Prolucid

Solar panels

Project Summary Information

Project Title

Prolucid Smart Grid Power Technologies

Amount Funded

$887,820

Project Collaborator(s)

WindShare, Ciufo & Cooperber, National Instruments

LDC Collaborator(s)

Toronto Hydro-Electric System Limited

Location(s)

Toronto, ON

Project Objective

Prolucid and LocalGrid have built an integrated communication network of intelligent grid devices that enable Toronto Hydro-Electric System Limited (Toronto Hydro) to better manage, monitor and control the power grid at Exhibition Place and Toronto Hydro’s office in Toronto. As Toronto Hydro deploys the solution, the LocalGrid DataFabricTM, to grid edge devices they are empowered with real-time data for local visibility of the power grid at a particular site. The solution enables Toronto Hydro to better manage the power grid cost effectively with minimal impact to operations for better grid reliability and customer satisfaction.

Company Background

Prolucid provides custom software development for a variety of industries requiring embedded solutions. As one of the affects of the Smart Grid Fund, Prolucid was able to create a spin-off company, LocalGrid Technologies Inc. to commercialize embedded software solutions for the power utility industry. LocalGrid is developing a secure, embedded software-based platform as an Industrial Internet of Things architecture to enable power utilities to cost effectively improve grid reliability and stability. Deploying LocalGrid’s solution, the LocalGrid DataFabricTM, to grid edge devices such as a wind turbine or substation, power utilities begin to create a connected network of intelligent devices allowing for better insight across the entire power grid. The LocalGrid DataFabricTM maximizes the use of existing energy assets and enables more intelligent, cost effective solutions to add renewable generation and other new technology to the grid for a fraction of alternative renewable, and deliver more reliable power to customers.
Cables on roof

Benefit(s) to Ontario Residents and Businesses

The LocalGrid DataFabricTM and supporting applications reduce the integration costs for Ontario power utilities looking to develop smart grid solutions by providing in-field data analytics capability to make more effective use of grid edge devices. Ontario residents and businesses will benefit from LocalGrid’s solution as the power grid becomes more reliable, less susceptible to power failures and minimized impacts when an outage does occur.

Project Collaborators

National Instruments Corporation. Project roles: Providing the technology platform for demonstration and rapid prototyping. Partnering with Prolucid Technologies on delivery of a complete solution. Providing hardware as well as engineering and technical capability.

WindShare. Project roles: Providing access to wind turbine at Exhibition Place for monitoring and collecting data on generation. Providing consulting on integration with existing turbine control system.

Ciufo & Cooperberg Consulting Inc. Project roles: Industry consultants, providing engineering consulting services on integration of solution with substation protection systems.

Project Status

Prolucid, LocalGrid and Toronto Hydro have been using a number of systems to monitor and collect data on Toronto Hydro’s solar generation sites and wind generation site at Exhibition Place for over a year. Prolucid, together with our project partner, National Instruments, and LocalGrid, has used the LocalGrid DataFabricTM core technology to release a Power Quality Analyzer into the NI Tools Network for use by other integrators and engineers. This product is designed to support a distributed, Industrial Internet architecture and allow for rapid development and deployment of a distributed application based on power quality. This is a significant milestone for the project where some of the technology is released to a commercial product.

Opportunities

The SGF demonstration project has enabled Prolucid and LocalGrid to develop strategic relationships with large key players in the energy industry, representing Ontario as an innovation hub for smarter grids. In August 2013, LocalGrid announced a partnership with Real-Time Innovations (RTI) the real-time infrastructure software company that leads the Industrial Internet of Things, and recently released the statement that LocalGrid and RTI plan to deliver secure microgrid solutions using advanced DDS protocol. At the same time, LocalGrid announced a partnership with Tresys to develop distributed energy solutions with built-in military grade security. The potential of the technology we have developed here in Ontario is huge and will have a global impact.

Related Documents

Prolucid

solar panels on roof

Informations succinctes concernant le projet

Titre du projet

Technologies énergétiques de réseau intelligent de Prolucid

Montant financé

$887,820

Collaborateur(s) du projet

WindShare, Ciufo & Cooperber, National Instruments

Collaborateur(s) des entreprises de distribution locales

Toronto Hydro-Electric System Limited

Site(s)

Toronto, ON

Objectif du projet

Prolucid et LocalGridont ont créé un réseau de communication intégré composé d’appareils réseau intelligents qui permettent à Toronto Hydro-Electric System Limited (Toronto Hydro) de mieux gérer, surveiller et contrôler le réseau électrique de l’Exhibition Place et des bureaux de Toronto Hydro à Toronto. En intégrant la solution de LocalGrid, la LocalGrid DataFabricTM, à ses appareils en périphérie de réseau, Toronto Hydro profite de données en temps réel sur le réseau énergétique de sites particuliers. La solution de LocalGrid permet à Toronto Hydro de gérer efficacement les coûts du réseau tout en minimisant les interruptions de production, ce qui améliore la fiabilité du réseau et la satisfaction de la clientèle.

