Conservation for Public Agencies

Ontario’s updated Long-Term Energy Plan, Achieving Balance, encourages conservation and lays out a plan for clean, reliable and affordable energy. As the province plans for Ontario’s energy needs for the next 20 years, conservation will be the first resource considered. Conservation is a key part of our collective effort to lower greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions. It is also the province’s most cost-effective energy resource, and it offers consumers a way to reduce their electricity bills. The lease expensive type of energy is the energy we don’t use.

Ontario’s Regulation for Public Agencies

A regulation came into force January 1, 2012 that requires public agencies, starting in July 1, 2013, to report annually to the Ministry of Energy (ENERGY) on their energy use and greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions and publish the reports on their websites. In addition, starting July 1, 2014, public agencies need to develop a five-year conservation plan and publish the plan on their websites. Plans must be updated every five years beginning in 2019.

Public agencies must make their annual energy reports and five-year energy CDM plans publically available on their websites and in hard copy.

See energy use and greenhouse gas emissions for the Broader Public Sector data.

Who is affected by this?

The regulation affects public agencies:

  • municipalities
  • municipal service boards (for water/sewage pumping and treatment operations)
  • universities
  • colleges
  • school boards
  • hospitals.

What are the benefits?

Public agencies play an important role in helping Ontario meet its ambitious conservation targets and reduce GHG emissions.

    Energy reporting and conservation planning will help public agencies:

  • manage electricity use and costs
  • identify best practices and energy-saving opportunities
  • evaluate results by comparing to similar facilities across the province
  • assist in setting goals by providing a benchmark
  • measure improvement over time.

Energy reporting will also inform the Ontario government about energy use in the broader public sector. The information will help Ontario to develop and enhance policies and programs in the future.

How do public agencies report?

Public agencies must log in to the web portal to access the electronic reporting template. This template will automatically calculate GHG emissions based on the reported energy and fuel use. Public agencies submit their completed template on the reporting portal.

All affected public agencies should receive an email from the Ministry of Energy in April 2014 with login instructions and a new password for the reporting portal. If your agency has not received this email by May 2014, please contact us at

What resources are available to help with reporting?

Log in to the web portal to find additional resources:

  • a guide to completing the template
  • calculation tools within the Excel template
  • tips and FAQs.

There will also be a series of webinars for each sector to explain reporting requirements and how to use the electronic reporting template. Public agencies will also have a chance to ask questions. Dates to be announced in Spring 2014.

For more information, contact us at

What is an energy conservation and demand management (CDM) plan?

Energy CDM plans provide information about how the public agency will conserve energy, and should include the public agency’s energy consumption and GHG emissions report. Public agencies will need to post five-year energy CDM plans starting in 2014. Plans must be updated every five years beginning in 2019.

    These plans should outline:

  • conservation goals and objectives
  • proposed conservation measures
  • estimated costs and benefits
  • any renewable energy installations.

Where can I find out more about conservation programs in Ontario?

There are currently several conservation, demand management and renewable energy programs that can benefit public agencies.

  • Ontario is supporting local energy planning by introducing the Municipal Energy Plan (MEP) program. The MEP program is designed to help municipalities better understand their local energy needs and conservation opportunities, set goals and develop implementation plans. Learn more about Ontario’s Municipal Energy Plan Program.
  • The Independent Electricity System Operator’s (IESO) saveONenergy programs are available for institutional energy consumers. They support activities such as new energy-efficient building design, energy audits and retrofits. Local utilities run these programs. Find out more on IESO’s website.
  • Infrastructure Ontario (IO) offers long-term low interest loans to public agencies to support energy efficiency. For more information and details on eligibility, please visit IO’s website.
  • Gas utilities offer programs that support energy conservation. For example, they provide funding for more efficient boilers, heat recovery systems, variable speed motors and steam trap audits. Check your gas utility’s website for more information:
  • For more information on other programs available to public agencies, please visit our Incentives for Business page.

La conservation de l’énergie et les organismes publics

Le Plan énergétique à long terme de l’Ontario, Vers un bilan équilibré, récemment mis à jour, met l’accent sur la nécessité d’économiser l’énergie et prévoit un approvisionnement en énergie propre, fiable et abordable. Alors que la Province se penche sur les besoins énergétiques pour les 20 prochaines années, l’économie d’énergie sera la première solution envisagée. Elle s’inscrit en effet dans notre effort collectif visant à réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre, et apparaît comme la solution la plus rentable pour la Province. Elle offre de plus aux consommateurs un moyen de voir leurs factures d’électricité diminuer. L’énergie la moins chère est celle que l’on ne consomme pas.

Règlement de l’Ontario visant les organismes publics

Un règlement entré en vigueur le 1er janvier 2012 oblige les organismes publics à déclarer leur consommation d’énergie et leurs émissions de GES au ministère de l’Énergie d’ici le 1er juillet 2013 de chaque année, et à établir des plans de conservation de l’énergie et de gestion de la demande (CEGD) d’ici le 1er juillet 2014. Les organismes publics devront afficher leurs plans quinquennaux de CEGD à compter de 2014 et les mettre à jour tous les cinq ans à partir de 2019.

