Panasonic Eco Solutions Canada

Project Summary Information

Project Title

Microgrid Research and Innovation Park – UOIT

Amount Funded

$3,829,000

Project Collaborator(s)

  • General Electric Digital Energy
  • University of Ontario Institute of Technology (UOIT)

LDC Collaborator(s)

  • Oshawa Power Utilities Corporation
  • Hydro One

Location(s)

University of Ontario Institute of Technology (UOIT)
Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science
2000 Simcoe Street North,
Oshawa, ON L1H 7K4

Project Objective

The Microgrid Research and Innovation Park will develop and demonstrate a functioning ‘grid-tied’ microgrid at the University of Ontario Institute of Technology (UOIT) campus in Oshawa. A 500kW Lithium ion (Li-ion) battery energy storage system, inverter system, 50kW solar PV generation and microgrid controller/optimizer will be integrated with the existing 1.6MW diesel and 2.4MW Combined Heat and Power (CHP) generation plants for this microgrid. The islanded microgrid will power first-priority critical loads during grid interruptions that are isolated from the grid until overall power is restored. The project has several objectives:

  1. Demonstrate the UOIT microgrid and its operation on “islanded” mode
  2. Provide backup power support to critical loads to the designated Evacuation Centre situated on the UOIT campus
  3. Demonstrate commercialization of smart microgrid concept as a scalable emergency grid-tied islanded power application for hospitals, military bases, pharmaceutical manufacturing, chemical processing plants, etc.
  4. Offer test facility for smart microgrid development and innovative research for UOIT professors, students and associated industries to further improve performance and reduce costs of microgrid systems.

Company Background

Panasonic Eco Solutions Canada, Inc. is the Canadian arm of global giant Panasonic Corporation with focus on deploying renewable energy solutions including Solar PV systems and Li-ion Battery energy storage systems in Canada.

Benefit(s) to Ontario Residents and Businesses

Panasonic’s 500kW Li-ion battery storage system and 50kW solar PV system will provide power to critical first-priority loads at the UIOT campus through Power Conditioning System (PCS) system. Proper operation and load, storage and generation balancing of new renewable and storage sources with existing generation systems will be made possible by GE’s microgrid controller and optimizer systems. Subsequently the existing 1.6MW diesel generators and 2.4MW CHP plant will power the second and third priority loads. The UOIT microgrid will also provide a facility for research and testing to improve and develop the microgrid concept for larger projects such projects include hospitals, military facilities, chemical processing plants and research facilities that require seamless power transition from the grid during power failures. Smart microgrids also offer power utilities the advantage of being grid-independent in islanded mode of operation.

Project Collaborators

  • Panasonic Eco Solutions Canada, Inc. will provide Li-ion battery storage and solar PV generation systems
  • GE Digital Energy will provide Microgrid Optimizer/controller system (Software + Hardware)
  • UOIT Faculty of Engineering and Applied Sciences will provide the project site, microgrid simulations, testing and research and the 1.6MW Diesel generation system for proposed microgrid
  • OPUC provides the 2.4MW CHP plant and expertise on 13.8kV side of the microgrid
  • Hydro One will provide technical expertise and regulatory aspects of 44kV transmission side

Project Status

  1. Project Plan, Connection Impact Assessment (CIA) and Equipment Specification Completion – December 2014
  2. Detailed Design/Location Determination and Equipment Specs finalization for manufacture – March 2015
  3. Obtain Permits/Authorisations and Resolve LDC Connectivity Issues – June 2015
  4. Completion of Project Construction – Nov 2015
  5. Project Commissioning – March 2016
  6. Project Completion/Evaluation – August 2016

Opportunities

Close involvement between collaborators has enabled PESCA and OPUC to develop joint partnerships for other renewable energy projects.

Related Documents

Nothing available at this time.

Panasonic Eco Solutions Canada

Informations succinctes concernant le projet

Titre du projet

Parc de recherche et d’innovation en matière de microréseaux – IUTO

Montant financé

$3,829,000

Collaborateur(s) du projet

  • General Electric Digital Energy
  • Institut universitaire de technologie de l’Ontario (IUTO)

Collaborateur(s) des entreprises de distribution locales

  • Oshawa Power Utilities Corporation
  • Hydro One

Site(s)

Institut universitaire de technologie de l’Ontario (IUTO)
Faculté de génie et de sciences appliquées
2000 Simcoe Street North,
Oshawa, ON L1H 7K4

