Infosheet: Planning for Electricity Infrastructure

Download Infosheet: Planning for Electricity Infrastructure [PDF 532 KB]

Spring 2015

Provincial Policy Statement, 2014

The Provincial Policy Statement, 2014 (PPS 2014) provides policy direction on matters of provincial interest related to land use planning. It is issued under section 3 of the Planning Act and pertains to all decisions in respect of the exercise of any authority that affects a planning matter made on or after April 30, 2014.

The PPS 2014 reinforces the link between electricity infrastructure planning and land use planning. It also promotes the efficient and coordinated use of land, resources, infrastructure and public service facilities in Ontario communities. Electricity infrastructure policies in the PPS 2014 include:

  • Using a coordinated, integrated and comprehensive approach when dealing with a range of planning matters, including electricity generation facilities and transmission and distribution systems (1.2.1 d)
  • Coordinating and integrating planning for infrastructure and electricity generation facilities and transmission and distribution systems with land use planning so that they are financially viable over their life cycle and available to meet current and projected needs. (1.6.1)
  • Planning for and protecting corridors and rights-of-way for infrastructure, including transportation, transit and electricity generation facilities and transmission systems to meet current and projected needs. (1.6.8.1)
  • Not permitting development in planned corridors that could preclude or negatively affect the use of the corridor for the purpose(s) for which it was identified. (1.6.8.3)
  • Providing opportunities for the development of energy supply including electricity generation facilities and transmission and distribution systems, to accommodate current and projected needs. (1.6.11.1)
  • Promoting renewable energy systems and alternative energy systems, where feasible, in accordance with provincial and federal requirements. (1.6.11.2)
  • Optimizing the long-term availability and use of land, resources, infrastructure, electricity generation facilities and transmission and distribution systems, and public service facilities to support long-term economic prosperity. (1.7.1 b)

The Importance of Planning for Electricity to the Province

Clean, affordable and reliable electricity is essential to communities and for a dynamic and innovative business climate – and stronger linkages between electricity planning and land use planning are critical to meet these objectives.

A key objective of the PPS 2014 is to ensure that planning for infrastructure is included in municipalities’ land use plans in order to meet the projected needs of the community. This includes planning for electricity infrastructure in a coordinated, efficient and cost-effective manner that accommodates projected needs.

Did you know?

In 2013, the Ontario Energy Board (OEB) introduced changes to the electricity planning process that focused on identifying regional electricity needs, and any resulting conservation and demand management (CDM), generation, or transmission and distribution planning options. The changes enhanced the process by ensuring that transmitters, distributors and the Independent Electricity System Operator (IESO) work together to identify solutions to electricity needs. See the Planning for Electricity Needs in Ontario section for an outline of this process.

In the same year, the former Ontario Power Authority and the IESO recommended changes to the planning process in a report, “Engaging Local Communities in Ontario’s Electricity Planning Continuum”. These changes enhance how regional electricity planning and siting is carried out in the province, in particular by:

  • Bringing communities to the table, ensuring early and sustained engagement with municipalities, First Nation and Métis communities, and the public;
  • Linking local and provincial planning, providing local governments and communities with a greater voice and responsibility in planning and siting; and
  • Reinforcing the planning continuum.

Better coordination with other infrastructure projects and earlier involvement of the local community can also improve the planning and siting process for electricity infrastructure, and result in greater benefits for communities. Ontario’s 2013 Long-Term Energy Plan confirmed that municipalities and Aboriginal communities will be encouraged to develop their own community energy plans to identify conservation opportunities and infrastructure priorities.

This Infosheet is intended to complement the PPS 2014. It provides an overview of Ontario’s electricity system and the formalized regional electricity planning process to support the integration of electricity needs into local plans.

How Does Ontario’s Electricity System Work?

Electricity planning in Ontario begins with a forecast of electricity demand. Electricity system planners must ensure that there is sufficient electricity to meet peak demand conditions efficiently and reliably. To meet demand, system planners consider a variety of electricity supply resources, existing or planned conservation efforts, enhancements to transmission and distribution networks that could help meet this need.

Transmission and distribution networks form the backbone of the province’s electricity system as they link electricity consumers with power generators. There is a need to sustain and renew the existing assets, connect new loads and adapt to changing requirements that includes closure of major generation facilities, and the connection of new renewable resources and distributed generation.

