Canadian Solar

Project Summary Information

Project Title

Renewable Energy Microgrid Testing Centre

Amount Funded

$2,934,000

Project Collaborator(s)

University of Waterloo, NCC Development LP, Kinectrics Inc. and Electrovaya Inc.

LDC Collaborator(s)

Guelph Hydro Inc., Hydro One Remote Communities Inc.

Location(s)

Guelph, Ontario

Project Objective

The Renewable energy (RE) Microgrid Test Centre will provide testing and validation services for new microgrid system components and controls to achieve high energy penetration of RE resources. In support of the critical field implementation, the Test Centre will take a holistic approach to provide community energy plans, optimal design and feasibility assessment services. As each smart microgrid system is unique, the Test Centre will be able to simulate each proposed smart RE microgrid with its unique characteristics under near real life conditions. This will allow for verification of steady state and dynamic performance including stability, reliability, power quality and safety of the microgrid system in both islanded and grid connected modes.

Further, the RE Microgrid Test Centre’s approach to solution development will address problems associated with remote and islanded microgrids, including high and continually increasing diesel cost, low efficiency, low power security and environmental risks associated with the use of diesel.

Company Background

Canadian Solar Inc. is one of the leading solar manufacturers in the world, delivering industry leading high efficiency solar cells, solar modules, solar power systems and off grid solar power application solutions. With manufacturing facilities in Canada and China, Canadian Solar has a total module production capacity of 2.4GW. In the past 12 years, Canadian Solar has been working closely with over 1000 customers in over 70 countries, delivering over 6GW of solar modules. Some of these modules are installed in Canadian Solar’s facility that won 2012 Solar Project of the Year award; some are used by tens of thousands of families in their off grid small solar home systems for daily lighting.

Benefit(s) to Ontario Residents and Businesses

The RE Microgrid Test Centre will be unique in the world, as it focuses on testing, developing and integrating high penetration renewable energy solutions into existing microgrid assets which are dependent on diesel fuel and located in off-grid settings.

First Nations and remote communities will benefit from the solutions emerging from the RE Microgrid Test Centre, including reducing reliance on diesel, providing clean and reliable sources of locally generated energy, empowering First Nations, remote communities and large development projects to develop and sell local renewable energy.

It will also allow mines and other industries operating in remote locations to reduce their energy costs and reduce environment risk, thereby further spurring local economic opportunities.

Project Collaborators

  • University of Waterloo will consult and advise the RE Microgrid Test Centre on its project activities. The Centre will be open to the University for education and research purposes and the University will help provide engineering design assessments, participate in various review stages of projects, and provide comments and suggestions as the project proceeds.
  • NCC Development LP will bring First Nations clients from across Ontario and Canada to the RE Microgrid Test Centre and assist in coordinating Test Centre activities by taking the First Nations through staged tests developed by the RE Microgrid Test Centre.
  • Kinectrics Inc will provide expert technical engineering support services in areas such as conceptual design of the RE Microgrid Test Centre, equipment selection, power system impact assessment and standard test designs.
  • Electrovaya Inc will supply and install battery storage systems and integrate the energy storage system to the RE Microgrid Test Centre.
  • Guelph Hydro Inc is the local electricity utility and will provide engineering and design services to Canadian Solar.
  • Hydro One Remote Communities Inc. will offer technical and practical advice on how microgrid solutions can help to reduce the use of diesel fuel in the north.

Project Status

Currently not available.

Opportunities

Currently not available.

Related Documents

Currently not available.

Canadian Solar

Canadian Solar

Informations succinctes concernant le projet

Titre du projet

Centre d’essai de microréseaux d’énergies renouvelables

Montant financé

$2,934,000

Collaborateur(s) du projet

Université de Waterloo, NCC Development LP, Kinectrics Inc. et Electrovaya Inc.

Collaborateur(s) des entreprises de distribution locales

Guelph Hydro Inc., Hydro One Remote Communities Inc.

Site(s)

Guelph, Ontario

Objectif du projet

Le centre d’essai de microréseaux d’énergies renouvelables fournira des services d’essai et de validation pour les nouveaux composants et contrôles des systèmes microréseaux afin de tirer pleinement parti des ressources d’énergies renouvelables. Pour aider à l’importante mise en œuvre dans les bureaux, le centre d’essai adoptera une approche holistique afin de fournir des plans communautaires de consommation d’énergie, ainsi que des services optimaux de conception et d’évaluation de la faisabilité. Étant donné que chaque système microréseau intelligent est unique, le centre d’essai sera en mesure d’opérer une simulation, presque dans des conditions réelles, de chaque microréseau intelligent d’énergies renouvelables proposé, dans tout ce qu’il a de caractéristique. Il sera ainsi possible de vérifier la pérennité mais aussi les performances dynamiques du système microréseau, notamment sa stabilité, sa fiabilité, ainsi que la qualité et la sécurité de sa production tant en mode îloté que raccordé au réseau.

