Energy and Water Reporting – Frequently Asked Questions

General

Q. What is energy and water reporting and benchmarking?

Energy and water reporting and benchmarking involves the ongoing review of a building’s energy and water consumption to determine how the building’s energy performance is changing over time and in comparison to other similar buildings to support energy and water conservation decision-making.

Q. What are the benefits of energy and water reporting and benchmarking?

Large building owners can play an important role in helping Ontario meet its conservation and greenhouse gas reduction goals through energy and water reporting and benchmarking.

Buildings in Ontario including office buildings, condominiums and retail stores accounted for 19% of Ontario’s total GHG emissions in 2013.

Energy and water reporting and benchmarking can help building owners:

  • Better manage energy and water use and costs
  • Identify best practices and energy and water-saving opportunities
  • Assist in setting goals by providing a benchmark
  • Evaluate results by comparing to similar facilities across the province
  • Measure improvement over time
  • Value energy efficient and water efficient buildings

Public disclosure of building performance information can motivate building owners to compete with one another and strive to improve their building performance year over year. It can also allow property and financial markets to compare building performance and value efficient buildings, enabling the market to drive efficiency investments.

Q. Have other jurisdictions implemented an energy reporting and benchmarking requirement?

Many jurisdictions in the United States, Europe and the United Kingdom have energy reporting and benchmarking requirements in place for large buildings.

A study by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) found that buildings that continuously benchmarked as part of the ENERGY STAR Portfolio Manager Program achieved a 7% improvement in energy consumption savings over a three year period (2.4% per year average) from benchmarking.

Ontario based its EWRB initiative on successful implementations in the US as well as lessons learned from early adopters. The initiative also builds on the success of Ontario’s energy and greenhouse gas reporting initiatives for government-owned facilities and broader public sector organizations as well as lessons from CivicAction’s voluntary Race to Reduce challenge for the office sector in the Greater Toronto Area.

Ontario is the first Canadian province to introduce a large building energy and water reporting and benchmarking initiative for privately owned buildings on a province-wide scale.

Q. What is Ontario’s Large Building Energy and Water Reporting Initiative?

On July 1, 2016, the Energy Statute Law Amendment Act, 2016 came into force, which included amendments to the Green Energy Act, 2009 that enable implementation of Ontario’s Large Building EWRB initiative through regulation.

Ontario Regulation 20/17: Ontario’s Reporting of Energy Consumption and Water Use outlines what building owners are required to do.

In order to comply, owners of building types that are required to report must submit required data elements to the Ministry of Energy on an annual basis using ENERGY STAR Portfolio Manager according to the schedule established in the regulation. Owners of buildings that are 100,000 square feet and larger will also be requested to verify their data by a recognized professional in the first year of reporting and every five years thereafter.

Electricity, natural gas and water utilities must make whole building consumption data available to building owners when requested, as is available through existing metering infrastructure, within a reasonable timeframe after the request is made.

The Ministry of Energy will publicly disclose a subset of the data reported by building owners on Ontario’s Open Data website on an annual basis. The Ministry also intends to produce and public reports that summarize key findings from all the energy, water and GHG data it collects.

The Ministry of Energy is considering a number of best practices that have been used in other jurisdictions to successfully support EWRB reporting These include:

  • Providing support for reporting through communications, education and training to ensure building owners are aware of the reporting requirement and have the necessary tools and resources to comply and monitor compliance.
  • Working with building owners, property managers and industry organizations directly to answer questions and provide them with any additional support.
  • Making a program website available.
  • Providing webinars on reporting requirements and the reporting process.

For more information on how to comply with the EWRB Regulation see:

Q. How did the Ministry consult on this initiative?

The Ministry of Energy’s consultations for its Large Building EWRB initiative took place over a six month period from January to June 2015 and through Environmental and Regulatory Registry proposals posted on February 25, 2016 for 50 days.

Throughout its consultation process, the Ministry met with over 160 stakeholder organizations to seek their feedback.

The Ministry also received 38 submissions on its proposal from the multi-unit residential, commercial, industrial, agriculture, utility, non-profit, municipality, building professionals and academic sectors.

Stakeholder comments received through the consultation process helped inform Ontario’s EWRB initiative.

