Ryerson University’s Centre for Urban Energy

Project Summary Information

Project Title

Electricity Pole-Mounted Energy Storage For Improving LDC System Reliability

Amount Funded

$609, 850

Project Collaborator(s)

 

LDC Collaborator(s)

Toronto Hydro-Electric System Limited (THESL)

Location(s)

Centre for Urban Energy Smart Grid Laboratory and Toronto Hydro service territory

Project Objective

eCamion has a mature modular energy storage product that can be modified with minimal investment for deployment with pole mount transformers on the same pole. In this project, eCamion’s modular storage solution will be combined with a smart controller, developed by Ryerson, that communicates with downstream smart meters of connected residences. The project objective is to develop and demonstrate electricity pole mounted smart energy storage solution (PMESS) on the Toronto Hydro system to show integration of smart meters, electric vehicle chargers and improved system reliability.

Company Background

The Centre for Urban Energy (CUE) is a division within the Faculty of Engineering and Architectural Science (FEAS) at Ryerson University. As an educational institution set up for higher learning, it has a mandate to conduct externally-funded research projects. CUE has also recently received Ministry of Energy Smart Grid Funding to establish a Smart Grid Laboratory. CUE has over 40 partners/collaborators for its projects and works with 70 researchers comprised of students, faculty and staff.

Benefit(s) to Ontario Residents and Businesses

This is an important demonstration of the promise of storage at the edge of the grid. Toronto Hydro, as a large urban utility, will benefit by way of reduced cost on infrastructure upgrade, reduced energy costs, reduced usage during peak hours, enhanced grid reliability and increased power flexibility. The project will also showcase the development of a local technology: eCamion is a local company out of Scarborough, Ontario. The heart of this product, that is the controller and other solutions, are locally developed and are going to be pursued for worldwide commercialization.

Project Collaborators

eCamion, an energy storage company that has successfully deployed a street level energy storage solution with Toronto Hydro-Electric System Limited (THESL). They will assist in developing an intelligent controller that harvests smart meter data for intelligent load management. eCamion will be designing, engineering, building and testing the pole-mounted energy storage solution (PMESS) for this project and the associated support to install the PMESS at a site to be determined as part of the project.

Toronto Hydro is the largest LDC in Ontario with proven engineering capabilities. They will invest in this project to install, test and monitor these pole top energy storage solutions and allow access to their smart meters while addressing all data protection and privacy protocols.

Project Status

  1. Full agreement execution – advance – September, 2014
  2. Customization of energy storage solution for pole top application – April, 2015
  3. Development of smart controller that integrates with local smart meter data – Sept, 2015
  4. Laboratory Testing – Dec, 2015
  5. Installation of solution on Toronto Hydro System – July, 2016
  6. Project completion – August, 2016
  7. Commercialization report – August, 2017

Opportunities

This project will help build future partnerships to address other opportunities, such as:

  • Collection and assessment of smart meter data
  • Develop utility standards.

Related Documents

Not available at this time

Université Ryerson Centre for Urban Energy

Informations succinctes concernant le projet

Titre du projet

Stockage d’électricité sur poteau pour améliorer la fiabilité des systèmes des entreprises de distribution locale

Montant financé

$366,500

Collaborateur(s) du projet

 

Collaborateur(s) des entreprises de distribution locales

Centre for Urban Energy Smart Grid Laboratory and Toronto Hydro service territory

Site(s)

147, rue Dalhousie, Toronto (Ontario) M5B 2R2

Objectif du projet

eCamion possède un produit de stockage énergétique modulaire évolué qui, pour un investissement minime, peut être modifié afin d’intégrer un transformateur aux poteaux. Dans le cadre de ce projet, la solution de stockage modulaire d’eCamion sera combinée à un régulateur de charge intelligent, conçu par Ryerson, qui communique avec les compteurs intelligents des résidences connectées en aval. L’objectif du projet est d’intégrer au système de Toronto Hydro une solution de stockage énergétique intelligente sur poteau pour en démontrer la facilité d’intégration des compteurs intelligents et des chargeurs et la fiabilité accrue des systèmes.

Histoire de la société

Le Centre for Urban Energy (CUE) est une division de la faculté de génie et des sciences de l’architecture de l’Université Ryerson. En tant qu’établissement d’enseignement de niveau supérieur, il a pour mandat de réaliser des projets de recherche financés par des tiers. Le ministère de l’Énergie a récemment alloué au CUE le Fonds de développement du réseau intelligent pour mettre en place un laboratoire spécialisé dans les réseaux intelligents. Pour réaliser son projet, le CUE compte sur plus de quarante partenaires et collaborateurs et soixante-dix chercheurs, dont des étudiants, des membres du corps enseignant et des employés.

Avantage(s) pour les résidents et entreprises en Ontario

Le projet est une démonstration importante du potentiel du stockage en périphérie des réseaux. En tant qu’important fournisseur de services publics en milieu urbain, Toronto Hydro profitera de la diminution des coûts de mise à niveau des infrastructures, de production énergétique et de stockage aux heures de pointe et d’une amélioration de la fiabilité et de la flexibilité du réseau. Le projet présentera une technologie locale, celle d’eCamion, une entreprise de Scarborough, Ontario. Les éléments au cœur de ce projet, soit le régulateur de charge et les autres solutions, sont développés dans la région et seront commercialisés à l’échelle mondiale.

Collaborateurs du project

eCamion, une entreprise de stockage énergétique qui a réussi à mettre en place une solution de stockage énergétique de surface avec Toronto Hydro-Electric System Limited (THESL). Ensemble, ils contribueront à développer un régulateur de charge intelligent qui recueille les données des compteurs intelligents pour assurer la gestion intelligente des charges. eCamion concevra, fabriquera et testera la solution de stockage énergétique intelligente sur poteau de ce projet de même que les supports nécessaires à son installation sur un site à déterminer.

Toronto Hydro est la plus grande entreprise de distribution locale en Ontario et possède des capacités techniques prouvées. Elle investira dans l’installation, la mise à l’essai et la surveillance des solutions de stockage énergétique intelligentes sur poteau et permettra l’accès à ses compteurs intelligents tout en gérant les protocoles de protection des données et de la confidentialité.

Avancement du project

  1. Conclusion de l’entente – avancée – Septembre 2014
  2. Personnalisation de la solution de stockage énergétique pour l’utiliser sur des poteaux – Avril 2015
  3. Développement d’un régulateur de charge intelligent qui intègre les données des compteurs intelligents de la région – Septembre 2015
  4. Tests en laboratoire – Déc. 2015
  5. TInstallation de la solution dans les systèmes de Toronto Hydro – Juillet 2016
  6. Fin du projet – Août 2016
  7. Rapport de commercialisation – Août 2017

Opportunités

Ce projet contribuera à nouer de nouveaux partenariats et ainsi à ouvrir de nouvelles possibilités comme :

  • la cueillette et l’évaluation des données des compteurs intelligents;
  • l’établissement de normes en matière de services publics

Documents connexes

Informations non disponibles actuellement.