Transmission infrastructure has long development timelines and durable assets that can last 40-50 years or more. The transmission system is comprised of high voltage lines, towers, transformers and other equipment used to transport electricity at voltages above 50 kilovolts (kV). Power generators, large industrial consumers and local distribution companies (LDCs) typically connect directly to the transmission system.

Electricity delivery to homes, businesses, schools and hospitals takes place at the distribution system level and is the responsibility of LDCs. The distribution system delivers electricity on lower-voltage networks operating at 50 kV and below. Like other power system facility owners, LDCs face challenges and opportunities associated with growth and urbanization, incorporating increased local generation, managing aging infrastructure and adopting new technologies.

Planning for Electricity Needs in Ontario

Regional planning is a process for identifying and meeting local electricity needs and maintaining reliable system-wide electricity supply. It starts with identifying electricity needs for a region and then investigating options to address those needs including CDM, local generation, and transmission and distribution.

A key objective of the PPS 2014 is to ensure that planning for infrastructure, including electricity generation facilities and transmission and distributions systems, will be included in municipalities’ land use plans so that the infrastructure meets the projected needs of the community. Both ongoing engagement and reports produced through the regional planning process can inform this planning.

This emphasis on coordination was also demonstrated when the OEB and the province made changes to its electricity planning process in 2013.

There are 21 electricity regions in Ontario, as identified by an OEB working group for electricity planning purposes. Regions often include more than one municipality and more than one LDC. By 2018, the electricity needs in all 21 regions in Ontario will have been assessed, initiated by each region’s transmitter (e.g. Hydro One).


21 Electricity Regions in Ontario

The Needs Screening process is the first formal step of the regional planning process, and is led by the lead transmitter for the region. Forecasts that feed into a Needs Screening report are informed by growth, land use and other plans.

If the Needs Screening report indicates that coordinated regional planning is required, a Scoping Assessment is triggered. The IESO leads this phase of the planning process. It works with regional participants, including LDCs and transmitters, to determine the types of solutions that will need to be considered in order to meet electricity needs in the region.

There are two types of regional electricity plans that are used in the planning process:

  • A Regional Infrastructure Plan (RIP) identifies “wires-only” solutions and outlines transmission and distribution infrastructure options to meet electricity needs.
  • An Integrated Regional Resource Plan (IRRP) identifies and assesses “integrated” solutions that consider CDM, generation, or wires options to meet needs in a way that balances local interests with cost effectiveness. A regional plan focuses on near- mid- and long-term needs over the next 20 years

An overview of the regional planning process is illustrated in Figure 1.

Figure 1. Regional Planning Process

Municipal involvement and public participation is a cornerstone of the planning process. Input on integrated solution options, coordinated by the IESO, will be sought from municipalities, First Nations and Métis in the region through meetings and communications.

The IESO will also establish a Local Advisory Committee (LAC) in regions where an IRRP is being developed or where communities have expressed interest in exploring greater self-sufficiency in meeting their electricity needs. The primary role of a LAC is to provide advice on the IRRP and siting of large infrastructure. LACs are also a forum for members to be informed of and provide input on regional planning and siting activities within the community; this includes municipal, business and other community members.

The electricity needs of the regions will be revisited at least once every 5 years. Plans can be revisited sooner if unforeseen events warrant an earlier update.

Regional electricity plans may identify new or existing land use requirements. It is important for all parties to look for opportunities to coordinate with other infrastructure, as appropriate.

Regional electricity plans promote the principle of Conservation First, and consider local plans – including municipal or community energy plans, that identify both conservation opportunities and infrastructure priorities – while also considering other cost-effective solutions such as new supply, transmission and distribution investments.

See the PPS Infosheet on Energy Conservation, Efficiency and Supply for further information on managing energy needs.

Figure 1. Regional Planning Process

Linking Electricity Planning and Land Use Planning

Municipalities play a key role in linking the regional electricity planning and land use planning processes.

Municipalities will be engaged early in the regional electricity planning process and have several opportunities to provide input, including:

  • Providing approved growth forecasts to their local distribution company.
  • Providing information on municipal or community energy plans.
  • As a nominated member of a Local Advisory Committee.