For Building Owners and Managers Required to Report Under the Large Building EWRB Regulation

Q. When am I required to comply with the Large Building EWRB regulation?

The reporting requirement will be phased-in over three years according to the following schedule:

Reporting Deadlines
Phased Mandatory Reporting Timeline Commercial and Industrial Buildings Multi-Unit Residential Buildings
By July 1, 2018
(information for 2017 calendar year)
250,000 square feet and larger Not required to report in first year
By July 1, 2019
(information for 2018 calendar year)
100,000 square feet and larger 100,000 square feet and larger
By July 1, 2020
(information for 2019 calendar year)
50,000 square feet and larger 50,000 square feet and larger

For more information on how to comply with the EWRB Regulation see:

Q. What Information do I need to report?

The types of data elements building owners are required to report on an annual basis include:

  • Monthly energy and water consumption and performance data, e.g. energy and water use intensity, ENERGY STAR score (where available);
  • GHG emissions and intensity; and
  • Building characteristic information, such as gross floor area.

For more information on how to comply with the EWRB Regulation see:

Q. How do I report information to the Ministry of Energy?

Building owners and managers are required to report their building’s data to the Ministry of Energy using ENERGY STAR Portfolio Manager (Portfolio Manager).

Portfolio Manager is a free, secure, web-based building rating tool created by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). The tool compares energy and water consumption, as well as GHG emissions, across a single building or a portfolio of buildings.

Natural Resources Canada (NRCan), in collaboration with the U.S. EPA, launched a major update of the tool for Canada in August 2013 that included Canadian source energy, GHG emissions factors, and weather data. The “Canadianized” version is managed by NRCan.

For more information on how to comply with the EWRB Regulation see:

Q. How can building owners access whole building aggregated electricity, natural gas and water consumption information?

Building owners can access their energy consumption and water usage information by contacting their utility.

Electricity, natural gas and water utilities are required to provide building owners or their agents with aggregated information on how much electricity, natural gas or water was consumed or used at their property broken down on a monthly basis

For more information on how to obtain utility data to comply with the EWRB Regulation see:

Q. Will reported information be publicly disclosed?

The Ministry of Energy will publicly disclose a subset of the data reported by building owners on Ontario’s Open Data website on an annual basis. Public disclosure of building performance information can motivate building owners to compete with one another and strive to improve their building performance year over year. It can also allow property and financial markets to compare building performance and value efficient buildings, enabling the market to further drive efficiency investments.

Data elements that the Ministry of Energy will publicly disclose on a building by building basis include property identification and building performance information such as ENERGY STAR score, energy, water and greenhouse gas intensity, building age and confirmation of whether data was verified by an accredited or certified professional.

Data elements that the Ministry will not publicly disclose on a building by building basis include total energy and water use, GHG emissions and gross floor area.

The Ministry will also not publicly disclose the first year of reported data for each of the three roll-out phases to provide an opportunity for building owners to gain experience with reporting before their data is made publicly available.

For more information on information disclosure, see:

Q. Some of the information I report to the Ministry won’t be disclosed. How is that information protected?

The Ministry of Energy consulted extensively with stakeholders on what information would be collected and disclosed when developing its Large Building EWRB proposal.

The Ministry is only proposing to collect information from building owners that is required to achieve the outcomes of its EWRB policy.

The information that the Ministry of Energy is proposing to collect is not considered private information, as confirmed by the Information and Privacy Commissioner and the Ministry of Government and Consumer Services.

In order to help building owners protect information that they believe is commercially sensitive, the Ministry would deem information that is not made publicly available to be considered to have been supplied in confidence to the Minister for the purposes of section 17 of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act.

With respect to data that is inputted into Portfolio Manager, Canadian user data is under NRCan’s control and management. The data collected in Portfolio Manager is stored on a secure server located in the United States and is therefore subject to the Canadian federal Privacy Act and Access to Information Act in addition to the U.S. Privacy Act.

NRCan has gone through an extensive process to assess and vet the security and privacy protocols used by the United States EPA. As of August 2016, approximately 5,800 buildings in Ontario were already using the ENERGY STAR Portfolio Manager tool to benchmark their performance.

