Infosheet: Energy Conservation, Efficiency and Supply

Download Infosheet: Energy Conservation, Efficiency and Supply [PDF 541 KB]

Spring 2015

Provincial Policy Statement, 2014

The Provincial Policy Statement, 2014 (PPS 2014) provides policy direction on matters of provincial interest related to land use planning. It is issued under section 3 of the Planning Act and pertains to decisions in respect of the exercise of any authority that affects a planning matter made on or after April 30, 2014.

Encouraging energy efficiency, conservation, renewable and alternative energy systems, and a clean supply mix is an important part of the government’s commitment to building strong, healthy and sustainable communities and to ensure that the energy needs of all Ontarians are met. Increasing energy efficiency, conservation, and renewable energy are essential steps to reduce greenhouse gas emissions and fight climate change, while managing energy costs. Energy conservation, efficiency and renewable/alternative energy system policies in the PPS 2014 include:

  • Promoting renewable energy systems and alternative energy systems, where feasible, in accordance with provincial and federal requirements (1.6.11.2).
  • Supporting long term economic prosperity by promoting energy conservation and providing opportunities for development of renewable energy systems and alternative energy systems, including district energy (1.7.1i).
  • Supporting long term economic prosperity by minimizing negative impacts from a changing climate and considering the ecological benefits provided by nature (1.7.1i).
  • Supporting energy conservation and efficiency, improved air quality, reduced greenhouse gas emissions, and climate change adaptation through land use and development patterns that promote design and orientation which:
    1. maximizes energy efficiency and conservation and considers the mitigating effects of vegetation;
    2. maximizes opportunities for the use of renewable energy systems and alternative energy systems (1.8.1f).

Importance of Conservation and Clean Supply to the Province

As the province plans for Ontario’s electricity needs for the next 20 years, conservation will be the first resource to be considered before building new generation and transmission facilities, and will be the preferred choice wherever cost-effective.

The Ministry of Energy is working with its agencies to ensure that they put conservation first in their planning, approval and procurement processes. It is also working with the Ontario Energy Board to incorporate the policy of Conservation First into distributor infrastructure planning processes for both electricity and natural gas utilities.

The policy of Conservation First will ensure value for ratepayers and provide for cost-effective conservation programs that will lessen the need for new supply. Energy conservation and renewable energy systems are important parts of Ontario’s supply mix. Conservation and renewable energy have significant environmental benefits while helping to address climate change and meet energy demand in the province. Conservation also promotes economic growth by helping families and businesses save money.

District energy is one innovative way municipalities can promote energy conservation and efficiency in urban areas while reducing greenhouse gas emissions and managing energy costs. District energy is a method of heating and cooling buildings using hot water and/or chilled water, produced at a central plant located within a community to replace in-house heating and cooling systems.

One important element of Ontario’s Long-Term Energy Plan is distributed generation, which is efficient localized generation from smaller, cleaner sources of electricity. A diverse and distributed provincial energy system ensures that energy is produced locally where it is needed. This shift has also encouraged broader participation in the energy generation market, including municipalities, First Nation and Métis communities, homeowners, farmers and small businesses. Current opportunities for the development of new, renewable energy projects have included bioenergy (e.g., on-farm biogas), hydroelectricity, solar and wind energy.

Did you know?

Ontario’s Long-Term Energy Plan:

  • Adopted a policy of putting conservation first before building new generation and transmission facilities.
  • Set a long-term conservation target of 30 terawatt hours in 2032.
  • Set a goal of meeting 10% of peak demand using demand response by 2025.

Energy Efficiency Supports Efficient Growth

Planning the physical pattern and distribution of land use in our communities has a fundamental influence on energy consumption and efficiency. Land use practices that unnecessarily separate employment, retail and residential uses from one another have contributed to inefficient development. Conversely, mixed land use pattern and increased density promote energy efficiency and help to reduce negative impacts to air quality and climate change.

