McMaster University

Project Summary Information

Project Title

Integrating Dynamic Pricing & Customer Feedback on Electricity Usage to Stimulate Residential Conservation & Demand Response

Amount Funded

$1,357,966

Project Collaborator(s)

Blue Line Innovations Inc.

LDC Collaborator(s)

Hydro One Networks Inc.

Location(s)

McMaster University, Hamilton and Burlington; Hydro One service area of residential consumers; Blue Line Innovations, Ottawa.

Project Objective

The goal is to identify customers’ reactions and the extent to which customers can reduce peak demand and conserve energy in response to a full integration of dynamic pricing and advanced customer feedback. This will lead to the development of portfolios of pricing plans and customer feedback technologies which will engage a wide range of customers by providing choice, and stimulate additional customer-driven demand response and additional conservation beyond currently observed values. This pilot of 1215 households will evaluate customers’ reaction to a wide portfolio of dynamic pricing plans combined with a range of energy-usage feedback mechanisms used to inform customers on electricity usage and identify opportunities for load shifting and conservation. The effectiveness of the information and feedback on customers’ ability to shift peak load and/or conserve energy will be assessed by the McMaster team.

Company Background

The lead, McMaster University is a research-intensive university in Ontario, known for its innovative research and collaborative research with business. The McMaster DeGroote School of Business has an established history of evaluating energy pricing, and has provided authoritative advice to utilities and governments. McMaster is also producing the next generation of highly qualified graduates for Ontario’s emergent energy technology sector.

Benefit(s) to Ontario Residents and Businesses

Project outcomes regarding the effectiveness of information and feedback combined with innovative electricity rates will provide valuable insight into Ontario’s electric utilities and regulatory agencies regarding novel electric pricing and information to promote a culture of conservation. This insight will potentially lead to residents’ energy savings coming from the integration of amenable pricing plans with relevant information feedback. This demonstration project will foster an Ontario centre of excellence for electricity in data analytics and customer engagement. Scaling of the solution to the rest of North America will take place in Ontario. The project will also help develop the next generation of highly qualified personnel for Ontario’s advanced energy infrastructure.

Project Collaborators

Hydro One Networks Inc. will assist to identify a cross-section of participants and will also be consulted throughout the demonstration project for advice and guidance.

Blue Line Innovations Inc. will be contributing hardware solutions and will work closely with the engineering partners to adapt and test our various hardware and software solutions. They will also provide technical resources dedicated to customer care.

Project Status

  • Participating customers will be recruited in early 2015.
  • The necessary Blue Line equipment will be installed at the customer premises by March 2015.
  • The time period for the customer participation is between April 2015 and March 2016.
  • The report and project completion will be developed by October 2016
  • The commercialization plan will be issued by October 2017.

Opportunities

Not available at this time.

Related Documents

Not available at this time.

Université McMaster

Informations succinctes concernant le projet

Titre du projet

Introduction de la tarification dynamique & utilisation des commentaires des clients sur la consommation énergétique pour promouvoir l’économie énergétique résidentielle et mieux répondre à la demande

Montant financé

$1,357,966

Collaborateur(s) du projet

Blue Line Innovations Inc.

Collaborateur(s) des entreprises de distribution locales

Hydro One Networks Inc.

Site(s)

Université McMaster, Hamilton et Burlington; zone de service résidentielle d’Hydro One; Blue Line Innovations, Ottawa.

Objectif du projet

L’objectif du projet est de recueillir les réactions des clients et de découvrir dans quelle mesure ils peuvent limiter la demande et économiser l’énergie en période de pointe si on intègre complètement la tarification dynamique et tient compte de leurs commentaires. Il sera ainsi possible de créer des plans de tarification et des technologies de rétroaction qui permettront à un grand nombre de clients de faire des choix éclairés et, par conséquent, de mieux répondre aux demandes de la clientèle et de réaliser des économies énergétiques supérieures aux valeurs actuellement observées. Le projet pilote, couvrant 1215 foyers, permettra d’évaluer la réaction des clients devant un large éventail de plans de tarification dynamique et une variété d’outils de rétroaction en lien avec la consommation énergétique. Ces outils permettront d’informer les clients sur leur consommation électrique et sur les occasions d’économiser l’énergie et de déplacer les charges en période de pointe. L’équipe de McMaster évaluera l’efficacité des renseignements et les commentaires des clients sur leur capacité à économiser l’énergie et à déplacer les charges en période de pointe.

Histoire de la société

L’Université McMster, à la tête du projet, est une université ontarienne centrée sur la recherche et reconnue pour ses recherches novatrices et ses recherches en collaboration avec des entreprises. L’École supérieure de commerce et d’administration DeGroote de l’Université McMaster évalue depuis longtemps la tarification énergétique et donne des conseils qui font autorité aux gouvernements et aux services publics. McMaster forme aussi la prochaine génération de diplômés hautement qualifiés pour le secteur des technologies énergétiques émergentes en Ontario.

Avantage(s) pour les résidents et entreprises en Ontario

Les résultats du projet quant à l’efficacité des renseignements, de la rétroaction et des nouveaux tarifs d’électricité fourniront aux services publics et aux organismes de réglementation en Ontario un précieux portrait qui leur permettra de bien établir la nouvelle tarification énergétique et de miser sur les bons renseignements pour promouvoir une culture d’économie d’énergie. Éventuellement, ces données pourraient faire en sorte que l’économie énergétique des résidents provienne de l’intégration de plans tarifaires flexibles et d’un retour d’information pertinent. Ce projet pilote promouvra un centre d’excellence en Ontario pour l’électricité, axé plus particulièrement sur l’analyse de données et la participation des clients. L’adaptation de la solution pour le reste de l’Amérique du Nord aura également lieu en Ontario. Finalement, le projet contribuera à former la prochaine génération d’employés hautement qualifiés pour les infrastructures énergétiques avancées de l’Ontario.

Collaborateurs du project

Hydro One Networks Inc. participera à l’identification d’un groupe représentatif de résidents et servira de guide et de conseiller tout au long du projet pilote.

Blue Line Innovations Inc. fournira les solutions matérielles et travaillera en étroite collaboration avec les ingénieurs partenaires pour adapter et tester les différentes solutions matérielles et logicielles. L’entreprise fournira également les ressources techniques en lien avec le service à la clientèle.

Avancement du project

  • Les clients seront recrutés au début de l’année 2015.
  • L’équipement de Blue Line sera installé chez les clients en mars 2015.
  • La participation des clients s’échelonnera d’avril 2015 à mars 2016.
  • Le projet se terminera en octobre 2016, période à laquelle les rapports seront produits.
  • Le plan de commercialisation sera dévoilé en octobre 2017.

Opportunités

Aucune information à ce sujet en ce moment.

Documents connexes

Aucune information à ce sujet en ce moment.