Logiciel de SIG : Obtenez les renseignements sur le complexe de sol et les couches de données de l’ITC les plus récents ainsi que sur une couche d’une partie de l’évaluation sur le site Web de Information sur les terres de l’Ontario (ITO). Superposez l’établissement de cartographie de l’ITC avec la structure d’une parcelle d’évaluation et identifiez la partie de terre agricole de moindre qualité de la propriété, s’il y a lieu. Les renseignements sur le comté, le canton, le lot ou la concession doivent également être identifiés dans le titre de la carte. La date à laquelle les cartes de l’ITC ont été obtenues du site Web de ITO doit être clairement indiquée.

Option 2 – Agri Cartes du MAAO et du MAR : Sur le site Web d’établissement de cartes interactif, trouvez l’emplacement de la propriété dont les terres sont mixtes (de première et de moindre qualité) ou les fonctions de zoom contrôlés par la souris à l’aide de l’onglet « Trouver des renseignements ». Puis, activez la couche de parcelle, puis le complexe de sol et la couche de données de l’ITC. Créez un plan de la carte et un titre approprié à la carte à l’aide du bouton bouton de la carte. La date à laquelle les « agri cartes » de l’ITC ont été obtenues doit être clairement indiquée. Puis, lorsque demandé, téléchargez la carte. Elle devrait s’ouvrir et permettre une impression; vous pouvez aussi sauvegarder une copie du fichier PDF sur votre ordinateur.

À propos des options 1 ou 2 : Identifiez le sol agricole de moindre qualité, s’il y a lieu, dans les limites de la propriété. Identifiez les composantes du sol dans les unités cartographiques. Identifiez les notations de l’ITC et toute limitation associées du bien immeuble, s’il y a lieu.

Remarque : On a recours à la même couche de données pour toutes les cartes de l’ITC disponibles depuis les sites de ITO, Agri Cartes et les cartes de l’ITC personnalisées créées pour le Programme de TRG. D’authentiques efforts ont été faits pour éviter les divergences.

Méthodologie d’inspection d’une propriété :

L’évaluation des sols de l’ITC particulière aux propriétés du Programme de TRG se fondera sur une densité adéquate et une distribution du profil des sols ainsi qu’une inspection des sites des paysages. L’exigence minimale consiste en une inspection de sol par deux centimètres carrés sur la carte finale (Comité d’experts sur la prospection pédologique, 1981). Par exemple, à l’échelle 1:10 000, cela traduit, au minimum, une inspection de site par deux hectares de la zone d’étude. Dans certains cas, pour des emplacements comportant un tel degré de variabilité en matière de sol ou de paysage, une évaluation du sol à l’échelle 1:5 000 serait plus appropriée. En fin de compte, le promoteur qui entreprend l’étude sur l’évaluation du sol ainsi que l’examinateur doivent déterminer l’échelle requise afin d’évaluer au mieux la capacité du sol de l’emplacement.

Les emplacements destinés à l’inspection (dont les coordonnées sont données par GPS) seront présentés sous forme de carte et les données sur le profil du sol pour chacun des sites à inspecter seront comprises dans une base de données qui accompagnera le rapport du projet. Le Field Manual for Describing Soils in Ontario (Manuel de description des sols de l’Ontario) (Ontario Centre for Soil Resource Evaluation, 1993) présente des lignes directrices en matière d’évaluation des terres afin de classifier les sols et les paysages dans lesquels ils apparaissent. Les conventions taxonomiques trouvées dans Le système canadien de classification des sols (Comité d’experts sur la prospection pédologique, 1981) permettront de cadrer tout compte rendu sur les conclusions particulières aux emplacements dans le cadre du Programme de TRG.

Le potentiel agricole de production de cultures communes (par ex., maïs, soya, petites céréales et cultures fourragères) sera interprété à l’aide du document Classification des sols et des paysages agricoles de premier choix et marginaux : Lignes directrices pour l’application à l’Ontario de l’Inventaire des terres du Canada, alimenté par le manuel sur les sols du Comité d’experts sur la prospection pédologique (1983).

Analyse et établissement de rapport sur l’évaluation des terres :

Toutes les études sur l’évaluation des terres dans le cadre du Programme de TRG seront déterminées d’après l’hypothèse que les unités cartographiques de l’ITC actuelles sont exactes. Des preuves détaillées doivent systématiquement être recueillies et fournies afin de vérifier cette hypothèse. Sur une propriété présentant des terres agricoles de première qualité et de moindre qualité, seules les parties de terres de moindre qualité (classes 4 à 7 de l’ITC) doivent être portées à l’étude. Toute zone comportant une notation de l’ITC différente de celle cartographiée par le MAAO et le MAR sera clairement identifiée par le promoteur entreprenant l’étude sur l’évaluation des terres, et une nouvelle classification lui sera assignée selon les lignes directrices de l’évaluation de l’ITC. Les sols classifiés de 4 à 7 de l’ITC mais présentant une qualité de classes 1 à 3, ou de type biologique, ou les deux, selon l’étude sur l’évaluation du sol, doivent être éludés.

Les renseignements apportés depuis cette recherche détaillée seront compilés systématiquement dans un rapport qui accompagne une version numérique d’une carte de la zone d’étude et des contours de l’ITC qui y sont associés. Par souci de clarté, on ne peut se servir de ce processus que pour reclassifier les terres de classes 4 à 7 pour les classes de 1 à 3 ou une terre biologique de l’ITC. Les classes 1 à 3 et les terres biologiques telles qu’indiquées sur les cartes de l’ITC ne peuvent être reclassifiées de 4 à 7.