En outre, l’approche adoptée par le centre d’essai de microréseaux d’énergies renouvelables en matière de développement de solutions permettra de résoudre les problèmes rencontrés par les microréseaux distants et îlotés, parmi lesquels l’augmentation importante et continuelle du prix du diesel, les rendements faibles, le manque de sécurité de la production et les risques environnementaux qui accompagnent le recours au diesel.

Histoire de la société

La société Canadian Solar Inc. compte parmi les principaux producteurs au monde d’énergie solaire. Elle propose les cellules solaires à rendement élevé les plus prisées du secteur, des modules solaires, des systèmes d’énergie solaire, ainsi que des solutions d’utilisation de l’énergie solaire hors réseau. Sur l’ensemble de ses sites de production au Canada et en Chine, la société Canadian Solar assure une capacité totale de production de modules de 2,4 GW. Ces 12 dernières années, Canadian Solar a collaboré étroitement avec plus de 1 000 clients répartis dans plus de 70 pays, auxquels elle a fourni plus de 6 GW de modules solaires. Certains de ces modules sont installés dans le site de Canadian Solar qui a reçu le prix Solar Project of the Year 2012; d’autres sont utilisés par des dizaines de milliers de foyers au sein de leurs petits systèmes solaires hors réseau afin de produire leur éclairage quotidien.

Avantage(s) pour les résidents et entreprises en Ontario

Le centre d’essai de microréseaux d’énergies renouvelables sera unique au monde : il s’efforcera en priorité de tester, de développer et d’intégrer les solutions d’énergies renouvelables à forte pénétration aux ressources existantes des microréseaux dépendant du diesel et se trouvant dans des configurations hors réseau.

Les Premières nations et collectivités éloignées bénéficieront des avancées issues du centre d’essai de microréseaux d’énergies renouvelables, notamment de la possibilité de moins dépendre du diesel, et de la mise à disposition de ressources énergétiques propres, fiables et produites localement. Les Premières nations, les collectivités éloignées et les vastes projets de développement seront ainsi en mesure de produire et de vendre des énergies renouvelables locales.

Cela donnera également la possibilité aux mines et autres industries situées dans des régions reculées de réduire leurs coûts énergétiques et les risques pour l’environnement, favorisant encore les opportunités de l’économie locale.

Collaborateurs du project

  • L’Université de Waterloo proposera des services de consultation et de conseil au centre d’essai de microréseaux d’énergies renouvelables concernant les activités liées aux projets. Le centre ouvrira ses portes à l’Université à des fins d’éducation et de recherche, tandis que l’Université proposera des évaluations des conceptions d’ingénierie, participera à diverses étapes de révision des projets et fournira commentaires et suggestions au fil du déroulement des projets.
  • NCC Development LP guidera les clients des Premières nations de partout en Ontario et au Canada vers le centre d’essai de microréseaux d’énergies renouvelables et participera à la coordination des activités du centre d’essai en accompagnant les Premières nations dans le cadre d’essais par étapes mis au point par le centre d’essai.
  • Kinectrics Inc. proposera des services experts d’assistance à l’ingénierie technique dans divers domaines dont la conception du centre d’essai de microréseaux d’énergies renouvelables, la sélection de l’équipement, l’étude d’impact sur l’environnement d’un système d’alimentation et la conception d’essais standard.
  • Electrovaya Inc. proposera et installera des systèmes d’entreposage de l’énergie dans des piles et intégrera les systèmes en question au centre d’essai de microréseaux d’énergies renouvelables.
  • Guelph Hydro Inc. est le service local d’électricité qui fournit des services d’ingénierie et de conception à Canadian Solar.
  • Hydro One Remote Communities Inc. proposera des conseils techniques et pratiques concernant la manière dont des solutions de microréseaux peuvent contribuer à réduire la consommation de diesel dans le nord.

Avancement du project

Informations non disponibles actuellement.

Opportunités

Informations non disponibles actuellement.

Documents connexes

Informations non disponibles actuellement.