5. Previous Procurements

As a result of Ontario’s earlier renewable energy initiatives, a number of previously proposed projects have obtained electricity contracts and are now moving through the developmental steps and required approval processes outlined in Section 2.

This section discusses projects with existing electricity contracts and the requirements that apply to these projects.


5.1. EXISTING LARGE FIT CONTRACTS

Following the introduction of the Feed-in Tariff (FIT) program in fall 2009, a total of 249 electricity contracts for large renewable energy projects (greater than 500 kW) were offered to developers in 2010 and 2011.

While some projects have subsequently been cancelled by project developers, the vast majority of projects have been proceeding under their existing signed FIT contracts. These are long-term contracts under which project developers commit to providing clean electricity to the Ontario power grid. The government continues to honour existing signed contracts. Any future large renewable energy projects that are proposed for development may be eligible to participate in the LRP process or other procurement programs.

Project developers with existing electricity contracts must ensure they are meeting all applicable contract and approval requirements in order for their projects to reach commercial operation.

Ontario’s environmental approval requirements for large renewable energy projects ensure protection of communities and provide opportunities for municipalities to provide input during the project development process. More information on environmental approvals is found in Section 6.

Contract Requirements

Existing FIT contracts are administered by the Independent Electricity System Operator (IESO). The Ontario government is not a counterparty to FIT contracts and has no authority regarding contractual matters. Contract holders who have specific questions or concerns about their ability to meet contractual requirements (including deadlines) should contact their IESO contract analyst.

The FIT contract contains provisions which allow the IESO to terminate a contract under certain circumstances. The IESO has posted a list of FIT contracts that it has previously terminated on its website.

The terminated FIT contracts list includes only those contract terminations initiated by the IESO, but not those that were mutually terminated between the developer and the IESO. While developers may choose to announce mutual contract terminations, this information is not always made available due to confidentiality clauses in the FIT contract.

Approval Requirements

Large wind, ground-mounted solar and some bioenergy projects are subject to the Renewable Energy Approval (REA) process, which includes environmental studies, and Aboriginal, public and municipal consultation. For a list of projects which have obtained REA approvals, or are under evaluation, please see the Ministry of the Environment and Climate Change (MOECC) website.

Detailed information on the approval status of individual renewable energy projects can be found on the Ontario Environmental Registry. In addition to community consultation requirements under the REA process, individuals or municipalities can also submit additional comments with respect to REA applications to MOECC using the publicly-available Environmental Registry.

These projects are also subject to the Ministry of Natural Resources and Forestry (MNRF)’s requirements as outlined in the Approval and Permitting Requirements Document (APRD), which may require submission of information related to relevant MNRF permits, licences, authorizations and approvals. For more information on the MNRF’s requirements, please see the website.

For an understanding of how the APRD and the REA work together, please consult the Provincial Approvals for Renewable Energy Projects Guide.

New waterpower projects or expansions of existing projects will generally be subject to the Class Environmental Assessment (EA) for waterpower projects.

For more information on regulatory approvals for renewable energy projects, see Section 6.

5.2. GREEN ENERGY INVESTMENT AGREEMENT (GEIA)

In January 2010, the Government of Ontario entered into the Green Energy Investment Agreement (GEIA) with Samsung C&T Corporation and the Korea Electric Power Corporation. 3 Under the original terms of the GEIA, these companies agreed to develop 2,500 megawatts (MW) of wind and solar renewable generation projects and bring manufacturing plants to Ontario. The terms of the agreement have since been revised, but Samsung’s commitment to developing wind and solar renewable generation represents a significant step to achieving Ontario’s Long-Term Energy Plan (LTEP) targets. It has also led to renewable energy job creation in Ontario.

Revisions to the GEIA in 2013 were made in the interests of local communities and ratepayers. The revised GEIA has resulted in a reduction of contract costs by $3.7 billion and an updated generation capacity of 1,369 MW across three phases. Revisions have also ensured that job commitments are protected and that Municipal Council Support Resolutions are obtained for one existing Phase Two project and any new projects under the third and final phase of the agreement.

Investments to date under the GEIA have resulted in the opening of four manufacturing plants across the province and are creating 900 direct renewable energy manufacturing jobs. Over the next 20 years, it is expected that GEIA projects will continue to contribute to local economies through community benefit agreements and revenue-sharing agreements.

