Ryerson University’s Centre for Urban Energy

Project Summary Information

Project Title

Schneider Electric Smart Grid Laboratory

Amount Funded

$500,000

Project Collaborator(s)

Schneider Electric

LDC Collaborator(s)

n/a

Location(s)

147 Dalhousie Street, Toronto ON M5B 2R2

Project Objective

This laboratory will constitute a permanent facility at Ryerson University. Teaming with Schneider Electric, university faculty members, researchers and students will develop and deliver solutions in the areas of smart grids, Advanced Metering Infrastructure (AMI) and pilot testing and demonstrations. It will further develop state-of-the-art technologies for consumer control and demand response (customer control and power system flexibility). These solutions will provide long-term techno-economic benefits for the province. In the long-term, this laboratory will become an integral part of a master’s degree program in Energy Management and Innovation, providing industrial internships where instructors from industry and utilities will train and educate new cohorts of smart-grid-ready engineers, adding further value to Ontario’s economy.

Company Background

The Centre for Urban Energy (CUE) at Ryerson University builds energy innovation into the urban grid, with opportunities for students, faculty, private and public sector partners to solve tomorrow’s energy challenges today. CUE is a collaborative venture between Ryerson University and founding sponsors, Hydro One, Ontario Power Authority and Toronto Hydro. CUE’s mission:

  • Build academic, public- and private- sector partnerships
  • Encourage multi-disciplinary and collaborative approaches
  • Conduct research, development and demonstration, leading to commercialization
  • Provide scholarship and learning opportunities

Benefit(s) to Ontario Residents and Businesses

The smart grid laboratory will host infrastructure similar to a small Advanced Distribution System (ADS). It will have capability to operate as a Local Distribution Company (LDC) or as a microgrid and will use low voltage switch gear, internet enabled state-of-the-art relays, intelligent devices and industrial equipment. This infrastructure will integrate energy storage systems and renewable energy sources. The project is a capacity and infrastructure building project for the province. It is created for testing, R&D, pilots and education (internships). Key benefits to the province include:

  • Leveraging additional value from Ontario’s smart meter investment
  • Pilot testing of innovative energy solutions
  • Education and internships
  • Economic development opportunities, job creation and investment
  • Expanding Ontario’s competitive advantage in the global smart grid market.

Project Collaborators

Schneider Electric has committed to supply and install equipment for the CUE as well as collaborating on a six-month ADS demonstration project. The laboratory is being created by Ryerson in partnership with Schneider Electric.

Project Status

  1. Construction Phase 1 (Basic Design Delivery) – June 6, 2014
  2. Construction Phase 2 (Detailed Design & Main Component Procurement) – July 25, 2014
  3. Construction Phase 3 (Manufacturing, Configuration of Components & Factory Acceptance Test, FOB) – September 30, 2014
  4. Installation Services, Commission and Testing – October 31, 2014

Opportunities

The Centre facilitates numerous projects from Ryerson faculty, collaborating universities, sponsors and industry. The Centre and the Smart Grid Laboratory will be open for collaboration and use by other Ontario-based institutions and businesses. It will become an important incubator of innovative ideas for Ontario’s Smart Grid vision.

As well as collaboration there will also be opportunities to develop industry standards, accessible technical resources and future plans for related education programs. Creation of this laboratory will also facilitate training of Highly Qualified Personnel specializing in smart grids contributing to provincial economy. Financial resources to commercialize solution will also be available through Ryerson’s Office of Research Services (ORS) which provides extensive support to patent and commercialize ideas and solutions.

Related Documents

Nothing available at this time.

Université Ryerson Centre for Urban Energy

Informations succinctes concernant le projet

Titre du projet

Laboratoire pour les microréseaux de Schneider Electric

Montant financé

$500,000

Collaborateur(s) du projet

Schneider Electric

Collaborateur(s) des entreprises de distribution locales

S.O.