Energy efficiency and conservation can be achieved when planning communities and through the design of individual developments. For example, site and/or building design can support conservation through building orientation and construction materials. Landscaping techniques that use trees and plants to act as wind and sun barriers can also improve energy efficiency and conservation. Maximizing opportunities for energy efficiency can also promote long-term economic development by fueling productivity and job creation.

The PPS 2014 reinforces the link between energy infrastructure planning and land use planning. It also promotes the efficient and coordinated use of land, resources, infrastructure and public service facilities in Ontario communities.

Taking Action

  • Establish a local improvement charge program for energy efficiency investments, allowing the costs of projects to be recovered from property owners on their property tax bill. (Municipal governments can offer local improvement charges to recover energy efficiency, renewable energy and water conservation projects with repayment through property taxes.)
  • Participate in conservation programs for municipalities and broader public sector organizations offered by your local electricity and natural gas utilities to receive assistance for conservation projects, such as financial incentives, technical assistance and education.
  • Consider granting increases in height and density of development, in exchange for the provision of energy conservation and efficiency measures such as green roofs.

Conservation and Efficiency Support for Climate Change Mitigation

Conservation and energy efficiency reduces greenhouse gas emissions and can promote development that mitigates the impacts of climate change. These efforts can reduce energy use, greenhouse gas emissions and other air pollutants because there is less need to generate energy using fossil fuels. Improved air quality as a result of lower emissions can lead to better overall population health. For example, conservation efforts assisted the province in eliminating the need for coal-fired power plants in Ontario. Conservation of energy (e.g. electricity, natural gas) also reduces emissions related to its extraction and transportation.

Alternative and Renewable Energy for My Community

The PPS 2014 encourages planning authorities to provide opportunities for the development of renewable and alternative energy systems. This can help to match generation with local demand and offset local power demand.

Municipalities have a central role in ensuring Ontario has a clean energy supply by promoting local energy solutions. As such, the provincial government encourages municipalities to align energy, the built environment and land use planning; identify community-wide energy efficiency and green energy options; and support economic development opportunities. While it is important to note that renewable energy systems that generate electricity are generally exempt from the Planning Act, planning authorities can still plan for and promote renewable and alternative energy developments in a manner best suited for their communities. In addition, the new Large Renewable Procurement program respects municipal planning processes by restricting ground-mounted solar photovoltaic projects in Prime Agricultural Areas that are designated in a municipality’s current approved Official Plan.

Through municipal energy plans, local planning authorities can align energy infrastructure planning with land use planning within their communities.

The Ministry of Energy recognizes the value of community/municipal energy plans in reducing energy use and provides support to municipalities in developing community energy plans through the Municipal Energy Plan Program. The program supports municipalities’ efforts to better understand the community energy needs, identify opportunities for energy efficiency and clean energy, and develop plans to meet their goals, which can then be considered in regional and local planning processes. An important component of the enhanced regional electricity planning process is the consideration of local interests.

Taking Action

  • Apply to the Municipal Energy Plan (MEP) Program. A MEP is a comprehensive long-term plan to improve energy efficiency, reduce energy consumption and greenhouse gas emissions developed within the context of built environment, land use planning, growth planning, and generation and transmission infrastructure. The program supports municipalities’ efforts to better understand their local energy needs, identify opportunities for energy efficiency and clean energy, and develop plans to meet their goals.

The Energy Reporting and Conservation and Demand Management Plans regulation (O. Reg. 397/11) requires that municipalities and other public sector organizations, such as universities, school boards and hospitals, report their annual energy consumption and develop and implement five-year conservation and demand management plans that outline goals and objectives for reducing energy use. Municipalities can use their conservation plans to reduce the energy they use at their facilities and free up resources for their core activities. The regulation also requires BPS organizations to annually report to the Ministry on their energy use and greenhouse gas emissions and publish the reports on their websites.

The Ontario government is encouraging the development of renewable energy through an array of incentives, such as entering into fixed-term supply contracts through procurement programs administered by the Independent Electricity System Operator, technology and project development funds, and policies that support the use of Crown land and resources.