5.3. HYDROELECTRIC CONTRACT INITIATIVE (HCI)

In 2009, the IESO developed the Hydroelectric Contract Initiative (HCI), which allowed existing hydroelectric facilities without electricity contracts to obtain 20-year contracts to sell clean electricity to the Ontario grid. Facilities which may have already operated for a number of years were provided with an opportunity to continue their operations. There were also opportunities for contract amendments to cover project expansions or redevelopments.

Under their existing contracts, HCI facilities could only seek expansion or redevelopment up to January 21, 2013. A further opportunity for expansion or redevelopment of HCI facilities was offered through the Hydroelectric Standard Offer Program (HESOP) Expansion Stream in 2014, which is described in the section below.

Expansions of existing projects are generally subject to the Class EA for waterpower projects. For more information, please see the Regulatory Process section below.

5.4. HYDROELECTRIC STANDARD OFFER PROGRAM (HESOP)

In 2013, the IESO established the Hydroelectric Standard Offer Program (HESOP) to continue the development of hydroelectric capacity. This program divided hydroelectric procurements into two separate streams: (i) the Municipal Stream and (ii) the Expansion Stream.

HESOP Municipal Stream

The HESOP Municipal Stream was created to provide an opportunity for proposed new municipal hydroelectric projects larger than 500 kW that had previously submitted applications to the FIT program before June 5, 2010. Only projects featuring municipal participation were eligible to participate. The HESOP Municipal Stream was allocated a procurement target of 60 MW and offered a base price of 14.1 cents/kWh.

On March 7, 2014, the IESO offered a total of three HESOP Municipal Stream renewable energy contracts, representing 35.25 MW of power, to projects located in Ottawa, St. Catharines and Horton. All projects have 100 per cent municipal ownership. The City of St. Catharines has estimated that the 4.2 MW Shickluna Hydro Generating Station will result in annual income of $800,000 to $1 million for the municipality.

A total of 25 MW of the unallocated HESOP Municipal Stream target has been transferred to the LRP I target for waterpower.

HESOP Expansion Stream

The HESOP Expansion Stream provides an opportunity for existing waterpower facilities to expand their hydroelectric generation capacity. Existing hydroelectric projects covered under the Expansion Stream include non-utility generation (NUG) facilities and HCI facilities.

The HESOP Expansion Stream was given a procurement target of 40 MW. The application window was open from October 1, 2014 to November 3, 2014.

On March 24, 2015, the IESO announced a total of five HESOP Expansion Stream contract offers.


3. In October 2014, the Korea Electric Power Corporation (KEPCO) was released from its obligations under the GEIA. KEPCO’s technical expertise was no longer necessary and Samsung has assumed its obligations.

5. Approvisionnements antérieurs

Grâce aux initiatives d’énergie renouvelable mises en œuvre antérieurement par l’Ontario, de nombreux projets proposés par le passé ont obtenu des contrats et en sont maintenant aux étapes de réalisation et aux processus d’autorisation obligatoires abordés à la section 2.

Cette section porte sur les projets auxquels un contrat d’électricité a été octroyé et présente les exigences qui s’appliquent à ces projets.


5.1. CONTRATS EXISTANTS ACCORDÉS À DE GRANDS PROJETS DE TRG

À la suite du lancement du Programme de tarifs de rachat garantis (TRG) à l’automne 2009, 249 contrats d’électricité visant de grands projets d’énergie renouvelable (d’une capacité supérieure à 500 kW) ont été offerts à des promoteurs en 2010 et en 2011.

Certains de ces projets ont été annulés par la suite par les promoteurs, mais la réalisation de la majeure partie des projets s’est poursuivie en vertu de contrats de TRG existants. Il s’agit de contrats à long terme au titre desquels les promoteurs s’engagent à fournir de l’énergie propre au réseau d’électricité ontarien. Le gouvernement continue d’honorer les contrats existants. Les prochains grands projets d’énergie renouvelable que des promoteurs proposeront de réaliser pourront peut-être prendre part au Processus AGER ou à d’autres programmes d’approvisionnement.

Les promoteurs qui ont déjà des contrats d’électricité doivent s’assurer de respecter toutes les exigences contractuelles et d’autorisation applicables pour que leurs projets soient mis en service.

Les exigences de l’Ontario relatives aux autorisations environnementales des grands projets d’énergie renouvelable servent à protéger les collectivités et à donner aux municipalités l’occasion de s’exprimer lors du processus de réalisation des projets. Les autorisations environnementales sont abordées plus en détail à la section 6.

