Varentec

Transformer on pole

Project Summary Information

Project Title

Distributed Dynamic Voltage/VAR Control and Monitoring of Distribution Feeders

Amount Funded

$366,500

Project Collaborator(s)

GE Digital Energy

LDC Collaborator(s)

Hydro One Networks Inc.; London Hydro Inc.; Entegrus Inc.; Enwin Utilities Ltd.

Location(s)

San Jose, California; London, Ontario, Chatham, Ontario, Windsor, Ontario, Toronto, Ontario, Markham, Ontario

Project Objective

This project will demonstrate the ability of the ENGO (Edge of Network Grid Optimization) solution to achieve distributed Voltage and Reactive Power (VAR) control and improve dynamic voltage on electric distribution feeder lines. Ontario’s distribution grid is progressively experiencing high levels of distributed generation, which can lead to voltage variability that conventional equipment cannot mitigate.

The ENGO solution utilizes Smart Power Node hardware units installed on the secondary (low voltage) side of distribution transformers to control voltage at the point of issue. Eighty to 100 ENGO units will be installed on live feeders followed by one year of data collection. During the data collection phase, the impact will be assessed and a pathway identified to enhance electric grid control and help the grid absorb distributed generation.

Company Background

Varentec, headquartered in San Jose, CA offers electric utilities a set of new de-centralized solutions to control the electric distribution grid network. Varentec’s unique approach employs grid hardware with monitoring and data analysis to complement existing centralized command and control equipment that utilities use to control the grid. Varentec fills a major gap in grid control capability due to the arrival of distributed generation and a greater emphasis on demand management and energy conservation. Varentec is funded by Khosla Ventures, a leading green technology financial organization and Bill Gates. Varentec has over 400 hardware units installed at over 10 different electric utilities in four countries.

Worker in cherry picker

Benefit(s) to Ontario Residents and Businesses

  • Improve control on the electricity grid at the customer location.
  • Improve grid conditions and allow grid operators to deliver more efficient power to consumers or businesses along a feeder line.
  • Support higher levels of distributed generation by stablizing grid voltages and allow residential or business customers the continued option to install distributed generation systems.
  • Improve quality of power to residences and businesses by reducing voltage dynamics.
  • Enable demand management and/or energy conservation for LDC’s and avoid expensive peak energy costs.

Project Collaborators

GE Digital Energy will provide engineering advisory services.

Hydro One will provide electric utility planning, standards and analysis services.

London Hydro, Entegrus and Enwin will all provide electric grid facilities to host the pilot and provide engineering support.

Project Status

The project agreement documents were completed in August of 2014, with plans for first unit testing to take place in September of 2014, along with completion of project test plans and documentation.

By December of 2014 the goal is to have the pilot units installed in the field, assuming weather does not create delays, at which time data collection will commence.

Three months after installation is complete, estimated at March of 2015, the first reports summarizing data observations will be provided, followed by quarterly reports through the end of 2015. A final commercialization report is to be provided in 2016.

Opportunities

This project has enabled a first time project collaboration between GE Digital Energy and Varentec, in the area of Distribution Automation. Further, this project has enabled a unique collaboration between four LDCs to explore and validate the potential of distributed grid control.

Related Documents

Varentec is the recipient of the 2013 Utility Technology Challenge, 2013 Greentech Media Innovation Award and Best Distribution Automation Solution, Global Cleantech 100 Award. Varentec is also the recipient of $2.2M from the United States Department of Energy for Advanced Volt VAR Control, and $5M for Advanced Power Router technology.

Varentec

transformer on pole

Informations succinctes concernant le projet

Titre du projet

Tension dynamique distribuée/voltmètre réactif et contrôle et surveillance des systèmes d’alimentation et de distribution

Montant financé

$366,500

Collaborateur(s) du projet

GE Digital Energy

Collaborateur(s) des entreprises de distribution locales

Hydro One Networks Inc.; London Hydro Inc.; Entegrus Inc.; Enwin Utilities Ltd.

Site(s)

San Jose, California; London, Ontario, Chatham, Ontario, Windsor, Ontario, Toronto, Ontario, Markham, Ontario

Objectif du projet

Ce projet a pour mission de démontrer la capacité de la solution ENGO (Edge of Network Grid Optimization) à assumer son rôle, à savoir contrôler la tension distribuée et le voltmètre réactif, et améliorer la tension dynamique sur les lignes du système d’alimentation et de distribution d’électricité. Le réseau de distribution en Ontario fait face à des niveaux de plus en plus élevés de génération distribuée, ce qui peut conduire à une variabilité de tension que les équipements conventionnels ne réussissent pas à atténuer.