The microFIT program has been successful in distributing generation across the grid, which can help offset local power demand. The Ministry of Energy announced in its 2013 Long-Term Energy Plan that it will examine the potential for the microFIT program to evolve from a generation purchasing program to a net metering program. Net metering—which allows customers to send surplus electricity generated from renewable energy to their local distribution system for a credit towards their electricity bill— could help match generation with local demand and reduce local load and related infrastructure needs.

Benefits of Alternative and Renewable Energy Sources

  • A cleaner and more sustainable source of energy that reduces the amount of greenhouse gas emissions and increases resiliency to climate change impacts – while managing energy costs.
  • An increase in training and employment opportunities, alternative sources of income and investment in Ontario.
  • An opportunity for local community projects that are rooted in the community.
  • An energy source unaffected by global price fluctuations.
  • Opportunity to take advantage of global demand for renewable and alternative energy technologies and services.
  • An improved quality of life for all citizens of Ontario.

Taking Action

  • Conservation and Demand Management Plans can be used to demonstrate a municipality’s commitment to energy conservation.
  • Consider renewable and alternative energy options when developing Municipal Energy Plans.
  • Incorporate official plan policies that support co-generation, district energy plans and shared energy services.
  • Explore opportunities for energy conservation and generation.
  • Establish a community improvement plan for alternative energy systems and renewable energy systems, if eligible.

PPS 2014 Definitions

Alternative energy system: means a system that uses sources of energy or energy conversion processes to produce power, heat and/or cooling that significantly reduces the amount of harmful emissions to the environment (air, earth and water) when compared to conventional energy systems.

Renewable energy source: means an energy source that is renewed by natural processes and includes wind, water, biomass, biogas, biofuel, solar energy, geothermal energy and tidal forces.

Renewable energy system: means a system that generates electricity, heat and/or cooling from a renewable energy source.

For more information, contact:

Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing

Provincial Planning Policy Branch
(416) 585-6014
Website: www.ontario.ca/mah

Municipal Services Offices:

Central (Toronto)
(416) 585-6226 or 1-800-668-0230

West (London)
(519) 873-4020 or 1-800-265-4736

East (Kingston)
(613) 545-2100 or 1-800-267-9438

North (Sudbury)
(705) 564-0120 or 1-800-461-1193

North (Thunder Bay)
(807) 475-1651 or 1-800-465-5027

This Infosheet intends to assist participants in the land use planning process to understand the Provincial Policy Statement, 2014. As this Infosheet deals in summarized fashion with complex matters and reflects legislation, policies and practices that are subject to change, it should not be relied upon as a substitute for specialized legal or professional advice in connection with any particular matter. This Infosheet should not be construed as legal advice and the user is solely responsible for any use or the application of this Infosheet. Although this Infosheet has been carefully prepared, the Ministry does not accept any legal responsibility for the contents of this Infosheet or for any consequences, including direct or indirect liability, arising from its use.

Produced by the Ministry of Energy, Strategic Policy and Analytics Branch

ISBN  978-1-4606-4625-0  Print
ISBN  978-1-4606-4626-7  HTML
ISBN  978-1-4606-4627-4  PDF

Fiche d’information : Conservation, efficacité et fourniture de l’énergie

Télécharger Fiche d’information : Conservation, efficacité et fourniture de l’énergie [PDF 609 KB]

Printemps 2015

Déclaration de principes provinciale, 2014

La Déclaration de principes provinciale de 2014 (DPP 2014) fournit une orientation politique sur des questions d’intérêt provincial liées à l’aménagement du territoire. Elle a été faite aux termes de l’article 3 de la Loi sur l’aménagement du territoire et s’applique à toutes les décisions visées par l’exercice de pouvoirs qui touchent une question relative à l’aménagement à compter du 30 avril 2014.