Exigences contractuelles

L’administration des contrats actuels du Programme de TRG incombe à la Société indépendante d’exploitation du réseau d’électricité (SIERE). Le gouvernement ontarien n’est pas partie aux contrats de TRG et n’a aucun pouvoir relatif aux questions contractuelles. Les titulaires de contrat qui ont des questions ou des préoccupations précises concernant leur capacité à respecter les exigences contractuelles (y compris les échéances) doivent communiquer avec l’analyste des contrats de la SIERE responsable de leur dossier.

Le contrat de TRG contient des dispositions en vertu desquelles la SIERE peut résilier un contrat dans certaines situations. La SIERE a publié sur son site Web la liste des contrats de TRG qu’elle a résiliés par le passé (en anglais seulement).

La liste en question ne comprend que les contrats résiliés à la demande de la SIERE, et non ceux résiliés d’un commun accord par la SIERE et les promoteurs. Même si les promoteurs peuvent décider d’annoncer les résiliations de contrat par consentement mutuel, la publication de tels renseignements est parfois interdite en raison des clauses de confidentialité du contrat de TRG.

Exigences relatives aux autorisations

Les grands projets d’énergie éolienne et d’installations solaires au sol ainsi que certains projets de bioénergie doivent faire l’objet du Processus d’autorisation des projets d’énergie renouvelable (APER), qui comprend des études environnementales et la consultation des municipalités, du public et des collectivités autochtones. Pour consulter la liste des projets pour lesquels une APER a été délivrée ou dont l’évaluation est en cours, veuillez visiter le site Web du ministère de l’Environnement et de l’Action en matière de changement climatique (MEACC)

On peut trouver des renseignements détaillés sur l’état de traitement de la demande d’APER d’un projet d’énergie renouvelable donné dans le Registre environnemental de l’Ontario : www.ebr.gov.on.ca. En plus des exigences de consultation communautaire que comporte le Processus APER, les particuliers et les municipalités peuvent soumettre des commentaires supplémentaires au MEACC au sujet de leurs demandes d’APER au moyen du Registre environnemental public.

Ces projets doivent respecter les exigences du ministère des Richesses naturelles et des Forêts (MRNF) comme définies dans le Document sur les conditions d’approbation et de délivrance de permis, qui peut exiger la présentation d’information sur les permis, les licences, les autorisations et les approbations du MRNF nécessaires. Pour connaître plus en détail les exigences du MRNF, veuillez consulter le site Web suivant

Pour en savoir plus sur le respect des conditions d’approbation et de délivrance de permis et du Processus APER, veuillez consulter le Guide – Autorisations de la province relativement aux projets d’énergie renouvelable

Habituellement, les nouveaux projets d’énergie hydraulique ou d’accroissement de capacité de projets existants devront faire l’objet d’une évaluation environnementale (EE) de portée générale pour les projets d’énergie hydraulique.

Vous trouverez à la section 6 des renseignements plus détaillés sur les approbations réglementaires des projets d’énergie renouvelable.

5.2. ENTENTE D’INVESTISSEMENT DANS L’ÉNERGIE

Le gouvernement de l’Ontario a conclu en janvier 2010 une entente d’investissement dans l’énergie avec Samsung C&T Corporation et Korea Electric Power Corporation. En vertu des modalités originales de l’entente, ces sociétés avaient convenu de créer une capacité de production d’énergie renouvelable de 2 500 mégawatts (MW) dans le cadre de projets d’énergie éolienne et solaire et d’aménager des usines de fabrication en Ontario. Les modalités de l’entente ont été revues depuis, mais l’engagement de Samsung à produire des énergies renouvelables solaire et éolienne aidera sans contredit l’Ontario à atteindre les cibles de son Plan énergétique à long terme. L’entente a également donné lieu à la création d’emplois dans le secteur de l’énergie renouvelable en Ontario.

L’entente a fait l’objet de modifications en 2013 pour mieux tenir compte des intérêts des collectivités locales et des contribuables. L’entente modifiée prévoit la réduction de quelque 3,7 milliards de dollars des coûts contractuels et une nouvelle capacité d’électricité de 1 369 MW qui sera produite en trois phases. Les modifications apportées prolongent les engagements en matière d’emploi et exigent l’adoption de résolutions d’appui du conseil municipal pour un projet existant qui en est à la deuxième phase et de tous les nouveaux projets réalisés en vertu de la troisième et dernière phase de l’entente.