In addition to proactively planning for electricity needs, municipalities should refer to regional electricity plans when developing or updating Official Plans, municipal or community energy plans.

The Ministry of Energy recognizes the value of community/municipal energy planning in reducing energy use and provides support to municipalities in developing community energy plans through the Municipal Energy Plan (MEP) program. A MEP is a comprehensive long-term plan to improve energy efficiency, reduce energy consumption and greenhouse gas emissions developed within the context of the built environment, land use planning, growth planning, and generation and transmission infrastructure. The program supports municipalities’ efforts to better understand community energy needs, identify opportunities for energy efficiency and clean energy, and develop plans to meet community goals. MEPs also support regional planning processes.

Planning Across: Coordinating Infrastructure, Protecting Corridors

Greater coordination of infrastructure planning between the province, municipalities and the electricity sector also helps to ensure that land is available for electricity infrastructure that will help meet local and regional needs.

Long-term electricity planning may also involve collaboration with other planning agencies that provide for other types of infrastructure, like roads, water and sewage.

The PPS 2014 provides direction to ensure that electricity generation facilities and transmission systems are planned in a way that mitigates adverse effects, and ensures their long-term viability.

It also directs planning authorities to plan for and protect corridors and rights-of-way for infrastructure, including electricity generation and transmission systems. This includes direction against permitting development in planned corridors that could preclude or negatively affect the intended use of the corridor.

Taking Action

  • Be aware that changes in the municipality may impact electricity needs (new subdivisions, industry needs, or upcoming approved energy projects, for example).
  • Find out what your community needs or wants – is there an interest in developing a plan to reduce energy use? Are any community energy plans completed or underway?
  • Apply to the Municipal Energy Plan Program.
  • Find out if the IESO, transmitters and LDCs have a regional plan established or in development in your community.
  • Contact your LDC to find out where electricity infrastructure may need to go; consider how this can be reflected in your municipality’s Official Plan.

PPS 2014 Definitions

Infrastructure: means physical structures (facilities and corridors) that form the foundation for development. It includes electricity generation facilities, electricity transmission and distribution systems, and oil and gas pipelines and associated facilities.

Major facilities: mean facilities that may require separation from sensitive land uses, including oil and gas pipelines, energy generation facilities and transmission systems.

Planned corridors: mean corridors or future corridors which are required to meet projected needs and are identified through provincial plans, preferred alignment(s) determined through the Environmental Assessment Act process, or identified through planning studies where the Ontario Ministry of Transportation is actively pursuing the identification of a corridor. Approaches for the protection of planned corridors may be recommended in guidelines developed by the Province.

For more information, visit:

For more information on regional electricity planning see OEB, IESO and Hydro One websites.

For more information on energy policies, the Province’s Long-Term Energy Plan or the Municipal Energy Plan Program, see the ministry’s websites:

For more information, contact:

Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing

Provincial Planning Policy Branch
(416) 585-6014

Municipal Services Offices:

Central (Toronto)
(416) 585-6226 or 1-800-668-0230

West (London)
(519) 873-4020 or 1-800-265-4736

East (Kingston)
(613) 545-2100 or 1-800-267-9438

North (Sudbury)
(705) 564-0120 or 1-800-461-1193

North (Thunder Bay)
(807) 475-1651 or 1-800-465-5027

This Infosheet intends to assist participants in the land use planning process to understand the Provincial Policy Statement, 2014. As this Infosheet deals in summarized fashion with complex matters and reflects legislation, policies and practices that are subject to change, it should not be relied upon as a substitute for specialized legal or professional advice in connection with any particular matter. This Infosheet should not be construed as legal advice and the user is solely responsible for any use or the application of this Infosheet. Although this Infosheet has been carefully prepared, the Ministry does not accept any legal responsibility for the contents of this Infosheet or for any consequences, including direct or indirect liability, arising from its use.