Qualifications minimales d’un évaluateur des terres (scientifique en science du sol ou pédologue) qui entreprend des études d’évaluation des terre

Les études sur l’évaluation des terres dans le cadre du Programme de TRG sont entièrement sous le risque du promoteur du projet d’installations photovoltaïques ailleurs que sur le toit de la propriété. Les évaluateurs des terres doivent posséder une compréhension approfondie en science du sol et de ses principes de discipline voisins fondés en une base universitaire sûre, de l’expérience pertinente, un perfectionnement professionnel continu et doivent faire preuve d’un jugement objectif et professionnel.

Plus particulièrement, les évaluateurs des terres qui entreprennent des études doivent démontrer une combinaison de scolarité et d’expérience habituellement acquise de la façon suivante :

  • Un diplôme universitaire en science du sol, en sciences de la Terre, en foresterie, en biologie, en une discipline liée à la gestion des ressources ou en ingénierie (liée au terrain), et
  • Au moins cinq années de consultation tangible ou de pratique professionnelle en évaluation des terres et en projets liés au sol.

Les évaluateurs des terres doivent présenter leur CV, l’étude sur l’évaluation des terres ainsi qu’une liste détaillée d’une évaluation des terres ou d’un projet sur les sols récent (cinq dernières années) qu’ils ont dirigé ou dans lequel ils ont joué un rôle important.

Examinateurs :

Chaque étude sur l’évaluation des terres pourra faire l’objet d’un examen par un tiers aux fins du Programme de TRG. Cet examinateur devra remplir un formulaire prescrit indiquant qu’il a examiné l’étude ainsi que les qualifications de l’auteur du rapport et, selon son expérience professionnelle, approuvera ou non les méthodes et les conclusions de l’étude sur l’évaluation des terres. En outre, l’examinateur doit confirmer qu’ils n’a pas de conflit d’intérêt en attestant de par sa propre objectivité et confirmer qu’il n’a aucun lien direct ou indirect professionnel, financier ou personnel avec le ou les évaluateurs des terres ayant rédigé l’étude. Le formulaire prescrit de l’examen par les pairs se trouve au :

www.fit.powerauthority.on.ca/program-resources/rules-exhibits-and-forms (en anglais seulement)

Les examinateurs doivent posséder une compréhension approfondie en science du sol et de ses principes de discipline voisins fondés en une base universitaire sûre, de l’expérience pertinente, un perfectionnement professionnel continu et faire preuve d’un jugement professionnel.

Les examinateurs doivent démontrer une combinaison de scolarité et d’expérience habituellement acquise de la façon suivante :

  • Un diplôme universitaire en science du sol ou en pédologie, en sciences de la Terre ou en ingénierie liée au terrain, et
  • Au moins huit années de consultation tangible ou de pratique professionnelle en évaluation des terres et en projets liés au sol.

Sans se limiter à la généralité des propos suivants, les examinateurs suivront un processus en deux étapes dans leur examen des études sur l’évaluation des terres :

Étape 1 :

  • Examiner les titres de compétences du ou des évaluateurs de terres tels qu’indiqués dans le CV afin de déterminer la pertinence des qualifications requises pour réaliser les travaux
  • Examiner toute expérience pertinente en évaluation des terres ou découlant d’un projet sur les sols ainsi que les références d’un projet fournies par l’évaluateur des terres

Étape 2 :

  • Examiner le rapport de l’évaluateur des terres ainsi que tout fichier numérique présenté, et fournir des commentaires, suivant les besoins
  • Fournir une attestation sous la forme d’un formulaire prescrit produit par l’OEO et qui indique :
    • que l’évaluation des terres et les résultats sont conformes aux méthodologies de l’étude acceptées, aux normes de l’industrie et aux pratiques exemplaires

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le protocole, les promoteurs doivent communiquer avec le Bureau de facilitation en matière d’énergie renouvelable (BFER) du ministère de l’Énergie. Il est possible d’envoyer un courriel au BFER : REFO@ontario.ca ou téléphoner au 1 877 440-REFO (7336).

Ressources :

Références :

Comité d’experts sur la prospection pédologique. 1981. A Soil Mapping System for Canada: Revised. Direction de la recherche, Agriculture Canada.

Comité d’experts sur la prospection pédologique. 1983. Système d’informatique des sols au Canada (SISCan) : Manuel de description des sols sur le terrain, Éd. J. H. Day. Institut de recherche sur les terres, Agriculture Canada, Ottawa.

Ontario Centre for Soil Resource Evaluation. 1993. Field Manual for Describing Soils in Ontario. 4e édition. Rédigé par K. A. Denholm et L. W. Schut.

Déclaration de principes provinciale. 2005. Agricultural Policies and Definitions. Page consultée le 18 juilet 2012
Déclaration de principes provinciale. 2014.

Sources d’information :

SISCAN – Études pédologiques pour l’Ontario

Classification des sols et des paysages agricoles de premier choix et marginaux : Lignes directrices pour l’application à l’Ontario de l’Inventaire des terres du Canada

Renseignements du MAAO et du MAR sur les projets d’installations photovoltaïques au sol sur des terres agricoles, y compris la cartographie de l’ITC à utiliser dans le cadre du Programme de TRG

Information sur les terres de l’Ontario

Atlas de l’information agricole du MAAO et du MAR

Programme de tarifs de rachat garantis (en anglais seulement)