Les investissements réalisés à ce jour au titre de l’entente ont permis d’ouvrir quatre usines de fabrication dans la province et de créer 900 emplois directs dans le domaine de l’énergie renouvelable. Au cours des 20 prochaines années, on s’attend à ce que les projets réalisés dans le cadre de l’entente continuent de profiter aux économies locales par le truchement d’ententes d’avantages communautaires et de partage de recettes.

5.3. INITIATIVE DE NÉGOCIATION DE CONTRATS DE CONTRATS DE PRODUCTION D’ÉNERGIE HYDROÉLECTRIQUE (INCPEH)

La SIERE a mis sur pied en 2009 l’Initiative de négociation de contrats de production d’énergie hydroélectrique (INCPEH), qui permettait aux installations hydroélectriques existantes sans contrat d’électricité d’obtenir des contrats de 20 ans prévoyant la vente d’énergie électrique propre au réseau ontarien. Les installations en exploitation depuis un certain nombre d’années ont ainsi eu la possibilité de poursuivre leurs activités. De plus, on leur donnait l’occasion de modifier les contrats pour tenir compte d’accroissement de capacité ou de réaménagement de projets.

Conformément à leurs contrats existants, les installations visées par l’INCPEH devaient accroître leur capacité ou procéder à un réaménagement avant le 21 janvier 2013. Une nouvelle possibilité d’accroissement de capacité ou de réaménagement s’est présentée aux installations de l’INCPEH par le truchement du volet Accroissement de capacité du Programme d’offre standard en matière d’énergie hydroélectrique (POSEH) en 2014, décrit ci-dessous.

Habituellement, les travaux d’accroissement de capacité de projets existants doivent faire l’objet d’une EE de portée générale pour les projets d’énergie hydraulique. Des renseignements plus détaillés à ce sujet se trouvent plus loin à la section sur le processus réglementaire.

5.4. PROGRAMME D’OFFRE STANDARD EN MATIÈRED’ÉNERGIE HYDROÉLECTRIQUE (POSEH)

En 2013, Le volet Projets municipaux du POSEH visait à fournir des possibilités aux municipalités proposant de nouveaux projets d’hydroélectricité d’une capacité supérieure à 500 kW qui avaient présenté des demandes de TRG avant le 5 juin 2010. Seuls les projets auxquels participaient des municipalités étaient admissibles. Le volet Projets municipaux du POSEH était assorti d’une cible d’approvisionnement de 60 MW et offrait un prix de base de 14,1 cents le kWh.

POSEH – volet Projets municipaux

Le volet Projets municipaux du POSEH visait à fournir des possibilités aux municipalités proposant de nouveaux projets d’hydroélectricité d’une capacité supérieure à 500 kW qui avaient présenté des demandes de TRG avant le 5 juin 2010. Seuls les projets auxquels participaient des municipalités étaient admissibles. Le volet Projets municipaux du POSEH était assorti d’une cible d’approvisionnement de 60 MW et offrait un prix de base de 14,1 cents le kWh.

Le 7 mars 2014, la SIERE a offert en tout trois contrats d’énergie renouvelable au titre du volet Projets municipaux du POSEH, d’une capacité totale de 35,25 MW, à des projets situés à Ottawa, à St. Catharines et à Horton. Ces projets relevaient entièrement des municipalités. La municipalité de St. Catharines prévoit tirer de l’exploitation de la centrale Shickluna, d’une capacité de 4,2 MW des recettes annuelles de 800 000 $ à 1 000 000 $.

Les 25 MW restants de la cible du volet Projets municipaux du POSEH ont été transférés à la cible de l’AGER I relative aux projets d’énergie hydraulique.

POSEH – volet Accroissement de capacité

Le volet Accroissement de capacité du POSEH offre aux installations hydroélectriques existantes la possibilité d’accroître leur capacité de production d’hydroélectricité. Les projets d’hydroélectricité existants visés par le volet Accroissement de capacité comprennent les installations de producteurs privés d’électricité et de l’INCPEH.

Une cible d’approvisionnement de 40 MW a été établie pour le volet Accroissement de capacité du POSEH. Les installations pouvaient présenter une demande du 1er octobre au 3 novembre 2014.

Le 24 mars 2015, la SIERE a annoncé qu’elle avait offert en tout cinq contrats au titre du volet Accroissement de capacité du POSEH.


3. En octobre 2014, Korea Electric Power Corporation (KEPCO) a été libérée de ses obligations au titre de l’entente. La province n’avait plus besoin de l’expertise technique de KEPCO et Samsung avait rempli ses obligations.