Produced by the Ministry of Energy, Strategic Policy and Analytics Branch

ISBN  978-1-4606-4631-1  Print
ISBN  978-1-4606-4632-8  HTML
ISBN  978-1-4606-4633-5  PDF

Queen’s Printer for Ontario, 2014

Paid for by the Government of Ontario

Fiche d’information : La planification de l’infrastructure pour l’électricité

Télécharger Fiche d’information : La planification de l’infrastructure pour l’électricité [PDF 577 KB]

Printemps 2015

Déclaration de principes provinciale, 2014

La Déclaration de principes provinciale de 2014 (DPP 2014) fournit une orientation politique sur des questions d’intérêt provincial liées à l’aménagement du territoire. Elle a été faite aux termes de l’article 3 de la Loi sur l’aménagement du territoire et s’applique à toutes les décisions visées par l’exercice de pouvoirs qui touchent une question relative à l’aménagement à compter du 30 avril 2014.

La DPP 2014 renforce le lien entre la planification de l’infrastructure électrique et l’aménagement du territoire. Elle fait également la promotion d’une utilisation efficace et coordonnée des terres, des ressources, de l’infrastructure et des services publics dans les collectivités de l’Ontario. Voici un aperçu des politiques énoncées dans la DPP 2014 qui concernent l’infrastructure électrique :

  • Une méthode coordonnée, intégrée et complète est utilisée pour régler différentes questions d’aménagement du territoire, y compris les installations de production d’électricité et les réseaux de transport et de distribution d’électricité. (1.2.1 d)
  • La planification de l’infrastructure, des installations de production d’électricité et des réseaux de transport et de distribution d’électricité est coordonnée et intégrée à l’aménagement du territoire afin qu’ils soient viables financièrement tout au long de leur cycle de vie et en mesure de répondre aux besoins actuels et futurs. (1.6.1)
  • Les couloirs et les emprises de l’infrastructure, y compris les installations de production d’électricité et les réseaux de transport et de distribution d’électricité, sont planifiés et protégés afin de répondre aux besoins actuels et futurs. (1.6.8.1)
  • Dans les couloirs planifiés, les aménagements susceptibles d’empêcher ou de compromettre leur utilisation aux fins prévues sont interdits. (1.6.8.3)
  • Des possibilités de développement de l’offre d’énergie sont prévues, y compris des installations de production d’électricité et des réseaux de transport et de distribution d’électricité, afin de répondre aux besoins actuels et prévus. (1.6.11.1)
  • L’utilisation de systèmes d’énergie renouvelable et d’énergie de remplacement est encouragée lorsque cela est possible, conformément aux exigences provinciales et fédérales. (1.6.11.2)
  • La prospérité économique à long terme est soutenue grâce à la disponibilité et à l’utilisation à long terme des terres, ressources, infrastructures, installations de production d’électricité, installations de services publics et réseaux de transport et de distribution d’électricité. (1.7.1 b)

L’importance de la planification de l’électricité pour la province

Une électricité propre, abordable et fiable est essentielle pour les collectivités et afin d’offrir un environnement commercial dynamique et innovant. Pour atteindre ces objectifs, il est impératif de renforcer les liens entre la planification de l’électricité et l’aménagement du territoire.

Un objectif clé de la DPP 2014 consiste à inclure la planification de l’infrastructure dans les plans d’aménagement du territoire qui sont dressés par les municipalités pour répondre aux besoins prévus de la collectivité. Pour ce, il faut planifier l’infrastructure de l’électricité d’une manière coordonnée, efficace et rentable et capable d’être adaptée aux besoins prévus.

Le saviez-vous?

En 2013, la Commission de l’énergie de l’Ontario (CEO) a introduit des changements au processus de planification de l’électricité en ce qui concerne l’établissement des besoins en électricité dans les régions et les options résultantes de conservation et de gestion de la demande (CGD), de production, de transport et de distribution. Ces changements ont rendu le processus plus efficace, puisque les transporteurs, les distributeurs et la Société indépendante d’exploitation du réseau d’électricité (SIERE) ont collaboré à la recherche de solutions aux besoins en électricité. La section consacrée à la planification de besoins en électricité de l’Ontario contient des précisions à ce sujet.

