Climate Change

Fighting climate change while supporting growth, efficiency and productivity is part of the government’s plan to build Ontario up.

In May 2015, Ontario became the first province in Canada to set a mid-term greenhouse gas pollution reduction target of 37% below 1990 levels by 2030. Ontario can meet these reductions while fostering a strong, prosperous, low-carbon economy.

There are two main aspects to fighting climate change: reducing greenhouse gas emissions (mitigation) and improving our resilience to the impacts that we are already feeling as a result of a changing climate (adaptation).

The Ministry of Energy has been taking strong climate-positive actions for years:

  • Developing a long-term energy plan for the entire province driven by a vision that focuses on a safe, clean, reliable and affordable energy future. As we plan for Ontario’s energy needs for the next 20 years, conservation will continue to be the first resource considered.  It is the cleanest and most cost-effective energy resource, and it offers consumers a way to reduce their electricity bills.
  • Fully eliminating coal as a source of electricity generation, becoming the first jurisdiction in North America to do so. Coal is a fossil fuel that releases greenhouse gases and pollutes our air. Eliminating coal from Ontario’s electricity supply mix means Improving air quality in Ontario so that people enjoy fewer smog days and breathe cleaner air.
  • Working closely with energy agencies to understand and address the impacts of climate change, including the effects of severe weather. Ontario’s investments in resilient infrastructure, emergency preparedness activities, market regulations, as well as proactive grid testing all help to ensure our provinces has a reliable and robust electricity system.

2017 Default Emission Factors for Ontario’s Cap & Trade Program

Ontario’s cap and trade program begins on January 1, 2017. Under the program, electricity importers are required to report the emissions associated with electricity imported into Ontario under Ontario Regulation 144/16 and submit carbon allowances for these emissions.

The regulation references default emissions factors for the calculation of emissions associated with unspecified imports to be made available by the Ministry of Energy. The default emissions factors for various balancing authorities can be found in Table 1 below.

Table 1: Default Emissions Factors for Ontario’s Cap and Trade Program
Balancing Authority Peak Factor Off-Peak Factor
Independent System Operator – New England (ISO-NE) 0.480 0.344
Midcontinent Independent System Operator (MISO) 0.789 0.965
New York Independent System Operator (NYISO) 0.510 0.352
Pennsylvania-New Jersey-Maryland Interconnection (PJM Interconnection) 0.605 0.812
Quebec 0 0
Manitoba 0 0
Generic Factor for all other Balancing Authorities 0.600 0.800

These factors are based on a report prepared by Navigant Consulting on behalf of the Ministry of Energy, entitled: Proposed Default Emissions Factors for Ontario’s Cap & Trade Program. The report outlines the methodology used to calculate the factors.

Ontario’s Green Investment Fund

The province is putting its new Climate Change Strategy into action by investing $100 million from the Ontario Green Investment Fund to help homeowners reduce their energy bills and cut greenhouse gas emissions. More details will be available over the coming months. Learn more Ontario.ca/GreenInvestment .

Changement climatique

Lutter contre le changement climatique tout en appuyant la croissance, la rentabilité et la productivité s’inscrit dans le plan du gouvernement qui vise à favoriser l’essor de l’Ontario.

En mai 2015, l’Ontario est devenue la première province du Canada à se donner comme objectif de réduire la pollution par émissions de gaz à effet de serre de 37 % par rapport aux niveaux de 1990 d’ici à 2030. L’Ontario peut effectuer ces réductions tout en encourageant une économie solide, prospère et faible en carbone.

La lutte contre le changement climatique comporte deux aspects : réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre (atténuation) et améliorer notre résistance aux effets que nous ressentons déjà en raison du changement climatique (adaptation).

Le ministère de l’Énergie prend de solides mesures favorables au climat depuis des années :

  • Élaboration d’un plan énergétique provincial à long terme commandé par une vision axée sur un avenir énergétique sécuritaire, propre, fiable et abordable. Au fil de la planification des besoins énergétiques de l’Ontario pour les 20 prochaines années, la conservation demeurera notre principale considération. • C’est la ressource la plus propre et la plus rentable qui offre aux consommateurs un moyen de réduire leurs factures d’électricité.
  • Élimination complète du charbon comme source de production d’électricité, faisant ainsi de l’Ontario la première région d’Amérique du Nord à le faire. Le charbon est un combustible fossile qui dégage des gaz à effet de serre et pollue l’air. L’élimination complète du charbon comme source de production d’électricité entraîne une amélioration de la qualité de l’air en Ontario et fait que la population connaît moins de journées de smog et respire de l’air plus pur.
  • Travailler étroitement avec des organismes énergétiques pour comprendre et aborder les incidences du changement climatique, y compris les effets des conditions météorologiques extrêmes. Les investissements dans l’infrastructure résiliente, les activités de préparation aux urgences, la réglementation du marché ainsi que les essais proactifs du réseau aident tous à assurer un système d’électricité fiable et robuste.

2017 Facteurs d’émissions par défaut

Le lancement du Programme de plafonnement et d’échange de l’Ontario aura lieu le 1er janvier 2017. Dans le cadre du programme, les importateurs d’électricité sont tenus de déclarer les émissions liées aux importations d’électricité en Ontario, en vertu du règlement de l’Ontario144/16 et de soumettre des quotas de carbone pour ces émissions.

Les facteurs d’émission par défaut, en lien avec le règlement de références pour calculer les émissions associées à des importations non spécifiées doivent être rendus publics par le ministère de l’Énergie. Les facteurs d’émission par défaut pour divers organismes figurent dans le tableau 1 ci-dessous.

Tableau 1 : Facteurs d’émission par défaut dans le cadre du Programme de plafonnement et d’échange de l’Ontario
Organisme régulateur Facteur de pointe Facteur hors pointe
Exploitant indépendant de réseau — Nouvelle-Angleterre (ISO-NE) 0,480 0,344
Midcontinent Independent System Operator (MISO) (Exploitant indépendant de réseau) 0,789 0,965
New York Independent System Operator (NYISO) (Exploitant indépendant de réseau) 0,510 0,352
Pennsylvania-New Jersey-Maryland Interconnection (PJM Interconnection) 0,605 0,812
Québec 0 0
Manitoba 0 0
Facteur générique pour tout autre organisme régulateur 0,600 0,800

Ces facteurs sont fondés sur un rapport élaboré par Navigant Consulting au nom du ministère de l’Énergie, qui s’intitule : Proposed Default Emissions Factors for Ontario’s Cap & Trade Program (en anglais seulement). Le rapport décrit la méthodologie pour calculer les facteurs.

 Fonds d’investissement vert de l’Ontario

La province met en œuvre sa nouvelle Stratégie en matière de changement climatique en investissant 100 millions $ du Fonds d’investissement vert de l’Ontario en vue d’aider les propriétaires à réduire leurs factures énergétiques et les émissions de gaz à effet de serre. De plus amples détails seront fournis au cours des mois à venir. Visitez le site Ontario.ca/Investissementvert afin d’en apprendre davantage.