La promotion de l’efficacité énergétique, de la conservation, des systèmes d’énergies renouvelables et de remplacement et des sources d’approvisionnement propres mixtes constitue un élément important de l’engagement du gouvernement à bâtir des collectivités fortes, saines et durables et à satisfaire aux besoins en énergie de tous les Ontariens. Il est impératif d’accroître l’efficacité énergétique, la conservation et l’énergie renouvelable pour réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre et lutter contre le changement climatique, tout en maîtrisant les coûts de l’énergie. Les politiques énoncées dans la DPP 2014 au sujet de la conservation de l’énergie, de l’efficacité et des systèmes d’énergie

renouvelable et de remplacement sont notamment celles-ci :

  • L’utilisation de systèmes d’énergie renouvelable et d’énergie de remplacement est encouragée lorsque cela est possible, conformément aux exigences provinciales et fédérales. (1.6.11.2)
  • On encouragera les économies d’énergie en fournissant des possibilités de développement de systèmes d’énergie renouvelable et de systèmes d’énergie de remplacement, y compris des systèmes énergétiques centralisés (1.7.1i)
  • On réduira au minimum les répercussions négatives du changement climatique en tenant compte des avantages écologiques offerts par la nature. (1.7.1j)
  • On appuiera les économies d’énergie et l’efficacité énergétique, une meilleure qualité de l’air, la réduction des émissions de gaz à effet de serre et l’adaptation au changement climatique grâce à des formes d’aménagement et d’utilisation du sol qui :
    1. maximisent les économies d’énergie et l’efficacité énergétique et tiennent compte des effets modérateurs de la végétation;
    2. maximisent les possibilités d’utilisation de systèmes d’énergie renouvelable et de systèmes d’énergie de remplacement. (1.8.1f)

Importance de la conservation et d’un approvisionnement propre pour la province

Alors que le gouvernement planifie les besoins de la province en électricité pour les 20 prochaines années, la conservation sera la première ressource à considérer avant de construire de nouvelles installations de production et de transport, et ce sera le choix à privilégier chaque fois qu’il est économiquement avantageux de le faire.

Le ministère de l’Énergie collabore avec ses organismes pour s’assurer qu’ils mettent la conservation au premier plan dans leurs processus de planification, d’approbation et d’approvisionnement. Il travaille également avec la Commission de l’énergie de l’Ontario afin d’intégrer la politique de priorité à la conservation de l’énergie dans les processus de planification de l’infrastructure de distribution des services publics d’électricité et de gaz naturel.

En donnant la priorité à la conservation de l’énergie, on veut protéger les contribuables tout en proposant des programmes de conservation rentables qui diminueront le besoin d’avoir recours à de nouvelles sources d’approvisionnement. La conservation de l’énergie et les systèmes d’énergie renouvelable sont des éléments importants de la brochette de sources d’énergie en Ontario. La conservation et les énergies renouvelables présentent d’importants avantages sur le plan environnemental; elles aident à lutter contre le changement climatique et à satisfaire la demande d’énergie dans la province. La conservation favorise également la croissance économique, car elle aide les familles et les entreprises à économiser de l’argent.

L’énergie centralisée représente une façon innovante pour les municipalités de promouvoir la conservation et l’efficacité énergétique dans les zones urbaines, de réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre et de maîtriser les coûts de l’énergie. L’énergie centralisée est une méthode de chauffage et de refroidissement des bâtiments à l’aide d’eau chauffée ou refroidie dans une centrale située dans la collectivité. Cela remplace les systèmes de chauffage et de refroidissement particuliers dans chaque logement.

La production distribuée constitue un élément important du Plan énergétique à long terme de l’Ontario. C’est une production localisée efficace à partir de petites sources d’électricité plus propres. Un système provincial d’énergie, diversifié et distribué, permet de produire l’énergie de façon locale, là où on en a besoin. Cette évolution a encouragé une participation élargie dans le marché de la production d’énergie, notamment par des municipalités, des communautés métisses et des Premières Nations, des propriétaires, des agriculteurs et de petites entreprises. Les possibilités actuelles pour le développement de nouveaux projets d’énergie renouvelable sont entre autres la bioénergie (p. ex. le biogaz agricole), l’hydroélectricité, l’énergie solaire et l’énergie éolienne.