Objectif du projet

Le Parc de recherche et d’innovation en matière de microréseaux mettra au point et présentera un microréseau opérationnel connecté au réseau sur le campus de l’Institut universitaire de technologie de l’Ontario (IUTO) à Oshawa. Pour ce microréseau, un système d’entreposage 500 kW de l’énergie dans des piles Lithium ion (Li-ion), un onduleur, un dispositif de génération par panneaux solaires 50 kW et un dispositif de contrôle/d’optimisation du microréseau seront intégrés aux centrales électriques existantes diesel 1,6 MW et à production combinée 2,4 MW. Le microréseau îloté alimentera les charges critiques prioritaires lors des interruptions du réseau, qui sont isolées du réseau jusqu’à restauration complète de l’alimentation. Le projet poursuit plusieurs objectifs :

  1. Présenter le microréseau IUTO et son fonctionnement en mode « îloté »
  2. Proposer une alimentation de réserve pour les charges critiques au centre d’évacuation désigné situé sur le campus de l’IUTO
  3. Présenter la commercialisation du concept de microréseau intelligent en tant qu’application d’alimentation d’urgence îlotée, évolutive et connectée au réseau à destination des hôpitaux, bases militaires, fabriques de produits pharmaceutiques, stations de traitement chimique, etc.
  4. Proposer une installation d’essai servant au développement les microréseaux intelligents et à la recherche innovante à destination des professeurs et étudiants de l’IUTO, et aux secteurs industriels associés dans le but d’améliorer encore les performances et de réduire les coûts des systèmes de microréseaux..

Histoire de la société

Panasonic Eco Solutions Canada, Inc. est la branche canadienne du géant mondial Panasonic Corporation. Elle s’est spécialisée dans le déploiement de solutions s’appuyant sur les énergies renouvelables, y compris les panneaux solaires et systèmes d’entreposage de l’énergie dans des piles Li-ion au Canada.

Avantage(s) pour les résidents et entreprises en Ontario

Le système d’entreposage dans des piles Li-ion 500kW et le système de panneaux solaires 50 kW de Panasonic alimentent les charges prioritaires critiques du campus de l’IUTO par le biais du système de conditionnement de l’énergie. Les systèmes de contrôle et d’optimisation du microréseau de GE permettront un bon fonctionnement, l’entreposage de la charge et l’équilibrage de la génération entre les nouvelles sources d’énergies renouvelables et d’entreposage, et les systèmes de génération existants. Par la suite, les générateurs diesel 1,6 MW existants et la centrale à production combinée 2,4 MW alimenteront les charges secondaires et tertiaires. Le microréseau de l’IUTO proposera également une installation de recherche et d’essai visant à améliorer et développer le concept de microréseau, à destination des projets de plus grande envergure, tels que les projets concernant les hôpitaux, les bases militaires, les stations de traitement chimique et les sites de recherche nécessitant une transition d’alimentation depuis le réseau sans interruption lors des coupures de courant. Les microréseaux intelligents permettent également aux services publics de fonctionner indépendamment du réseau en mode îloté.

Collaborateurs du project

  • Panasonic Eco Solutions Canada, Inc. proposera des systèmes d’entreposage dans des piles Li-ion et de génération par panneaux solaires
  • GE Digital Energy proposera un système d’optimisation/de contrôle du microréseau (logiciel + matériel)
  • Pour le microréseau proposé, la Faculté de génie et de sciences appliquées de l’IUTO fournira le site du projet, des simulations, essais et recherches concernant le microréseau, ainsi que le système de génération diesel 1,6 MW
  • OPUC propose la centrale à production combinée 2,4 MW, ainsi que son expertise concernant le côté 13,8 kV du microréseau
  • Hydro One proposera son expertise technique et les aspects juridiques du côté transmission 44 kV

Avancement du project

  1. Plan du projet, évaluation de l’impact du raccordement et finalisation des spécifications de l’équipement – Décembre 2014
  2. Conception détaillée/détermination de la localisation et finalisation des spécifications de l’équipement pour fabrication – Mars 2015
  3. Obtention des permis/autorisations et résolution des problèmes de connectivité des entreprises de distribution locales – Juin 2015
  4. Achèvement de la mise au point du projet – Nov. 2015
  5. Mise en service du projet – Mars 2016
  6. Fin du projet/évaluation – Août 2016

Opportunités

La forte implication des collaborateurs a permis à PESCA et à OPUC d’établir des partenariats pour d’autres projets concernant les énergies renouvelables.

Documents connexes

Non disponibles actuellement.