Q. What are the costs associated with reporting under the regulation EWRB?

Reporting and benchmarking is a low cost initiative that helps reduce energy and water consumption and GHG emissions in Ontario’s building sector by providing actionable information to key decision makers.

Potential costs to building owners and managers would result from the time and effort required to report energy and water consumption as well as other building characteristic information to the Ministry of Energy on an annual basis. Some building owners would also need to verify their data. Building owners can verify their data using in-house verifiers such as engineers and energy managers already on staff, or by hiring a third party professional to review their information.

Experience in the US has shown that entering data into Portfolio Manager could take as little as one hour if building owners have their building characteristic and consumption data readily available.

Significant benefits are also expected from implementing the proposed Large Building EWRB initiative if building owners decide to take action to reduce their consumption through behavioural and operational improvements. It is expected that cost savings from these improvements would far exceed the costs to comply with the regulation.

For more information on how to comply with the EWRB Regulation see:

Q. Will the Ministry of Energy provide training resources to building owners and managers?

The Ministry plans to engage and provide support to building owners and managers who are required to comply with the regulation. This includes providing access to education and training materials so that compliance with the regulation is simple and straightforward.

The Ministry will make available more information on education and training materials and opportunities later in 2017. Information will be posted to the Large Building EWRB webpage.

Rapports sur la consommation d’énergie et l’utilisation de l’eau – Questions fréquemment posées

Généralités

Q. En quoi consiste l’initiative d’analyse comparative et de production de rapports sur la consommation d’énergie et l’utilisation de l’eau?

L’initiative d’analyse comparative et de production de rapports sur la consommation d’énergie et l’utilisation de l’eau (ACPREE) vise à effectuer une surveillance constante de la consommation d’énergie et de l’utilisation de l’eau d’un bâtiment afin de déterminer l’évolution du rendement énergétique de celui-ci au fil du temps et par rapport à des immeubles similaires. Il s’agit ainsi de contribuer à la prise de décisions qui renforceront les économies d’énergie et d’eau.

Q. Quels sont les avantages de l’initiative ACPREE?

Les propriétaires de grands immeubles peuvent jouer un rôle important pour aider l’Ontario à atteindre ses objectifs de conservation et de réduction des gaz à effet de serre (GES) par le biais de l’initiative ACPREE.

En 2013, les bâtiments comme les immeubles de bureaux, les condominiums et les magasins de détail représentaient 19 % du total des émissions de GES en Ontario.

L’initiative ACPREE peut aider les propriétaires d’immeubles à atteindre les objectifs suivants :

  • Mieux gérer l’utilisation qu’ils font de l’eau et de l’énergie, et les coûts associés
  • Souligner les pratiques exemplaires et les moyens à prendre pour économiser l’eau et l’énergie
  • Aider à fixer des objectifs grâce à l’analyse comparative
  • Évaluer les résultats en comparant le bâtiment à des installations similaires dans la province
  • Mesurer les améliorations au fil du temps
  • Valoriser les bâtiments éconergétiques et peu consommateurs d’eau

La publication de renseignements sur le rendement d’un immeuble peut motiver les propriétaires à rivaliser d’efforts pour améliorer leurs résultats d’une année à l’autre. Cela peut également permettre aux acteurs du monde des finances et de l’immobilier de comparer le rendement des bâtiments et de valoriser ceux qui sont rentables, ce qui incite les marchés à stimuler les investissements en matière d’efficacité.

Q. Trouve-t-on ailleurs de telles exigences en matière d’analyse comparative et de production de rapports sur l’énergie?

Différentes administrations aux États-Unis, en Europe et au Royaume-Uni ont mis en place des systèmes d’analyse comparative et de production de rapports sur l’énergie pour les grands bâtiments.

D’après une étude menée par l’Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) des États-Unis, les bâtiments qui faisaient l’objet d’une analyse comparative constante dans le cadre du programme ENERGY STAR Portfolio Manager ont amélioré de 7 % leurs économies d’énergie sur une période de trois ans (2,4 % par an en moyenne).