Site(s)

147 Dalhousie Street, Toronto ON M5B 2R2

Site(s)

Ce laboratoire aura le statut d’installation permanente au sein de l’Université Ryerson. S’associant à Schneider Electric, les membres de l’université, ses chercheurs et ses étudiants mettront au point et fourniront des solutions dans les domaines des microréseaux, de l’infrastructure de compteurs avancés (ICA), ainsi que des essais et présentations de projets pilotes. Ces efforts contribueront à développer encore les technologies de pointe en matière de contrôle de la consommation et d’intervention en fonction de la demande des consommateurs (flexibilité du contrôle de la consommation et du réseau électrique). Ces solutions offriront à la province des avantages technico-économiques durables. Sur le long terme, ce laboratoire fera partie intégrante d’un programme de maîtrise en gestion de l’énergie et en innovation. Il proposera des stages industriels dans le cadre desquels des instructeurs provenant de l’industrie et des services publics formeront et éduqueront de nouveaux ingénieurs en microréseaux, ce qui bénéficiera encore une fois à l’économie de l’Ontario.

Histoire de la société

Le CUE (Centre for Urban Energy – Centre d’énergie urbaine) de l’Université Ryerson insuffle un vent d’innovation dans les réseaux urbains, proposant aux étudiants, à la faculté, ainsi qu’aux partenaires tant du secteur public que privé de s’attacher à résoudre dès aujourd’hui les enjeux de demain en matière d’énergie. Le CUE est une initiative de collaboration qui réunit l’Université Ryerson et les commanditaires fondateurs, Hydro One, l’Ontario Power Authority et Toronto Hydro. Sa mission :

  • Établir des partenariats avec le secteur de l’éducation, et les secteurs public et privé
  • Encourager les approches multidisciplinaires et collaboratives
  • Mener des recherches, un développement et des présentations visant à la commercialisation
  • Proposer des bourses et perspectives d’apprentissage

Avantage(s) pour les résidents et entreprises en Ontario

Le laboratoire pour les microréseaux accueillera une infrastructure semblable à un petit réseau de distribution avancé. Il sera en mesure d’agir en tant qu’entreprise de distribution locale ou en tant que microréseau, et utilisera des appareils de connexion à basse tension, des relais Internet de pointe, des appareils intelligents et de l’équipement industriel. Cette infrastructure comprendra des systèmes d’entreposage de l’énergie, ainsi que des sources d’énergies renouvelables. Ce projet a pour objet de développer les capacités et l’infrastructure de la province. Il a été mis au point afin de réaliser des essais, de la recherche et du développement, des projets pilotes et des cursus pédagogiques (stages). Parmi les principaux avantages pour la province, citons :

  • Dégager une valeur ajoutée supplémentaire à partir des investissements consentis par l’Ontario dans les compteurs intelligents
  • Procéder à des essais de projets pilotes des solutions d’énergie innovantes
  • Cursus pédagogiques et stages
  • Ouvrir des perspectives de développement économique, de création d’emplois et d’investissements
  • Augmenter l’avantage de l’Ontario sur la compétition sur le marché mondial des réseaux intelligents.

Collaborateurs du project

La société Schneider Electric s’est engagée à fournir et installer des équipements pour le CUE, ainsi qu’à collaborer dans le cadre d’un projet de présentation du réseau de distribution avancé de six mois. Le laboratoire est en cours d’installation par l’Université Ryerson en partenariat avec Schneider Electric.

Avancement du project

  1. Phase de construction 1 (mise à disposition de la conception de base) – 6 juin 2014
  2. Phase de construction 2 (conception détaillée et approvisionnement concernant les principaux composants) – 25 juillet 2014
  3. Phase de construction 3 (fabrication, configuration des composants et essai d’acceptation en usine, FOB) – 30 septembre 2014
  4. Services d’installation, mise en service et essais – 31 octobre 2014

Opportunités

Le Centre gère de nombreux projets provenant de la faculté de Ryerson, d’universités associées, de commanditaires et de l’industrie. Le Centre et le laboratoire pour microréseaux seront à la disposition d’autres institutions et entreprises en Ontario. Ils deviendront une pépinière incontournable qui permettra à l’Ontario de concrétiser sa vision des microréseaux par l’émergence d’idées innovantes.

Outre les possibilités de collaboration, il est également prévu de mettre au point des normes industrielles, des ressources techniques accessibles et des plans pour les futurs programmes pédagogiques connexes. La mise en place de ce laboratoire facilitera également la formation du personnel hautement qualifié, spécialisé dans les réseaux intelligents, ce qui représentera un véritable avantage pour l’économie de la province. Les ressources financières nécessaires à la commercialisation de la solution seront également disponibles par le biais du Bureau de services de recherche de Ryerson qui propose un dispositif d’aide complet au dépôt de brevets et à la commercialisation d’idées et de solutions.

Documents connexes

Non disponibles actuellement.