Ontario’s Electricity System

Ontario needs a reliable, efficient and clean electricity system that comes from a number of sources. Learn where your energy comes from and how the province is building a cleaner energy future in Ontario’s Long-Term Energy Plan.

asd
Text version

In general, the only time we sit up and take notice of the electricity we use happens when the utility bill comes in the mail or on the rare occasion when there is a power outage.

But there are good reasons—three, in fact—to be “in the know” about your electricity system.

Frequently Asked Questions on Ontario’s Electricity System

Nuclear

Nuclear energy is part of Ontario’s balanced plan to make sure we have safe, clean, reliable and affordable electricity for years to come.

Nuclear reactors, which produce heat by splitting uranium atoms, do the same job as typical power sources. They produce heat to change water into steam. The steam spins a turbine or generator to make electricity. Instead of coal, oil or natural gas, Ontario’s nuclear reactors use natural uranium in CANDU reactors.

Natural Gas

Natural gas is a mix of methane and other gases found underground. Ontario has a small amount of natural gas Most of the province’s supply comes from Saskatchewan, Alberta and British Columbia.

You can use natural gas for many things. In Ontario we commonly use it to heat our homes and businesses. You can also make electricity from natural gas.

Renewables: Hydroelectricity, Wind, Solar, Bioenergy

Hydroelectricity

Hydroelectricity also called water power, uses energy made from falling or flowing water. It is a reliable, clean, local and naturally recurring source of energy.

Water power has been helping to fuel Ontario’s growth for over 100 years and is the backbone of our renewable energy supply. Water power accounts for about 26 per cent of the province’s electricity supply. There are about 250 water power facilities province-wide with a total installed capacity of more than 8,400 megawatts.

Wind Power

Wind power is one of the fastest-growing sources of electricity in the world. It is a completely sustainable and clean form of energy. It has the potential to provide a large amount of Ontario’s energy needs.

Using the wind for local power generation is not new. In the 1930s more than 600,000 windmills were used in rural areas. These windmills made electricity and pumped water on farms across Canada and the United States.

Solar Energy

Solar energy is free and there is an endless supply. Only a small amount of the energy from the sun hits Earth but it’s enough to provide lots of power. This clean source of energy is a good addition to normal and non-renewable sources of energy such as coal, oil and natural gas.

Solar photovoltaic technology converts the sun’s rays into electricity. It uses silicon, the semiconductor used in computers, to generate electricity.

Bioenergy

Bioenergy is a form of renewable energy that uses organic and waste products from farming to make heat and create electrical energy.

Biomass uses organic materials such as plants and animal waste. These products can be burned in their original forms or in pellets.

Biogas is made by fermenting organic materials such as manure and other agricultural wastes.

Coal

Coal plants convert this fossil fuel into electricity, releasing greenhouse gases and polluting the air. According to a 2005 study prepared for the government, the health-related damages of coal could top $3 billion a year. Ontario plans to end coal-fired generation by 2014 and move to cleaner sources of electricity like wind, solar and bioenergy.

Learn More


What Is a Kilowatt Hour?

How does electricity get to me?

How is electricity made?

Le réseau d’électricité de l’Ontario

L’Ontario a besoin d’un système d’électricité fiable, rentable et propre alimenté par plusieurs sources. Voyez d’où vient l’énergie et comment la province prépare un avenir énergétique plus propre dans le Plan énergétique à long terme de l’Ontario.

Le réseau électrique de l'Ontario
Version texte

En général, le seul moment où nous prenons le temps de réfléchir à notre consommation d’électricité est quand nous recevons la facture ou dans les rares cas de panne de courant.

Mais il y a de bonnes raisons, trois en fait, pour connaître notre système d’électricité.

Foire aux questions sur le réseau d’électricité de l’Ontario

Nucléaire

L’énergie nucléaire fait partie du plan équilibré de l’Ontario visant à nous assurer de l’électricité propre, fiable et abordable pendant des années.

Les réacteurs nucléaires, qui produisent de la chaleur en fragmentant des atomes d’uranium, font le même travail que les sources typiques d’énergie. La chaleur transforme l’eau en vapeur, et à son tour, la vapeur fait tourner une turbine ou une génératrice pour produire de l’électricité. Au lieu du charbon, du pétrole ou du gaz naturel, les réacteurs nucléaires CANDU de l’Ontario fonctionnent à l’uranium naturel.

Gaz naturel

Le gaz naturel est une combinaison de méthane et d’autres gaz qui se trouvent naturellement en sous-sol. L’Ontario a une petite quantité de gaz naturel et s’approvisionne surtout en Saskatchewan, en Alberta et en Colombie-Britannique.

Le gaz naturel a de nombreux emplois. En Ontario, nous l’utilisons communément pour chauffer nos maisons et nos entreprises. Il peut aussi servir à produire de l’électricité.

Sources renouvelables : hydroélectricité, vent, soleil, bioénergie

Hydroélectricité

L’hydroélectricité, aussi appelée énergie hydroélectrique, est l’énergie produite par une chute ou un cours d’eau. C’est une source d’énergie fiable, propre, locale qui se renouvelle naturellement.

L’énergie hydroélectrique contribue à la croissance de l’Ontario depuis plus de 100 ans et est le pilier de notre réserve d’énergie renouvelable. Elle représente environ 26 pour cent de la réserve provinciale d’électricité. Les quelques 250 centrales hydroélectriques de la province totalisent une puissance installée de plus de 8 400 mégawatts.

Énergie éolienne

L’énergie éolienne est une des sources d’électricité les plus grandissantes dans le monde. C’est une source d’énergie entièrement propre et durable qui pourrait combler une grande partie des besoins énergétiques de l’Ontario.

Elle est utilisée depuis longtemps pour produire de l’électricité locale. Dans les années 1930, il y avait plus de 600 000 éoliennes dans les campagnes. Elles produisaient de l’électricité et pompaient l’eau dans des fermes du Canada et des États-Unis.

Énergie solaire

L’énergie solaire est gratuite et illimitée. Une petite partie seulement des rayons du soleil arrivent sur Terre mais elle suffit à produire beaucoup d’électricité. Cette source propre d’énergie est un bon supplément aux sources normales et non renouvelables comme le charbon, le pétrole et le gaz naturel.

La technologie solaire photovoltaïque convertit les rayons du soleil en électricité. Elle utilise du silicium, le semi-conducteur employé dans les ordinateurs, pour produire de l’électricité.

Bioénergie

La bioénergie est une forme d’énergie renouvelable qui emploie des matières organiques et des déchets agricoles pour produire de la chaleur puis de l’électricité.

La biomasse est constituée de matières organiques comme des plantes et des déchets animaux qui peuvent être brûlés dans leur état original ou sous forme de granulés.

Le biogaz provient de matières organiques fermentées comme le fumier et d’autres déchets agricoles.

Charbon

Les centrales à charbon convertissent ce combustible fossile en électricité, processus qui libère des gaz à effet de serre et pollue l’air. Selon une étude menée en 2005 pour le gouvernement, les préjudices pour la santé causés par le charbon pourraient se chiffrer à 3 milliards de dollars par an. L’Ontario prévoit de supprimer les centrales à charbon d’ici 2014 et d’adopter des sources d’électricité plus propres comme le vent, le soleil et la bioénergie. bioénergie.

En savoir plus


Qu’est-ce qu’un kilowattheure?

Comment l’électricité arrive-t-elle chez moi?

Comment fait-on de l’électricité ?