Pour son initiative ACPREE, l’Ontario s’est inspiré des projets menés à bien aux États-Unis, ainsi que des leçons tirées des expériences d’adopteurs précoces. L’initiative se fonde également sur le succès des initiatives ontariennes en matière de publication de rapports sur l’énergie et les GES pour les installations appartenant au gouvernement et aux organismes du secteur parapublic, ainsi que des leçons tirées du projet volontaire « Race to Reduce » de CivicAction pour les immeubles de bureaux de la région du Grand Toronto.

L’Ontario est la première province canadienne à introduire une telle initiative d’analyse comparative et de production de rapports sur la consommation d’énergie et l’utilisation de l’eau pour les immeubles privés à l’échelle de la province.

Q. Qu’est-ce que l’initiative d’analyse comparative et de production de rapports sur la consommation d’énergie et l’utilisation de l’eau pour les grands bâtiments?

La Loi de 2016 modifiant des lois sur l’énergie est entrée en vigueur le 1er juillet 2016. Celle-ci comprenait des modifications à la Loi de 2009 sur l’énergie verte pour permettre la mise en œuvre de l’initiative ACPREE pour les grands bâtiments de l’Ontario par voie de règlement.

Les obligations des propriétaires d’immeubles sont énoncées dans un règlement, Rapports sur la consommation d’énergie et l’utilisation de l’eau..

Pour se conformer, les propriétaires d’immeubles visés par l’obligation de rapports doivent envoyer les éléments de données requis au ministère de l’Énergie tous les ans à l’aide du système ENERGY STAR Portfolio Manager, selon le calendrier établi dans le règlement. Les propriétaires d’immeubles dont la surface est d’au moins 100 000 pi2 doivent également faire vérifier leurs données par un professionnel agréé durant la première année de présentation des renseignements et tous les cinq ans par la suite.

Les distributeurs d’électricité, de gaz naturel et d’eau doivent mettre à la disposition des propriétaires, à leur demande, les données concernant la consommation du bâtiment tout entier. En effet, celles-ci sont captées par les infrastructures de comptage. Cette information doit être transmise dans un délai raisonnable.

Tous les ans, le ministère de l’Énergie publiera un sous-ensemble des données déclarées par les propriétaires d’immeubles dans le portail Données ouvertes de l’Ontario. Le ministère entend également produire et publier des rapports qui résument les principaux résultats émanant des données sur l’énergie, l’eau et les GES qu’il recueille.

Il envisage un certain nombre de bonnes pratiques qui ont été utilisées dans d’autres pays pour faciliter la préparation des rapports ACPREE. Il s’agit notamment des pratiques suivantes :

  • Faciliter la préparation de rapports au moyen de communications, de sensibilisation et de formation pour veiller à ce que les propriétaires d’immeubles soient conscients de l’exigence de présentation de renseignements et disposent des outils et ressources nécessaires pour se conformer et surveiller la conformité.
  • Collaborer avec les propriétaires d’immeubles, les gestionnaires immobiliers et les organisations professionnelles directement pour répondre à leurs questions et fournir tout soutien additionnel.
  • Créer un site Web pour le programme.
  • Offrir des webinaires sur les exigences et le processus de production de rapports.

Pour en savoir davantage sur la façon de se conformer au Règlement, voir :

Q. Comment se sont déroulées les consultations du ministère sur cette initiative?

Les consultations du ministère de l’Énergie sur l’initiative ACPREE pour les grands bâtiments se sont déroulées sur une période de six mois, de janvier à juin 2015. Les propositions ont été affichées sur le Registre environnemental et le Registre de la réglementation pendant 50 jours à compter du 25 février 2016.

Tout au long de son processus de consultation, le ministère a rencontré plus de 160 organisations intéressées pour obtenir leurs commentaires.

Le ministère a également reçu 38 observations émanant des secteurs des immeubles d’habitation à plusieurs logements, commerciaux, industriels, agricoles, des services publics, sans but lucratif, municipaux, des professionnels du bâtiment et de l’université.

Les commentaires des intervenants dans le cadre du processus de consultation ont contribué à éclairer l’initiative ACPREE de l’Ontario.