Le saviez-vous?

Le Plan énergétique à long terme de l’Ontario :

  • intègre une politique de priorité à la conservation avant de construire de nouvelles installations de production et de transport;
  • fixe un objectif de conservation à long terme de 30 TWh en 2032;
  • fixe un objectif de satisfaire 10 % de la demande de pointe à l’aide d’un système de gestion de la demande d’ici à 2025.

L’efficacité énergétique pour une croissance efficace

La planification de la configuration physique et de la distribution de l’aménagement du territoire dans nos collectivités a une profonde influence sur la consommation et l’efficacité énergétiques. Des pratiques d’aménagement qui entraînent un clivage entre les utilisations d’emploi, de commerce au détail et de logement ont contribué à un développement inefficace. En revanche, une utilisation mixte des terrains et l’augmentation de la densité ont pour effet d’améliorer l’efficacité énergétique et de réduire les impacts négatifs sur la qualité de l’air et le changement climatique.

L’efficacité énergétique et la conservation de l’énergie sont réalisables quand on planifie l’aménagement des collectivités et des projets individuels. Par exemple, la conception du site ou de l’immeuble peut favoriser la conservation si l’on se soucie des matériaux utilisés ou de l’orientation du bâtiment. Des techniques d’aménagement paysager, comme l’utilisation d’arbres et de végétaux contre le vent et les rayons du soleil, sont également favorables à l’efficacité énergétique et à la conservation. De plus, l’optimisation de l’efficacité énergétique peut également encourager le développement économique à long terme en stimulant la productivité et la création d’emplois.

La DPP 2014 renforce les liens entre la planification des infrastructures énergétique et celle de l’aménagement des terres. Elle fait également la promotion d’une utilisation efficace et coordonnée des terres, des ressources, de l’infrastructure et des services publics dans les collectivités de l’Ontario.

Agir

  • Établir un programme local de rabais pour les investissements dans l’efficacité énergétique, afin que les propriétaires puissent recouvrer certains coûts sur leurs impôts fonciers. (Les administrations municipales peuvent offrir des rabais pour améliorations locales afin de compenser les coûts des projets d’efficacité énergétique, d’énergies renouvelables ou de conservation de l’eau par un remboursement d’impôts fonciers.)
  • Participer à des programmes de conservation pour les municipalités et les organisations du secteur parapublic offerts par les services publics locaux d’électricité et de gaz naturel afin de recevoir de l’aide pour des projets de conservation, comme les incitations financières, l’assistance technique et la diffusion d’information.
  • Envisager l’augmentation des hauteurs et densités de projets en échange de mesures de conservation et d’efficacité énergétique telles que les toits verts.

Conservation et efficacité pour atténuer les effets du changement climatique

La conservation et l’efficacité énergétique réduisent les émissions de gaz à effet de serre et peuvent promouvoir un développement qui atténue les impacts du changement climatique. Ces efforts peuvent réduire la consommation d’énergie, les émissions de gaz à effet de serre et d’autres polluants de l’air, en diminuant le besoin de produire de l’énergie à partir de combustibles fossiles. Une amélioration de la qualité de l’air avec la diminution des émissions peut favoriser la santé de la population en général. Par exemple, les efforts de conservation ont aidé la province à éliminer le besoin d’avoir des centrales au charbon. La conservation de l’énergie (électricité, gaz naturel) réduit également les émissions liées à l’extraction et au transport.

Énergie renouvelable et énergie de remplacement dans ma collectivité

La DPP 2014 encourage les autorités de planification à offrir des possibilités pour le développement de systèmes d’énergies renouvelables et d’énergies de remplacement. Cela peut aider à faire correspondre la production avec la demande locale et à compenser la demande d’électricité locale.