Histoire de la société

Prolucid développe des logiciels personnalisés pour diverses entreprises nécessitant des solutions intégrées. Grâce au Smart Grid Fund, Prolucid a pu créer une entreprise issue de la scission, LocalGrid Technologies Inc.), et commercialiser des solutions logicielles intégrées pour les services publics d’électricité. LocalGrid développe une plateforme logicielle intégrée et sécuritaire basée sur l’Internet industriel des objets pour permettre aux services publics d’électricité d’améliorer la fiabilité et la stabilité des réseaux de façon efficiente. En intégrant la solution de LocalGrid, la LocalGrid DataFabricTM, à leurs appareils en périphérie de réseau comme les éoliennes et les postes électriques, les services publics d’électricité commenceront à créer un réseau connecté d’appareils intelligents qui leur permettra de mieux analyser l’ensemble du réseau électrique. La LocalGrid DataFabricTM permet de maximiser l’utilisation des biens énergétiques existants et de favoriser les solutions intelligentes et efficientes pour produire de l’énergie renouvelable, fournir de l’électricité avec une fiabilité accrue et ajouter au réseau de nouvelles technologies, et ce, à une fraction du prix des autres sources d’énergie renouvelables.

Cables

Avantage(s) pour les résidents et entreprises en Ontario

La LocalGrid DataFabricMD et les applications connexes permettent aux services publics d’électricité de l’Ontario qui souhaitent se tourner vers des solutions de réseau intelligent de limiter les coûts d’intégration en tirant parti de capacités d’analyse de données sur place qui les aideront à utiliser efficacement les appareils en périphérie du réseau. Les résidents et entreprises de l’Ontario profiteront de la solution de LocalGrid puisque le réseau électrique sera plus fiable et moins sujet aux coupures de courant et qu’en cas de coupure, les conséquences seront minimisées.

Collaborateurs du project

National Instruments – La LocalGrid DataFabricTM est une solution logicielle intégrée déployée sur la plateforme informatique tout-terrain CompactRIO 9068 de National Instruments. Les appareils peuvent être installés virtuellement n’importe où, comme sur des poteaux électriques, des éoliennes, des installations solaires, etc. National Instruments fournit le soutien matériel et technique pour le projet.

Avancement du project

Prolucid, LocalGrid et Toronto Hydro utilisent depuis plus d’un an de nombreux systèmes pour surveiller la production énergétique solaire du site de Toronto Hydro et la production éolienne de l’Exhibition Place, et y recueillir des données. De concert avec son partenaire pour ce projet, National Instruments (NI), Local Grid utilise la technologie de sa LocalGrid DataFabricTM pour lancer l’outil d’analyse de la qualité énergétique dans le réseau d’outils de NI, qui pourra être utilisé par les autres ingénieurs et intégrateurs. Ce produit est conçu pour prendre en charge une architecture d’Internet industriel distribuée et pour permettre le développement et le déploiement rapides d’une application distribuée axée sur la qualité énergétique. L’utilisation partielle de cette technologie dans un produit commercial marque un jalon important dans l’avancement du projet.

Opportunités

Le projet pilote de SGF a permis à LocalGrid de nouer des relations stratégiques avec des acteurs importants dans l’industrie de la production énergétique et de faire de l’Ontario un pôle d’innovation en matière de réseaux intelligents. En août 2013, LocalGrid annonçait un partenariat avec Real-Time Innovations (RTI), le fabricant de logiciels d’infrastructure en temps réel à la tête de l’Internet industriel des objets. De plus, l’entreprise a récemment déclaré qu’elle planifiait, en collaboration avec RTI, lancer des solutions de miniréseaux sécurisés utilisant un protocole DDS avancé. Au même moment, LocalGrid annonçait également son partenariat avec Tresys pour développer des solutions de distribution énergétique conformes aux normes de sécurité militaires. Le potentiel de la technologie développée en Ontario est énorme et les répercussions se feront sentir à l’échelle mondiale.

Documents connexes

Varentec is the recipient of the 2013 Utility Technology Challenge, 2013 Greentech Media Innovation Award and Best Distribution Automation Solution, Global Cleantech 100 Award. Varentec is also the recipient of $2.2M from the United States Department of Energy for Advanced Volt VAR Control, and $5M for Advanced Power Router technology.