Propriétaires et gestionnaires d’immeubles devant faire l’objet de rapports en vertu du règlement ACPREE pour les grands bâtiments

Q. À quel moment faut-il se conformer au règlement ACPREE pour les grands bâtiments?

L’exigence de production de rapports sera progressivement mise en place sur une période de trois ans selon le calendrier suivant :

Bâtiments visés par le rapport
Étapes de mise en œuvre des rapports obligatoires Bâtiments commerciaux et industriels Immeubles d’habitation à logements multiples
1er juillet 2018
(données de l’année civile 2017)
250 000 pi2 et plus Pas de rapport requis cette année
1er juillet 2019
(données de l’année civile 2018)
100 000 pi2 et plus 100 000 pi2 et plus
1er juillet 2020
(données de l’année civile 2019)
50 000 pi2 et plus 50 000 pi2 et plus

Pour en savoir davantage sur la façon de se conformer au Règlement, voir :

Q. Quel genre de renseignements dois-je inclure dans le rapport?

Les types d’éléments de données que les propriétaires de bâtiments doivent déclarer tous les ans sont les suivants :

  • Données sur la consommation mensuelle d’énergie et d’eau et le rendement énergique, par exemple l’intensité de l’utilisation d’énergie et d’eau, ou la cote ENERGY STAR (le cas échéant)
  • Les émissions et l’intensité des GES
  • Les caractéristiques des bâtiments, comme la surface de plancher hors œuvre brute

Pour en savoir davantage sur la façon de se conformer au Règlement, voir :

Q. Comment transmettre cette information au ministère de l’Énergie?

Les propriétaires et les gestionnaires de bâtiments doivent transmettre les données au ministère de l’Énergie par ENERGY STAR Portfolio Manager.

Il s’agit d’un outil Web gratuit et sécurisé pour l’évaluation des bâtiments qui a été créé par l’Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) des États-Unis. L’outil compare la consommation d’énergie et d’eau ainsi que les émissions de GES dans un seul bâtiment ou dans un portefeuille d’immeubles.

Ressources naturelles Canada (RNCan), en collaboration avec l’EPA, a lancé une version canadienne de l’outil en août 2013. Celle-ci comprenait l’énergie de source canadienne, les facteurs d’émissions de GES et les données météorologiques. Cette version est gérée par RNCan.

Pour en savoir davantage sur la façon de se conformer au Règlement, voir :

Q. Comment les propriétaires peuvent-ils obtenir toutes les données regroupées sur la consommation d’électricité, de gaz naturel et d’eau d’un bâtiment?

Ils peuvent s’adresser à leurs distributeurs respectifs à ce sujet. Ceux-ci sont tenus de fournir aux propriétaires d’immeubles ou à leurs mandataires des données globales et ventilées par mois sur la quantité d’électricité, de gaz naturel ou d’eau qui a été consommée ou utilisée dans le bâtiment.

Pour en savoir davantage sur la façon d’obtenir des données des distributeurs pour se conformer au règlement ACPREE, voir :

Q. Les données transmises seront-elles publiées?

Tous les ans, le ministère de l’Énergie publiera un sous-ensemble des données déclarées par les propriétaires d’immeubles dans le portail Données ouvertes de l’Ontario. La publication de renseignements sur le rendement d’un immeuble peut motiver les propriétaires à rivaliser d’efforts pour améliorer leurs résultats d’une année à l’autre. Cela peut également permettre aux acteurs du monde des finances et de l’immobilier de comparer le rendement des bâtiments et de valoriser ceux qui sont rentables, ce qui incite les marchés à stimuler les investissements en matière d’efficacité.

Les éléments de données que le ministère de l’Énergie publie au sujet d’un immeuble en particulier concernent l’identification du bien et son rendement, par exemple la cote ENERGY STAR, la consommation d’énergie et l’utilisation de l’eau, l’intensité des émissions de GES, l’âge et la confirmation du fait que les données ont été vérifiées par un organisme accrédité ou un professionnel agréé (la vérification est obligatoire pour les bâtiments ayant une surface d’au moins à 100 000 pi2).

En revanche, le ministère ne publie pas les éléments de données concernant la consommation totale d’énergie et l’utilisation de l’eau, les émissions de GES et la surface de plancher hors œuvre brute d’un immeuble en particulier.