La solution ENGO utilise les unités matérielles Smart Power Node (nœuds d’alimentation intelligents) installés du côté secondaire (basse tension) des transformateurs de distribution afin de contrôler la tension au niveau du point d’émission. De 80 à 100 unités ENGO seront installées sur des systèmes d’alimentation actifs, puis les données seront collectées pendant un an. Pendant cette phase de collecte des données, l’impact sera évalué et une feuille de route sera identifiée afin d’améliorer le contrôle du réseau électrique et d’aider le réseau à absorber la génération distribuée.

Histoire de la société

Varentec, dont le siège social se trouve à San José (Californie), propose aux services publics un ensemble de solutions décentralisées afin de contrôler le réseau de distribution électrique. L’approche unique de Varentec s’appuie sur un matériel doté de dispositifs de contrôle et d’analyse des données. Ce matériel vient compléter l’équipement centralisé existant chargé de la commande et du contrôle, que les services publics utilisent déjà pour contrôler le réseau. Varentec comble une faille majeure dans le contrôle de réseau liée à l’avènement de la génération distribuée, mettant davantage l’accent sur la gestion de la demande et la conservation de l’énergie. Varentec est financée par Khosla Ventures, qui compte parmi les principales organisations financières de technologie verte, ainsi que par Bill Gates. Varentec a déjà installé plus de 400 unités matérielles auprès de plus de 10 services publics répartis dans quatre pays.

Hydro worker in cherry picker

Avantage(s) pour les résidents et entreprises en Ontario

  • Améliorer le contrôle du réseau d’électricité sur le site du client
  • Améliorer les conditions du réseau et permettre aux exploitants de réseaux de fournir aux consommateurs et entreprises des services électriques plus efficients et de meilleure qualité le long d’une conduite d’alimentation.
  • Prendre en charge des niveaux supérieurs de génération distribuée en stabilisant les tensions du réseau et en permettant à tout moment aux clients résidentiels ou professionnels d’installer des systèmes de génération distribuée.
  • Améliorer la qualité de l’alimentation des résidences et entreprises en réduisant la dynamique de tension
  • Permettre la gestion de la demande ou la conservation d’énergie pour les entreprises de distribution locales et éviter les coûts élevés liés aux périodes de pointe.

Collaborateurs du project

GE Digital Energy proposera des services de conseils d’ingénierie.

Hydro One proposera des services de planification, de standardisation et d’analyse pour les services publics

London Hydro, Entegrus et Enwin proposeront tous des sites qui hébergeront le projet pilote de réseau électrique et apporteront leur aide en matière d’ingénierie.

Avancement du project

Les documents contractuels du projet ont été finalisés en août 2014. D’après le calendrier, les premiers essais d’unité doivent avoir lieu en septembre 2014, parallèlement à la finalisation des plans de test et de la documentation du projet.

D’ici à décembre 2014, l’objectif est d’avoir installé les unités pilotes sur le terrain, à condition que les conditions météorologiques n’entraînent pas de retards. La collecte des données commencera à ce moment-là.

Trois mois après la fin de l’installation, c’est-à-dire en mars 2015 d’après les estimations , les premiers rapports récapitulant les observations de données seront transmis, suivis de rapports trimestriels jusqu’à la fin 2015. Un rapport de commercialisation final sera fourni en 2016.

Opportunités

Ce projet a été l’occasion d’une première collaboration entre GE Digital Energy et Varentec dans le domaine de l’automatisation de la distribution. En outre, ce projet a permis l’établissement d’une collaboration unique entre quatre entreprises de distribution locales afin d’explorer et de confirmer le potentiel de contrôle du réseau distribué.

Documents connexes

La société Varentec a été récompensée par le prix 2013 Utility Technology Challenge, le prix 2013 Greentech Media Innovation, ainsi que la distinction de Best Distribution Automation Solution, Global Cleantech 100. Varentec a également reçu 2,2 millions de $ de la part du Département de l’énergie des États-Unis chargé du contrôle avancé Volt/voltmètre réactif, et 5 millions de $ pour sa technologie Advanced Power Router.