La même année, dans leur rapport intitulé « Engaging Local Communities in Ontario’s Electricity Planning Continuum », l’ancien Office de l’électricité de l’Ontario et la SIERE ont recommandé des modifications au processus de planification. Celles-ci améliorent la planification et l’implantation régionales des infrastructures d’électricité dans la province en utilisant notamment les outils suivants :

  • Inviter les collectivités à participer à la discussion, ce qui permettra de bénéficier d’un engagement précoce et soutenu avec les municipalités, les communautés métisses et des Premières Nations et le public.
  • Établir des liens entre les activités de planification à l’échelle locale et provinciale, donnant aux administrations et collectivités locales des possibilités de s’exprimer et de participer davantage à la planification et l’implantation.
  • Renforcer le continuum de la planification.

Une meilleure coordination avec d’autres projets d’infrastructure et une participation précoce de la collectivité locale peuvent également renforcer le processus de planification et d’implantation des infrastructures d’électricité, et se traduire par de plus grands avantages pour les collectivités. Le Plan énergétique à long terme de l’Ontario (2013) a confirmé que les municipalités et les collectivités autochtones seraient encouragées à élaborer leurs propres plans énergétiques communautaires pour cerner les possibilités de conservation et les priorités d’infrastructure.

La présente fiche d’information est un complément à la DPP 2014. Elle donne un aperçu du réseau d’électricité de l’Ontario et du processus officiel de planification régionale de l’électricité afin de soutenir l’intégration des besoins en électricité dans les plans locaux.

Comment fonctionne le système d’électricité de l’Ontario?

La planification de l’électricité en Ontario commence par une prévision de la demande d’électricité. Les planificateurs du système d’électricité doivent veiller à ce qu’il y ait suffisamment d’électricité pour répondre aux conditions de la demande de pointe de manière efficace et fiable. Pour répondre à la demande, les planificateurs du système considèrent une variété de sources d’approvisionnement en électricité, les efforts de conservation actuels ou prévus, et des améliorations aux réseaux de transport et de distribution qui pourraient aider à répondre à ce besoin.

Les réseaux de transport et de distribution constituent l’épine dorsale du système d’électricité de la province : ils relient les consommateurs d’électricité avec les producteurs de celle-ci. Il faut maintenir et renouveler les biens existants, brancher de nouvelles charges et évoluer avec les exigences changeantes, notamment la fermeture de grandes installations de production et la connexion de nouvelles ressources renouvelables et d’une production décentralisée.

L’infrastructure de transport présente de longs délais de développement et comporte des biens durables qui peuvent durer de 40 à 50 ans ou plus. Le réseau de transport est composé de lignes à haute tension, de tours, de transformateurs et d’autres équipements utilisés pour le transport de l’électricité à des tensions supérieures à 50 kilovolts (kV). En général, les producteurs d’électricité, les grands consommateurs industriels et les entreprises locales de distribution (ELD) se branchent directement sur le réseau de transport.

Relevant de la responsabilité des ELD, la livraison de l’électricité aux maisons, entreprises, écoles et hôpitaux dépend du réseau de distribution. Le réseau de distribution fournit de l’électricité sur les réseaux à basse tension, de 50 kV ou moins. À l’instar des autres propriétaires d’installations électriques, les ELD sont confrontées à des défis et à des possibilités associés à la croissance et à l’urbanisation, y compris l’augmentation de la production locale, la gestion de l’infrastructure vieillissante et l’adoption de nouvelles technologies.

Planification des besoins en électricité de l’Ontario

L’aménagement du territoire est un processus qui permet de cerner les besoins locaux en électricité, d’y répondre et de maintenir un approvisionnement en électricité fiable à l’échelle du système. Cela commence par la détermination des besoins en électricité d’une région et l’étude des options pour répondre à ces besoins, y compris la CGD, la production locale, le transport et la distribution.

Un objectif clé de la DPP 2014 consiste à s’assurer que la planification de l’infrastructure, y compris les installations de production et les réseaux de transport et de distribution, sera incluse dans les plans d’aménagement des municipalités afin que l’infrastructure réponde aux besoins prévus de la collectivité. L’engagement continu et les rapports produits par le processus de planification régionale peuvent informer cet exercice.

Cet accent sur la coordination a également été mis en évidence lorsque la CEO et la province ont apporté des changements au processus de planification de l’électricité en 2013.