De plus, le ministère s’abstient de publier les données de la première année de chacune des trois phases de déroulement, afin de donner aux propriétaires la chance d’acquérir de l’expérience dans la préparation de rapports avant que leurs données ne soient mises à la disposition du grand public.

Pour en savoir davantage sur la présentation de renseignements, voir :

Q. Certaines données que je transmettrai au ministère ne sont pas publiées. Comment seront-elles protégées?

Le ministère de l’Énergie a largement consulté les parties prenantes sur les données qui seraient recueillies et publiées lors de l’élaboration de sa proposition d’ACPREE pour les grands bâtiments.

Le ministère ne recueillera auprès des propriétaires que les données nécessaires pour atteindre les résultats de sa politique d’ACPREE.

Ces données ne sont pas considérées comme des renseignements privés, comme l’a confirmé le Commissaire à l’information et à la protection de la vie privée et le ministère des Services gouvernementaux et des Services aux consommateurs.

Afin d’aider les propriétaires à protéger les données qu’ils estiment commercialement sensibles, le ministère de l’Énergie jugera celles qui ne sont pas publiées comme lui ayant été fournies à titre confidentiel, au sens de l’article 17 de la Loi de 1990 sur l’accès à l’information et la protection de la vie privée.

En ce qui concerne les données d’utilisateurs canadiens qui sont versées dans le système Portfolio Manager, elles sont sous le contrôle et l’administration de RNCan. Les données recueillies dans Portfolio Manager sont stockées sur un serveur sécurisé situé aux États-Unis. Elles sont assujetties à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (des lois canadiennes) en plus de la loi américaine « Privacy Act ».

RNCan a entrepris un vaste effort pour évaluer et approuver les protocoles de sécurité et de confidentialité utilisés par l’EPA. En août 2016, les propriétaires d’environ 5 800 bâtiments de l’Ontario utilisaient déjà le système ENERGY STAR Portfolio Manager pour évaluer leur rendement.

Q. Quels sont les coûts associés à la préparation de rapports conformément au règlement ACPREE?

En plus d’être peu coûteuse, l’initiative ACPREE permet de réduire la consommation d’énergie, l’utilisation de l’eau et les émissions de GES dans le secteur du bâtiment de l’Ontario en fournissant des renseignements utiles aux décideurs clés.

Les coûts potentiels pour les propriétaires et exploitants d’immeubles sont associés au temps et aux efforts requis pour déclarer tous les ans au ministère de l’Énergie la consommation d’énergie et l’utilisation de l’eau, ainsi que d’autres caractéristiques. Les propriétaires d’immeubles dont la surface est d’au moins à 100 000 pi2 doivent également faire vérifier leurs données par un professionnel agréé durant la première année de présentation des renseignements et tous les cinq ans par la suite. Les propriétaires d’immeubles peuvent faire vérifier leurs données par des vérificateurs internes, tels que les ingénieurs et les gestionnaires de l’énergie qui sont déjà membres du personnel, ou en engageant un professionnel externe pour examiner l’information.

L’expérience des États-Unis montre que la saisie des données dans le système Portfolio Manager ne prend guère plus d’une heure si les propriétaires ont sous la main les caractéristiques de leur immeuble et ses données de consommation.

Des avantages significatifs sont également à attendre de la mise en œuvre de l’initiative ACPREE pour les grands bâtiments si les propriétaires décident de prendre des mesures pour réduire leur consommation grâce à des améliorations comportementales et opérationnelles. Il est prévu que les économies tirées de ces améliorations dépasseraient de loin les coûts engagés pour se conformer au règlement.

Pour en savoir davantage sur la façon de se conformer au Règlement, voir :

Q. Est-ce que le ministère de l’Énergie fournira des ressources de formation aux propriétaires et gestionnaires d’immeubles?

Le ministère prévoit mobiliser et soutenir les propriétaires et gestionnaires d’immeubles qui sont tenus de se conformer au règlement. Cela inclut l’accès à du matériel de sensibilisation et de formation afin de rendre le respect du règlement aussi simple que facile.

Dans le courant de l’année 2017, le ministère fournira des précisions sur les documents et possibilités de sensibilisation et de formation. L’information sera publiée sur la page Web de l’initiative ACPREE pour les grands bâtiments.