Les municipalités ont un rôle capital à jouer pour que l’Ontario dispose d’un approvisionnement en énergie propre, grâce à la promotion de solutions énergétiques locales. C’est pourquoi le gouvernement provincial encourage les municipalités à harmoniser la planification de l’énergie, de l’environnement bâti et de l’aménagement des terres, à repérer des solutions d’efficacité énergétique et d’énergie verte à l’échelle communautaire, et à appuyer les possibilités de développement économique. S’il est important de noter que les systèmes d’énergies renouvelables qui produisent de l’électricité sont généralement exemptés de la Loi sur l’aménagement du territoire, les autorités peuvent tout de même prévoir et promouvoir des projets d’énergies renouvelables et de remplacement qui conviennent le mieux à leur localité. En outre, le nouveau programme d’approvisionnement par grands projets de production d’énergie renouvelable respecte le processus de planification municipale puisqu’il limite les projets solaires photovoltaïques montés au sol dans les terres agricoles de premier ordre qui sont désignées dans le plan officiel approuvé d’une municipalité.

Grâce aux plans municipaux de consommation d’énergie, les autorités de planification locales peuvent harmoniser l’aménagement des infrastructures énergétiques avec celle des terres au sein de leur collectivité.

Le ministère de l’Énergie reconnaît la valeur de la planification énergétique communautaire ou municipale dans la réduction de la consommation d’énergie et fournit un soutien aux municipalités dans l’élaboration de plans énergétiques communautaires à travers le programme de Plan énergétique municipal (PEM). Le programme soutient les efforts déployés par les municipalités afin de mieux comprendre les besoins énergétiques communautaires, de trouver des moyens d’atteindre l’efficacité énergétique, d’avoir une énergie propre et d’élaborer des plans pour atteindre les objectifs communautaires, lesquels sont ensuite examinés dans le cadre des processus d’aménagement régional et local. L’examen des intérêts locaux constitue une composante importante du processus amélioré de planification régionale de la production d’électricité.

Agir

  • Faites une demande au Programme des plans énergétiques municipaux (PEM). Un PEM est un plan à long terme visant à améliorer l’efficacité énergétique et à réduire la consommation d’énergie et les émissions de gaz à effet de serre dans le contexte de l’environnement bâti, de l’aménagement du territoire, de la planification de la croissance et de l’infrastructure de production et de transport. Le programme soutient les efforts déployés par les municipalités afin de mieux comprendre les besoins énergétiques locaux, de trouver des moyens d’atteindre l’efficacité énergétique, d’avoir une énergie propre et d’élaborer des plans pour atteindre les objectifs communautaires.

Le Règlement de l’Ontario 397/11 – Plans de conservation de l’énergie et de gestion de la demande exige que les municipalités et autres organismes publics tels que les universités, les conseils scolaires et les hôpitaux déclarent leur consommation annuelle d’énergie et qu’ils rédigent et mettent en œuvre des plans quinquennaux de conservation et de gestion de la demande qui établissent des objectifs de réduction de la consommation d’énergie. Les municipalités peuvent utiliser leurs plans de conservation pour réduire l’énergie consommée dans leurs installations et libérer des ressources pour leurs activités de base. Le règlement exige également que les organismes du secteur parapublic déclarent annuellement au ministère leur consommation d’énergie et leurs émissions de gaz à effet de serre et qu’ils publient ces rapports dans leurs sites Web.

Le gouvernement de l’Ontario encourage le développement des énergies renouvelables grâce à un éventail de mesures incitatives telles que la conclusion de contrats à durée déterminée grâce à des programmes de passation des marchés administrés par la Société indépendante d’exploitation du réseau d’électricité, des fonds de technologie et de développement de projet, et les politiques qui appuient l’utilisation des terres et ressources de l’État.

Le programme de TRG pour les microprojets a permis de répartir la production dans tout le réseau, ce qui peut aider à couvrir la demande locale d’électricité. Le ministère de l’Énergie a annoncé dans son Plan énergétique à long terme de 2013 qu’il envisageait la possibilité que le programme de TRG ne soit plus un programme d’achat d’énergie produite, mais qu’il devienne un programme de mesurage net. Le mesurage net, qui permet aux clients d’envoyer des surplus d’électricité produite à partir d’énergies renouvelables à leur réseau local de distribution pour un crédit sur leur note d’électricité, pourrait aider à faire concorder la production avec la demande locale et à réduire la charge locale et les besoins connexes en infrastructures.