Il existe 21 régions de l’électricité en Ontario; elles ont été désignées par un groupe de travail de la CEO à des fins de planification de l’électricité. Les régions comprennent souvent plus d’une municipalité et plus d’une ELD. En 2018, les besoins en électricité dans les 21 régions de l’Ontario auront été évalués à l’initiative du transporteur de chaque région (par exemple Hydro One).

21 régions de l’électricité en Ontario

La détermination des besoins est la première étape officielle du processus de planification régionale sous l’impulsion du transporteur principal de la région. Les prévisions qui alimentent le rapport conséquent sont éclairées par le plan de croissance ou d’aménagement et d’autres plans.

Si ce rapport indique qu’une planification régionale coordonnée est nécessaire, une évaluation de la portée est déclenchée. La SIERE mène cette phase du processus de planification, en collaboration avec les participants régionaux, y compris les ELD et les transporteurs, afin de déterminer les types de solutions qui devront être prises en compte afin de répondre aux besoins en électricité dans la région.

Il existe deux types de plans régionaux d’électricité qui sont utilisés dans le processus de planification :

  • Un plan d’infrastructure régional (PIR) décrit des solutions limitées aux lignes de distribution et les options d’infrastructure de transport et de distribution pour répondre aux besoins en électricité.
  • Un plan régional de ressources intégrées (PRRI) nomme et évalue les solutions « intégrées » qui tiennent compte des options de CGD, de production ou de lignes de transport qui répondent aux besoins d’une manière qui concilie intérêts locaux et rentabilité. Un plan régional est axé sur les besoins à court, moyen et long terme des 20 prochaines années.

On trouvera à la figure 1 un aperçu du processus de planification régionale.

La participation des municipalités et celle du public constituent les pierres angulaires du processus de planification. Les municipalités, Premières Nations et Métis de la région seront invités à donner leur avis sur les solutions intégrées possibles lors de réunions et de communications coordonnées par la SIERE.

La SIERE mettra également sur pied un comité consultatif local (CCL) dans les régions où un PRRI est en cours d’élaboration et où les collectivités ont exprimé leur désir d’explorer une plus grande autonomie pour répondre à leurs besoins en électricité. Le rôle principal d’un CCL est de fournir des conseils sur le PRRI et l’implantation des grandes infrastructures. Les CCL sont également un forum pour que les membres puissent être informés et donner leur avis sur les activités d’aménagement du territoire et d’implantation au sein de la collectivité; cela comprend les membres des administrations municipales, des entreprises et d’autres membres de la collectivité.

Les besoins en électricité des régions seront revus au moins une fois tous les cinq ans. Les plans peuvent être revus plus tôt si des événements imprévus justifient une mise à jour anticipée.

Les plans régionaux d’électricité peuvent décrire les exigences nouvelles ou existantes d’utilisation des terres. Il est important pour toutes les parties de chercher des occasions de se coordonner avec d’autres infrastructures, le cas échéant.

Les plans régionaux de l’électricité font la promotion du principe de la conservation d’abord et tiennent compte des plans locaux – y compris les plans énergétiques municipaux ou communautaires, qui désignent les possibilités de conservation et les priorités d’infrastructure – tout en proposant d’autres solutions économiques telles que les nouveaux investissements dans l’approvisionnement, le transport et la distribution.

La fiche de renseignements de la DPP sur la conservation de l’énergie, l’efficacité et l’approvisionnement contient des renseignements sur la gestion des besoins en énergie.

Figure 1. Processus de planification régionale

Figure 1. Processus de planification régionale

Lien entre la planification de l’électricité et l’aménagement du territoire

Les municipalités jouent un rôle clé dans la coordination des processus de planification régionale de l’électricité et de planification de l’aménagement des terres.

Les municipalités seront engagées dès le début du processus de planification régionale de l’électricité et ont plusieurs occasions de participer, y compris :

  • Fournir des prévisions de croissance approuvées à leur société de distribution locale.
  • Fournir des informations sur les plans municipaux ou énergétiques communautaires.
  • Faire office de membre nommé d’un comité consultatif local.

En plus de planifier de manière proactive les besoins en électricité, les municipalités doivent se référer aux plans régionaux d’électricité lors de l’élaboration ou de la mise à jour des plans officiels, municipaux ou énergétiques communautaires.