Les organismes publics doivent afficher leurs rapports annuels sur leur consommation d’énergie et leurs plans quinquennaux de CEGD sur leurs sites Web et en tenir des exemplaires imprimés à la disposition du public.

Quels organismes sont visés?

    Le règlement vise ces organismes publics :

  • Municipalités
  • Commissions de services municipaux (pour le pompage et le traitement de l’eau et des eaux usées)
  • Universités
  • Collèges
  • Conseils scolaires
  • Hôpitaux

Quels sont les avantages?

Les organismes publics jouent un rôle important en aidant l’Ontario à atteindre ses cibles ambitieuses en matière de conservation de l’énergie et de réduction des émissions de GES.

    Les rapports sur la consommation d’énergie et la planification de la conservation aideront les organismes publics à :

  • gérer la consommation et les coûts de l’électricité
  • recenser des pratiques exemplaires et des possibilités d’économiser l’énergie
  • évaluer leurs résultats en effectuant des comparaisons avec des installations semblables de la province
  • établir des buts en leur fournissant des points de repère
  • mesurer les améliorations au fil du temps

Les rapports renseigneront également le gouvernement de l’Ontario sur la consommation d’énergie dans le secteur parapublic et l’aideront à élaborer et à améliorer ses programmes et politiques.

Comment présenter les rapports?

Les organismes publics doivent se connecter au portail en ligne afin d’accéder au formulaire électronique de rapport. Ce formulaire calculera automatiquement les émissions de GES à partir de la consommation d’énergie et de carburant déclarée.

Tous les organismes publics concernés devraient recevoir un message électronique de la part du ministère de l’Énergie courant avril 2014, contenant les instructions d’accès au portail de rapport ainsi qu’un nouveau mot de passe. Si votre organisme n’a pas reçu ce message d’ici mai 2014, écrivez-nous à BPSSupport@ontario.ca.

Connectez-vous au portail de rapport pour trouver le formulaire et des renseignements.

Quelles ressources peuvent faciliter les rapports?

    Connectez-vous au portail pour trouver des ressources :

  • Un guide pour remplir le formulaire
  • Des outils de calcul dans le formulaire en format Excel
  • Des conseils et une FAQ.

Il y aura aussi une série de webinaires particuliers à chaque secteur pour expliquer les exigences en matière de rapport et comment utiliser le formulaire. Les organismes publics pourront aussi poser des questions. Les dates seront annoncées au printemps 2014.

Écrivez à BPSSupport@ontario.ca pour obtenir d’autres renseignements.

Qu’est-ce qu’un plan de conservation de l’énergie et de gestion de la demande (CEGD)?

Les plans de CEGD renseignent sur la façon dont les organismes publics conserveront l’énergie et devraient inclure les rapports sur la consommation d’énergie et les émissions de GES. Les organismes publics devront afficher leurs plans quinquennaux de CEGD à partir de 2014 et les mettre à jour tous les cinq ans à partir de 2019.

    Ces plans devraient exposer :

  • Les buts et objectifs en matière de conservation
  • Les mesures de conservation proposées
  • Les coûts et les avantages estimés
  • Les installations éventuelles d’énergie renouvelable.

Où trouver des renseignements sur les programmes de conservation existant en Ontario?

Il existe actuellement plusieurs programmes de conservation, de gestion de la demande et d’énergie renouvelable dont les organismes publics peuvent tirer parti.

  • L’Ontario soutient la planification de l’énergie locale en présentant le programme du Plan énergétique municipal (PEM). Le programme du PEM vient en aide aux municipalités pour mieux comprendre leurs besoins énergétiques locaux et les possibilités d’économies d’énergie, fixer des objectifs et développer des plans de mise en œuvre. Pour en savoir plus du Programme du Plan énergétique municipal de l’Ontario.
  • Les programmes d’énergiconomies de la Société indépendante d’exploitation du réseau d’électricité (la SIERE) sont offerts aux consommateurs institutionnels. Ils appuient des activités comme une nouvelle conception d’édifice éconergétique, des vérifications énergétiques et des aménagements. Les services publics locaux administrent ces programmes. D’autres renseignements se trouvent sur le site Web de l’la SIERE.
  • Infrastructure Ontario (IO) offre aux organismes publics des prêts à long terme à intérêts peu élevés pour encourager l’efficacité énergétique. Pour obtenir des renseignements et connaître les critères d’admissibilité, consultez le site Web d‘IO.
  • Les services de distribution de gaz naturel offrent des programmes qui encouragent les économies d’énergie. Par exemple, ils allouent des fonds pour installer des chaudières plus performantes, des systèmes de récupération de la chaleur, des moteurs à vitesse variable et des vérifications des purgeurs de vapeur d’eau :
  • Pour obtenir des renseignements sur d’autres programmes à la disposition des organismes publics, consultez notre page des incitatifs pour les entreprises.