Avantages de sources d’énergie renouvelables et de remplacement

  • Une source plus propre et plus durable de l’énergie qui réduit le nombre d’émissions de gaz à effet de serre et augmente la résilience aux impacts du changement climatique – tout en maîtrisant les coûts énergétiques.
  • Un nombre accru de possibilités de formation et d’emploi, de nouvelles sources de revenu et d’investissements en Ontario.
  • La possibilité d’avoir des projets communautaires locaux qui sont enracinés dans la collectivité.
  • Une source d’énergie qui n’est pas touchée par les fluctuations des prix mondiaux.
  • La possibilité de profiter de la demande mondiale de technologies et de services énergétiques renouvelables et de remplacement.
  • Une meilleure qualité de vie pour tous les citoyens de l’Ontario.

Agir

  • Les plans de conservation et de gestion de la demande peuvent servir à démontrer l’engagement de la municipalité envers la conservation de l’énergie.
  • On peut envisager des options d’énergie renouvelable et de remplacement lors de l’élaboration des plans énergétiques municipaux.
  • On peut y intégrer des politiques du plan officiel qui soutiennent la production mixte, les plans énergétiques centralisés et les services énergétiques communs.
  • Les possibilités de conservation et de production d’énergie sont à explorer.
  • On peut dresser un plan d’améliorations communautaires comprenant des systèmes d’énergie de remplacement et d’énergie renouvelable, si possible.

Définitions de la DPP 2014

Système d’énergie de remplacement : Système qui produit de l’électricité, de la chaleur ou du froid au moyen de sources d’énergie ou de procédés de conversion énergétique qui donnent lieu à beaucoup moins d’émissions nocives pour l’environnement (air, terre et eau) que les systèmes d’énergie classiques.

Source d’énergie renouvelable : Source d’énergie qui se reconstitue naturellement, notamment l’énergie éolienne, l’énergie hydraulique, la biomasse, le biogaz, le biocarburant, l’énergie solaire, l’énergie géothermique et l’énergie marémotrice.

Système d’énergie renouvelable : Système produisant de l’électricité, de la chaleur ou du froid à partir d’une source d’énergie renouvelable.

Contacts :

Ministère des Affaires municipales et du Logement

Direction des politiques de planification provinciale

416 585-6014

Site Web : www.ontario.ca/mah

Bureaux des services aux municipalités :

Centre (Toronto)

416 585-6226 ou 1 800 668-0230

Ouest (London)

519 873-4020 ou 1 800 265-4736

Est (Kingston)

613 545-2100 ou 1 800 267-9438

Nord (Sudbury)

705 564-0120 ou 1 800 461-1193

Nord (Thunder Bay)

807 475-1651 ou 1 800 465-5027

Cette fiche d’information vise à aider les participants au processus d’aménagement du territoire à comprendre la Déclaration de principes provinciale de 2014. Comme cette fiche constitue un résumé de questions complexes et reflète des textes législatifs, des politiques et des pratiques susceptibles de modifications, elle ne doit pas servir à remplacer des conseils juridiques ou professionnels spécialisés portant sur une question particulière. Elle ne doit pas non plus être considérée comme fournissant des conseils juridiques; le lecteur est seul responsable de toute utilisation ou application de cette fiche d’information. Même si cette fiche a été soigneusement rédigée, le ministère n’accepte aucune responsabilité légale quant à son contenu ou relativement à toute conséquence, y compris toute responsabilité directe ou indirecte, découlant de son utilisation.

Produit par la Direction des politiques stratégiques et de l’analytique du ministère de l’Énergie

ISBN 978-1-4606-4625-0 Papier

ISBN 978-1-4606-4626-7 HTML

ISBN 978-1-4606-4627-4 PDF

Imprimeur de la Reine pour l’Ontario, 2014

Payé par le gouvernement de l’Ontario