Le ministère de l’Énergie reconnaît la valeur de la planification énergétique communautaire ou municipale dans la réduction de la consommation d’énergie et fournit un soutien aux municipalités dans l’élaboration de plans énergétiques communautaires à travers le programme de Plan énergétique municipal (PEM). Un PEM est un plan à long terme visant à améliorer l’efficacité énergétique et à réduire la consommation d’énergie et les émissions de gaz à effet de serre dans le contexte de l’environnement bâti, de l’aménagement du territoire, de la planification de la croissance et de l’infrastructure de production et de transport. Le programme soutient les efforts déployés par les municipalités afin de mieux comprendre les besoins énergétiques communautaires, de trouver des moyens d’atteindre l’efficacité énergétique, d’avoir une énergie propre et d’élaborer des plans pour atteindre les objectifs communautaires. Les PEM favorisent également les processus de planification régionaux.

Planification globale : Coordination de l’infrastructure, protection des couloirs

Une meilleure coordination de la planification des infrastructures entre la province, les municipalités et le secteur de l’électricité contribue également à veiller à la disponibilité des terres pour les infrastructures d’électricité permettant de répondre aux besoins locaux et régionaux.

La planification de l’électricité à long terme peut également nécessiter une collaboration avec des organismes de planification qui prévoient d’autres types d’infrastructures, comme les routes ou les conduites d’eau potable et d’eaux usées.

La DPP 2014 fournit des directives pour que les installations de production d’électricité et les réseaux de transport soient aménagés d’une manière qui atténue les effets indésirables et assure leur pérennité.

Elle prévoit également que les autorités de planification doivent planifier et protéger les couloirs et emprises pour les infrastructures, y compris celles de production et de transport d’électricité. Cela comprend la directive contre le développement dans les couloirs prévus qui pourrait empêcher ou affecter négativement l’utilisation prévue du couloir.

Agir

  • Il faut savoir que les changements dans la municipalité peuvent avoir un impact sur les besoins en électricité (nouveaux lotissements, besoins de l’industrie, futurs projets approuvés énergétiques…).
  • Découvrez quels sont les besoins ou souhaits de votre collectivité – par exemple, un plan pour réduire la consommation d’énergie? Y a-t-il des plans énergétiques communautaires terminés ou en cours?
  • Faites une demande au Programme des plans énergétiques municipaux.
  • Découvrez si la SIERE, les transporteurs et les ELD ont un plan régional déjà implanté ou en cours d’élaboration dans votre collectivité.
  • Contactez votre ELD pour savoir où les infrastructures d’électricité pourraient devoir s’installer; réfléchissez aux répercussions sur le plan officiel de votre municipalité.

Définitions de la DPP 2014

Infrastructure : Structures physiques (installations et couloirs) qui constituent la base de l’aménagement. Cela comprend les installations de production d’électricité, les réseaux de transport et de distribution de l’électricité, les oléoducs et les gazoducs, ainsi que les installations connexes.

Grandes installations : Installations qui doivent, dans certains cas, être séparées des utilisations sensibles du sol, notamment les oléoducs et les gazoducs, les installations de production d’énergie et les réseaux de transport.

Couloirs planifiés : Couloirs ou futurs couloirs nécessaires pour répondre aux besoins prévus et qui sont relevés dans des plans provinciaux, des tracés préférés déterminés par l’intermédiaire du processus aux termes de la Loi sur les évaluations environnementales ou par l’intermédiaire d’études d’aménagement dans le cadre desquelles le ministère des Transports de l’Ontario recherche activement la détermination d’un couloir. Les méthodes de protection des couloirs planifiés peuvent être recommandées dans des lignes directrices établies par la province.

Pour plus d’informations

Pour plus d’informations sur la planification régionale de l’électricité, visitez les sites de la CEO, de la SIERE et d’Hydro One (en anglais) :

Pour plus d’informations sur les politiques de l’énergie, le Plan énergétique à long terme de la province ou le programme des plans municipaux énergétiques, consultez les sites Web du ministère.

Contacts :

Ministère des Affaires municipales et du Logement

Direction des politiques provinciales d’aménagement
416 585-6014

Bureaux des services aux municipalités :

Centre (Toronto)
416 585-6226 ou 1 800 668-0230

Ouest (London)
519 873-4020 ou 1 800 265-4736